We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7:30pm”

The Crooked Chimney
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Serving the Lemsford community for more than 200 years, the building was originally a farmhouse called Hornbeam Hall. Its use as an inn dates back to 1756 when it was called The Chequers. In 1777 Searanckes Brewery of Hatfield acquired the building which remained as The Chequers until 1968 when it was renamed The Crooked Chimney after its distinctive crooked brick chimney. The Crooked Chimney in Welwyn Garden is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar. Book a table and enjoy a spot by our roaring log-fire. Or make the best of the British summertime by eating alfresco in our pretty beer garden.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Dreadful food, appalling service, the waiters and bar staff were rude, sullen uncommunicative the food was over cooked and tables not cleared the entire evening. When we left there were mounds of cigarette butts left outside the door.

2  Thank SimonePayne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. It's extremely disappointing to hear that the food and service weren't of our usual high standard that we always strive to achieve. Both the food quality and the service you received on this evening are being looked into with the kitchen team and our front of house team to ensure this does not happen again and that we continue to serve our guests to the highest standards. We apologise that we did not meet your expectations on this visit but hope that you will visit us again in order to provide you with a more positive dining experience.

Kind regards,

Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (713)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 68 of 713 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

come here for a 60th birthday. Waitress was very good and cheerful.Food was lovely and plentiful. A great find.

Thank HertfordshireLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thanks for your comments.
I'm glad the birthday celebration went well.
The waitress will be delighted to hear your feedback about her!
I'm happy you enjoyed the food too.
We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards

Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 28, 2018 via mobile

We came here with the dog for lunch. The staff were polite enough but the food service was unbelievably slow. We waited over 45 minutes for our main courses (which tasted ok, not amazing) and then waited another 30 minutes after our plates were cleared for dessert to turn up (with melted ice cream). Considering that by the time we had dessert it was half past 2 and the pub was practically empty, such slow service seemed unacceptable.
It’s a cute pub but I wouldn’t come here to eat again.

2  Thank Emily T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Hi Emily T,

Thank your for taking the time to write us a review. We're sorry to hear that you had such an extended wait on your food on this visit. It is unacceptable that you waited for this amount of time and we have raised the issue with both our kitchen team and front of house team as to why this happened, and to prevent this from happening again in the future. We hope that on your next visit, you decide to eat with us and that we can deliver your meals with quicker service.

Kind regards,

Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

Not impressed by the quality of the food and several menu items not available. Only one draft beer available. Had hoped to find the offering had improved since our last visit but it had not. Unlikely to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank grahambrooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hi Graham,
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to hear that on this occasion you were dissatisfied with the quality of the food and that we had dishes unavailable from the menu. We have fed this back to our kitchen team who will be reviewing their ordering process to ensure that this does not happen again. We aim to have three cask ales on at any one time but on the odd occasion that two barrels may near their end together we will always strive to get them back on as soon as possible. We hope that you will give us another try in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 26, 2018 via mobile

We went in on are way back from a drive the place was nice the fire was alight which was lovely. We both had the fish and chips the food was lovely,hot, tasty the staff were friendly

Thank wendyporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Crooked Chimney, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Hi Wendy,
Thank you for your review. We're so glad to hear the great feedback on your meals and that you took the opportunity to enjoy our open fires.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Zoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crooked Chimney also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Uxbridge, Greater London
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Crooked Chimney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing