We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“PERFECT”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Bosker
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have holidayed in wonderful Ballater for over 20 years and this has been by far the most comfortable and nicest house we have rented. The owners have put an enormous amount of thought into the detail and we greatly appreciated it. The house is right in the centre – about three doors away from the bakers, closer still to the Chinese takeaway and across the road from an Indian restaurant. This is a quiet place and we were never bothered by any noise despite the central location. Very well maintained back garden and seating area although we were unfortunate with the weather and did not have an opportunity to enjoy sitting out. By contrast we enjoyed the log fire on a couple of cool evenings. The downstairs spacious master bedroom ensuite was exactly what my ageing parents required for their mobility restrictions. Parking right outside the front door.

We highly recommend this property as excellent value for money in comparison to our previous rentals and would definitely return.

Date of stay: August 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie R
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“Met all expectations and more”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

In our time we have stayed in a lot of similar cottages and this one rates very highly. It is very well kitted out (and even has a waste disposal). Lovely Scotland feel and cosy with a log burner. I have never seen such a well organised outhouse. Lots of space. Great garden. The location is fab. We have family in village so would love to come back .

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back to the cottage and to Ballater.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda P
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent property, would like to return.”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Excellent property, owners provided everything in terms of comfort and quality, both inside and outside. The quality of the furniture and fittings was excellent and my father was delighted to receive a welcome gift for his special birthday. The location, right in the town is also great and was very convenient for exploring the local area

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. The weather also played a part that week I think. I'm glad you had a good time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnefy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy luxury and brilliant location”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved my stay at this property. The log fire is amazing!! Everything you might need is on the doorstep as well as the stunning scenery. Used the self catering facilities each night which were really up to date and everything I needed was in the kitchen. The house was immaculate and the bed was so comfortable! Had a lovely day sat in the sunshine on the patio too. I will definitely be back to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone who loves gorgeous scenery and a place to relax after a day of walking.

Date of stay: May 2014
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad you had a nice time at our cottage. The walks around Ballater are beautiful and almost every month the scenery changes - the heather and the thistles are beautiful. I look forward to your return. Regards, Susan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ntweedie
Callander, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely stone cottage in the heart of Ballater. Decorated to a very high standard and with all the home comfort you could need. The kids loved the garden and we loved the fact that all the shops and restaurants were within easy walking distance.

Date of stay: February 2014
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2014
Thank you for your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.