We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (331)
Filter reviews
331 results
Traveller rating
88
123
62
31
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
123
62
31
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast real ale budget room shower and toilet beds were comfortable three nights double room full english town centre bar prices flat screen tv dog friendly hotel fresh fruit porridge street parking the cliff long weekend
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 331 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2017

We stayed three nights early January, the double room with on suite was small only one bedside table and the TV was badly positioned for viewing also picture and sound breakup. The shower was hot and powerful and the bed linen was clean and towels big white and fluffy, good sized radiator so room was warm, we had no problems with noise,this room was situated at the back of the hotel on the first floor. The hotel does have a lift, but we did not use, our room needed refurbishment, but there is a nice lounge and also good friendly bar with very reasonable prices and real beers on draught. Full English breakfast was £6.95 and was cooked to order and delicious, a parking disc purchased at Reception cost £1.50 and covered our three night stay, great value. All staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, if you are on a budget this hotel is a great option. I would stay again pay a few pounds more and ask for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Patchy wifi on first floor.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

The room was dusty we had no electricity then when the receptionist came to change the bulbs she put her finger through the lamp shade, the curtain rail was broken, there was blood and mould on the net curtains, the door was falling off the wardrobe and there was no hot water!!! Will be getting me money back
Room 118

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2017 via mobile

After finding a good deal on booking.com, I rang up to double check about additional fees for a dog. It was only a fiver for the whole stay unlike all others at £10 a night.

Don't expect the hotel to be perfect in the way of decor. I spent many a moment thinking how easy it would be to fix flaky paintwork, sagging ceiling wallpaper and how someone hadn't tiled the bathroom properly etc. This is the reason for losing a star. If you're going to be petty then look elsewhere.

It would definitely benefit from a refurb but after a few freezing nights in Scotland in a campervan, a super cozy bed, heating, an ensuite with bath & shower were bliss. And all for about £66 for 2 nights. (We've found some campsites dearer).

The last night was a bit noisy with karaoke in the bar but we didn't really care (plus it may have been a one off).

If you're on a budget and want to be comfortable, then check it out.

We also bought one of their parking permits for on street parking at £1.50 for 2 nights which also was the cheapest compared to competitors.

They do breakfasts at a small additional charge but wanted to see what local businesses had to offer.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikkie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 2, 2017

We stayed here in Nov and the weather was quite chilly but our room was warm . We had to book a budget room but it had everything you could need and the bed was comfy and the bedding nice and fresh. The furniture was a little tired looking and the room could do with updating but everything worked , TV , kettle etc and the shower was very hot . The breakfast next morning we could have a continental at £3 or full English at £7. It was worth that . The dining area again looks very tired but plenty of space. The owner was a lovely lady who was very helpful and really did all she could do to help with anything. For the money we paid it was worth it..but don't go expecting a boutique style hotel as it is not that. Staff were all smiley and friendly so cannot fault that .

Room Tip: Front facing rooms like ours seem quite large.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights.
My room was spacious, clean and welcoming.
Very good value for money, with the ensuite- and the big fluffy towels were lovely too!
I didn't have breakfast but it was good to know that I could just turn up at breakfast time and order one!
Everyone was very friendly and polite.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank angie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews