We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blows the cobwebs away”
Review of Bay Norbreck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Norbreck Hotel
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Blows the cobwebs away”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here for one night, hotel is ok, nothing flash and maybe just in need of a bit of an update. The hotel is based right at the top of a cliff and by George is it windy! Well windy is an understatement its full blown gales, so its not just the views that will take your breath away! Nightly entertainment is typical hotel standards. Food was bearable, breakfast seemed to be a rush and serving staff didn't want to be sociable, just wanting you in and out quickly! Beds appear to be a bit on the old side.
Opted for a room with a seaview which guarantees you the sea breeze as well.
Just have to mention Craig the fella that serves behind the bar, friendly, outgoing and appears to be popular with all customers no matter what ages.
If you are stopping here give the Albion pub a try which is right next to the hotel, warm and friendly and bar food is good, plus it won't take you long to get back either.
In short hotel isn't that bad just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crookycrumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Well Crookycrumble, you hit the nail on the head with the gales, we do get a bit of a breeze up here on the cliff top but the views more than make up for it!! Sorry you felt rushed at breakfast, with so many wanting to get out for day trips, for our guests a swift service is usually more agreeable, and I know the restaurant would staff love to stop for a chat if they could! Craig is a shining star and was thrilled to see you mentioned him. Your comments have been noted, we do have some areas that need updating, and will be very helpful as we build a refurbishment plan for the hotel. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    168
    77
    37
    29
See reviews for
33
243
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
runcorn
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just returned from the Norbreck hotel - the dining room is very cold and consequently the food went cold quickly. However, after some complaints, the plates were then slightly warm. The hotel, like all the hotels built when this one was built, needs reburbishing. Staff were very nice and the food was also very nice. The evening entertainment was excellent. The hotel was very
clean...

Room Tip: I had a single room on the third floor which was adequate and faced a lovely old church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaretlilian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M, General Manager at Bay Norbreck Hotel, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Dear Margaretlillian, thank you for the feedback you have written. I am disappointed to see you had some issues in the restaurant whilst staying with us but glad to see we were able to make some progress to resolving them during your stay. I have taken all of your comments and we are addressing them with the catering team. It’s great to hear you found all the staff friendly and the food of a good standard. Our entertainers work really hard to put together their shows and excellent reviews keeps them going. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

My sister & I stayed at the Norbreck at Christmas & again at the begining of March.We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.The room was clean,& warm with everything you need.The staff are helpful & friendly.Food was really good with a wide variety,something for everyone & always hot.The food at Christmas was excellent & the entertainment,both times that we've been was so good.Daniel is a real asset & so is Chris.In fact we enjoyed it so much that,we have alreay booked for this Christmsas & hopefuly we might squeese another one in before then.

Room Tip: We had a room with a sea view,& what a view,worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Except for the ballroom, the hotel was 'well worn' and in desperate need of TLC!!! The staff were all hard working and polite, and it was only down to them that our stay was of any value, special mention to Daniel, Craig & Pawel, but it's obvious this business is run on a shoe string, the meals resembled 'school dinners gone wrong', i'm sure the chef tried his best, with limited resources to provide a presentable menu but failed. You could not have ‘swung a cat’ in our room, the décor was very dated / worn, can’t remember the last time I went to a hotel with ‘Blankets’ and bed spread!.
We booked this holiday last year as an “All inclusive break”, only for shearings to change the content of our holiday (after they’d taken all our money). I contacted them about this change only to be fobbed off with a scripted reply about improved conditions that did not materialise. Be aware the difference between an ‘All in’ and ‘Half board’ was news papers provided in the ballroom, but you had to wait till next day to read, as the ratio of papers to residents was about 1 to 10, and drinks vouchers 4 off per person / day to get any mix of coffee, tea, soft or alcholic drinks. For this we paid a premium price.

Room Tip: High floor for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pilsbury_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Scarborough hotels

grimsby
Level Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just returned from a bargain break at the Norbreck Hotel, It is difficult to understand how anyone can find fault at the price they charge. However here are a few things that may help you decide if the Norbreck is for you.
(1) The view from side, front or back is exceptional, both bays being visible from the hotel which stands close to the impressive Scarborough Castle. For history or literary buffs just behind the hotel is a very pretty church where the grave of Anne Bronte can be found.
(2) The hotel is an old building which is ready for some refurbishment, but this in my view adds to its charm. The quaint old fashioned lift with folding gate is an interesting relic, our room was a bit cramped, but contrary to some previous reports we found the hotel to be warm and cozy.
(3) Staffs at all levels were hard working friendly and efficient. Special mention deserves to be given to Craig the young barman who impressed with his very professional manner. I am sure that he is destined for greater things.
(4) Food was of very acceptable standard without being outstanding. For dinner there were always three choices of starter and three main courses of meat or fish with an added vegetarian option plus choices of puddings or cheese and biscuits. A glass of wine was included as was coffee or tea. My only observation would be that all meals came with the same vegetables which sometimes was inappropriate. Breakfast had a selection of cereals, porridge, grapefruit followed by Full English etc or kippers.
(5) Entertainment. On Friday we were entertained by an energetic young singer comedian followed on Saturday by the excellent resident artist Daniel Defoe, and excellent cabaret from a very funny comedian.
(6) Parking is at the hotel or close by (the hotel providing parking passes for the town parking zones)

We enjoyed our stay and found it to be exceptional value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ragrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We have just arrived home after our 4th stay, and again we had agreat time hotel, staff and entertainment excellent. Only one fault the food was not as good as other years but you could not blame the staff. Shearings will set the budget for them to work with and I amsure the chef did his best.

Room Tip: pay extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sandra j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

After reading a review of this hotel i feel i have to write one of my own! This hotel has beautiful views overlooking the sea, The staff were all very friendly and couldnt do enough for us, the rooms were very clean and lovely and warm we had radiators and we had to turn them off and it was freezing outside, the food was lovely plenty to choose from and served piping hot we honestly couldnt fault it and for the price we paid i really dont know how they do it, some people just want to moan about everything you see them on t.v looking behind the bed for dust all i can say is stop moaning about every little thing and start enjoying whats there to be enjoyed. we had a day out in York an enjoyable day it was too ty shearings lovely cheap and friendly what more can anyone ask for!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanetteGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.6 km away
Bay New Southlands Hotel
Bay New Southlands Hotel
#8 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.2 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,742 reviews
1.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Royal Hotel Scarborough
Royal Hotel Scarborough
#27 of 28 in Scarborough
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
0.7 km away
The Clifton Hotel - Scarborough
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Norbreck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Norbreck Hotel

Property: Bay Norbreck Hotel
Address: Castle Road, Scarborough YO11 1HY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on the headland, near Scarborough's ancient castle ruins, the Norbreck is the only hotel in town which looks out over both the North and South Bays, with breathtaking panoramic sea view. From this peaceful location you can rest in the convivial atmosphere of the bar lounge or in the comfort of the restaurant and savour the scenic sights of golden sands and ocean waters. In the hub of the town itself, lying just ten minutes' away, there is an array of shops and holiday attractions. While a day trip takes you to York or to see the moors, to test your nerves at Flamingo Land or to revisit 'Brideshead' at Castle Howard. There's such a lot to see and do in the area! The hotel does not have a car park. However street parking is available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Norbreck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing