We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous half term break in spacious, well...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ballater, Aberdeenshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 16, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
18 Feb 2018
Thanks for your kind comments. I’m glad you had an good time. You are welcome back anytime to the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Graham M
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our third year in this lovely, well situated cottage in Ballater. It has everything you need from the spacious lounge with kitchen attached, 3 good sized bedrooms, 2 bathrooms , Wifi and a good sized garden ( great for watching the birds at the bird feeder ). The weather was perfect which was an added bonus. Cannot recommend this property highly enough and can only say you need to book it and find out for yourselves. Looking forward to returning next year.

Date of stay: August 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Date of stay: July 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. I look forward to welcoming you back sometime. Susan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keighley, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 19, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks for your kind review
It means a lot to us. Look forward to your return next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brian M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best accommodation we have had”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Instantly felt at home on arrival. House and beds very comfortable with everything that we needed. A log fire with plenty of wood was a highlight.

John & Susan were friendly and helpful and made us welcome with a bottle of wine.

We had a great week in Ballater for the New Year and the cottage was home from home.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Thanks for your kind comments. You are welcome back anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
Luton, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You must stay here”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from another great week in this lovely home from home cottage in Ballater. We liked everything about the place, its location with everything within a 5 minute walk, spacious bedrooms and a great outdoors area. I would recommend the Cambus O'May walk ( or if you like by bike ) and the Alexandra Hotel which serves the best steak pie I have ever had. Cannot wait to return next year.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda M
Potsdam, New York
1 review
“Fabulous Location!”
Reviewed June 17, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We arrived Saturday evening in time to participate in the celebration for the queen's birthday, perfect timing! The celebration was taking place right across the road in the church green. Bagpipes were excellent!
We've enjoyed being so close to everything in town. The bakery is just a few doors down, and the scones and meat pies are yummy. We also went to the butcher shop for our meat which was a treat for us. Great lattes at the coffee shops also!
Walking trails in the area are very nice. We spent quite a bit of time walking at Cambus O'May and enjoyed a lengthy conversation with some local folks. The walk by Loch Muick was also enjoyable with several new bird sightings there and red stag!
We were able to take a drive to the coast for a day and toured a couple of castles. Despite the cool, rainy weather we've enjoyed exploring the area.
It was nice to come "home" to a comfortable spot and warm up by the fire. The house is very nicely decorated, tidy and a wonderful spot to relax. The kitchen had everything we needed for cooking our dinners, and my husband truly appreciated the sharp knives. The bed we used is comfortable, the shower was hot. Both are important to us while traveling. The backyard is lovely and we enjoyed sitting outside with a very nice bottle of wine (thank you), and a bit of sunshine.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: We loved the location of this property!
Liked least: The cool, rainy weather which slowed us down a bit.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jun 2016
Thank you for your kind comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Canada. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.