We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pear Tree Inn(Welwyn Garden City)
Booking.com
View Deal
Premier Inn Welwyn Garden City Hotel(Welwyn Garden City)(Great Value!)
US$83
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abacus B&B(Welwyn Garden City)
Tewin Bury Farm Hotel(Welwyn Garden City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brocket Arms(Welwyn Garden City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brocket Hall(Welwyn Garden City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (69)
Filter reviews
69 results
Traveller rating
29
11
13
6
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
29
11
13
6
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfairway tavernshower gelattending a weddingconvenient placegolf clubfull englishfriendly helpful staffcannot faultnext morningnight stayclarefairwaysvenuesettinglaptopfunctioncourses
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 69 of 69 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

On first sight the Fairway is a little dissapointing; 60's industrial redbrick. Second sight is no better; where's reception? Once you have the sense to go the bar it gets a lot better. The bar man will book you in and show you to your room. Like all the staff, we encountered, he was pleasant and helpful.
The rooms are under the bar, basic, clean and sufficient. They all have superb views over the golf course and to the hills beyond.
Bar meals are fine and pretty much what you would expect. Somehting went wrong with the curry, they were cooking for me. So, I was immediately offered anthying on the menu and a free round of drinks for our party of four. Problem solved, quickly and to our complete satisifaction.
The site is hand for Welwyn and beyond but feels rural and pleasant with nice walks to hand. it won't excite you but "it does the job".

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyShand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Stayed here Friday 27th July 2012. The room was tiny and smelly. The bathroom can only be described at best as something you would find in a changing room. We got back to our room at 10 o'clock at night, my 5 year old son had to walk thru a packed bar of people drinking smoking and swearing! Our room was located under the bar so we were kept awake until 1am until the bar closed. We could hear every foot step, every voice and every song the DJ played. There was also a very annoying tapping noise every couple of minutes until the bar closed. At 7.30 in the morning there was someone cutting grass right outside our window!!!! We didn't hang around for breakfast and made a quick exit. I Would absolutely NOT recommend this horrible little hole to anyone!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johnny-Carnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairwaytavern, Owner at The View, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay.
You were allocated our disabled room as you requested a blow up air bed to be provided for your son as we do not have family accommodation, this would have made the room a lot more crowded than normal. Also being a disabled room, the bathroom is designed as a roll in wet room specifically for wheelchair users. Our rooms are redecorated twice a year and we take pride in keeping them clean and tidy so do not understand your comments regarding the cleanliness. Unfortunately you were not informed on booking that there was an event taking place - where possible we try to inform our guests in advance - we can only apologise for this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2012

On the 2nd June we were married at the Fairway Tavern. We chose this venue as it offered a reasonable wedding package. We must say that the organisation , food and disco made it the perfect day for us. The sun shone and we were married in a gazebo in the lovely grounds. Emma, Fiona and her team did not leave any details to fault . We also stayed overnight in the hotel and found the rooms very comfortable and woke in the morning to a more than substantial full English breakfast. Many thanks Fairway for making it such a memorable day and stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chihuahua10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairwaytavern, Owner at The View, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your very kind comments, we are glad that you had a wonderful wedding day and an enjoyable overnight stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Bizzare. Like a conference centre without the security.
The bedrooms are a small crescent of rooms outside opening out onto a golf course. Rooms are underneath the golf club bar round the back of dark concrete steps (I arrived at night on my own as a female traveller). Bar was full of drunk people where I had to "check in". Man behind the bar however was really polite and ensured I was ok, walked me down outside to the room, made sure heating was on which was very thoughtful.
Breakfast awful / cereal in plastic containers or toast that took 15 mins when in a rush.
Same old: you get what you pay for so if you don't have to don't go here! Even if it's just for one night for last minute business etc. It's just not a hotel of any sort & shouldn't be on late rooms. It gets a two as opposed to a one star as the man was so kind behind the bar !!!

Room Tip: There aren't any unless you are a male who doesn't mind being in the middle of nowhere with no security.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sjuk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fairwaytavern, Owner at The View, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for your comments. Our premises are classified as guest accommodation (not a hotel) with a 3 star commended rating from the AA, who provide regular anonymous checks on our facilities. I am sorry that you had some concerns as a lone woman guest and are pleased that you were accompanied down to your room by a member of our staff. I note your comment about the breakfast and like most establishments we offer a buffet style self service for cereals and juice. All cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared to order so there will always be a slight delay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews