We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Hotel, Great Location”
Review of Rivelyn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rivelyn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Reviewed 3 February 2017

Very pleasantly surprised on our second visit here as the room was large, well decorated and warm, we stayed 2 nights at the end of January and found it great value for money.
Parking was by Permit and was only £1.50 for 2 days from reception, breakfast was very good value at £2.95 for continental, the only bad point we could make was the breakfast room was very cold.
Live entertainment on the Friday night in the bar (a private function on the Saturday).

Room Tip: top floor is quieter and away from the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hullfc07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2017

We stayed three nights early January, the double room with on suite was small only one bedside table and the TV was badly positioned for viewing also picture and sound breakup. The shower was hot and powerful and the bed linen was clean and towels big white and fluffy, good sized radiator so room was warm, we had no problems with noise,this room was situated at the back of the hotel on the first floor. The hotel does have a lift, but we did not use, our room needed refurbishment, but there is a nice lounge and also good friendly bar with very reasonable prices and real beers on draught. Full English breakfast was £6.95 and was cooked to order and delicious, a parking disc purchased at Reception cost £1.50 and covered our three night stay, great value. All staff are excellent, friendly and helpful, if you are on a budget this hotel is a great option. I would stay again pay a few pounds more and ask for an upgraded room.

Room Tip: Patchy wifi on first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Heather J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The room was dusty we had no electricity then when the receptionist came to change the bulbs she put her finger through the lamp shade, the curtain rail was broken, there was blood and mould on the net curtains, the door was falling off the wardrobe and there was no hot water!!! Will be getting me money back
Room 118

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

After finding a good deal on booking.com, I rang up to double check about additional fees for a dog. It was only a fiver for the whole stay unlike all others at £10 a night.

Don't expect the hotel to be perfect in the way of decor. I spent many a moment thinking how easy it would be to fix flaky paintwork, sagging ceiling wallpaper and how someone hadn't tiled the bathroom properly etc. This is the reason for losing a star. If you're going to be petty then look elsewhere.

It would definitely benefit from a refurb but after a few freezing nights in Scotland in a campervan, a super cozy bed, heating, an ensuite with bath & shower were bliss. And all for about £66 for 2 nights. (We've found some campsites dearer).

The last night was a bit noisy with karaoke in the bar but we didn't really care (plus it may have been a one off).

If you're on a budget and want to be comfortable, then check it out.

We also bought one of their parking permits for on street parking at £1.50 for 2 nights which also was the cheapest compared to competitors.

They do breakfasts at a small additional charge but wanted to see what local businesses had to offer.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Vikkie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017

We stayed here in Nov and the weather was quite chilly but our room was warm . We had to book a budget room but it had everything you could need and the bed was comfy and the bedding nice and fresh. The furniture was a little tired looking and the room could do with updating but everything worked , TV , kettle etc and the shower was very hot . The breakfast next morning we could have a continental at £3 or full English at £7. It was worth that . The dining area again looks very tired but plenty of space. The owner was a lovely lady who was very helpful and really did all she could do to help with anything. For the money we paid it was worth it..but don't go expecting a boutique style hotel as it is not that. Staff were all smiley and friendly so cannot fault that .

Room Tip: Front facing rooms like ours seem quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights.
My room was spacious, clean and welcoming.
Very good value for money, with the ensuite- and the big fluffy towels were lovely too!
I didn't have breakfast but it was good to know that I could just turn up at breakfast time and order one!
Everyone was very friendly and polite.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
Thank angie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2016 via mobile

Not the highest quality hotel I've stayed in but value at the price. Stayed there whilst in town for a reunion which we held in the bar on Saturday afternoon. The staff were friendly and coped well with over 30 of us in the bar on the Saturday afternoon whilst running reception and setting up for an engagement party. Had a late drink in the early hours of Sunday morning and the night barman was very friendly. Breakfast on Saturday was reasonably priced and did the job.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Rugbynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.6 km away
Travelodge Scarborough St Nicholas Hotel
0.2 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
129 reviews
0.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,278 reviews
1.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.3 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivelyn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivelyn Hotel

Address: 1-4 Crown Crescent, Scarborough YO11 2BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $46 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rivelyn Hotel is situated in the popular south cliff area of Scarborough, just a short walk from the beach and the ever popular esplanade gardens. Our team of professional and friendly staff aim to make your break with us both comfortable and fun. We appreciate how important it is for you to enjoy your time here and we all aspire to create an inviting & relaxing atmosphere enabling you to have a great stay with us. When we bid you a fond farewell we hope you leave the Rivelyn refreshed and with happy memories of your holiday in one of Scarborough's friendliest hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rivelyn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivelyn Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing