We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“It was so good we have booked for next year”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hemphaye Cottage

Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Hemphaye Cottage charming 3 story 17th century character cottage
Dining Room in a Lantern Conservatory
Kitchen
Lots of areas in the garden to relax and unwind
Shared garden with owners
Shared gardens with owners
Patio Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Sidmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cjllbl
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“It was so good we have booked for next year”
Reviewed September 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The cottage is located in a desirable part of the town.It is very quiet & is set in beautiful gardens. The property has been finished to a high standard. The owners are very helpful, friendly and made us feel very comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
penelope4...
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed August 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Hemphaye is a lovely cottage, plenty of room very clean and a private garden. Three bedrooms , plenty of space to sit around, beautiful dining area. Have stayed there many times with children and grandchildren and we always vote to come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house , the gardens the whole setting
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham J
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly recommended.”
Reviewed July 27, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We enjoyed a nice and relaxed stay at Hemphaye Cottage, where the accommodation is of a high standard. The grounds are also a delight and everything is very well kept and maintained. Selwyn and Geoffrey provided a warm and friendly greeting and were attentive throughout our stay. It is clear that they take great pride in their establishment - it is excellent and very well located to enjoy delightful Sidmouth

In Sidmouth there is a delightful seafront and lovely shops. Connaught Gardens, complete with tea shop and with Jacobs ladder down to the sea front are well worth a visit. There are lovely walks along the cliff-tops. Many places to eat - we particularly enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and food at Blinis. Many other things to do a short car ride away - Seaton is just along the coast and has a tramway which runs up the valley to Colyton.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gardens and location
Liked least: Coming home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Patricia...
West Midlands, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We had a wonderful family holiday in Oct 14. 7 adults and 3 young children. We had Hemphaye Cottage and The Couch House both were excellent and had everything you require for a self catering holiday. Thank you to the owners Selwyn and Geoffrey they showed us around the cottages and showed us how everything worked, nothing was too much trouble for either of them. The gardens were lovely even in late Oct. We do hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funnyjayb...
Wootton Courtenay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Holiday Cottage”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We really enjoyed our stay in Hemphaye Cottage. We wanted to visit Sidmouth and loved the sound of Littlecourt Cottages, but most of the cottages were booked so we ended up in what was substantial accommodation for two people! Hemphaye Cottage was very well equipped and comfortable and had a private feel to it, with a courtyard garden at the rear and a place to sit out at the front. The bathroom was large, and there was another separate shower on the second floor. I particularly liked the gardens, and had a view of a beautiful flowering climber just outside my bedroom window. Selwyn and Geoff were very welcoming and knowledgeable about the gardens. We'd definitely return to stay again. One small thing I would have liked was an ironing board in the cottage - I am a disorganised person who tends to realise something needs ironing when I'm in the middle of getting dressed in the morning, and I couldn't be bothered to go to to a separate building to do it. It would be good to have one available (I spent the holiday looking slightly crumpled). Otherwise, top marks!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2014
So glad you enjoyed your holiday with us and look forward to welcoming you again.Sorry about the ironing board not being in the cottage. We keep all the laundry equipment in the laundry, next time we can arrange to let you have the board when needed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim S
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect hide-away for a late Spring holiday!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We have stayed in nearly all of the Littlecourt Cottages over the years, but Hemphaye is a special favourite. Beautifully appointed and impeccably maintained as they all are, Hemphaye excels with its delightful conservatory-style dining space opening onto a "secret garden" outdoor seating area.
All this is set in the truly splendid Littecourt gardens - featured on TV and in glossy magazines - which always seem, if gardening is your interest, to be evolving new delights.
That the charm of Sidmouth town centre and sea front is just a five minute stroll away makes Littlecourt, and Hemphaye, the perfect hide-away for a late Spring holiday.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing