We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel staff very helpful”
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2011

enjoyed our 5 day break at this Hotel staff are very good nothing a problem especially Jennie she goes out of her way to make sure that everything is alright

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Geordie075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2011

Stayed here as part of coach tour. From the moment we arrived , the staff were so welcoming, friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
The rooms were very clean and very comfortable.
The service in the restaurant was excellent, and the food lovely.
The hotel is about 5 mins walk from the promenade, but quite a steep walk down.
Just at the top of the road are plenty of seats to sit and take in the beautiful views over the beautiful bay
The staff are all a credit to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank barb1cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

We arrived Saturday afternoon and our first impresion,s were very good nice clean and warm room, friendly staff. We went out to the theatre and arrived back at 10.30, we were told the bar had closed but if we asked they might still serve us, we went in the bar and yes the very friendly barman served us all looking good. Then Sunday morning we went down for breakfast at our alotted time slot, the waitress asked what we wanted for starters, we replied just 2 full breakfast's please at this point we were told we had to wait ????? we only wanted our breakfast, she came back 20 mins later to take our order and within seconds she returned, so fellow future visitor's beware about meal time's, but because of this we will never use this hotel again or recomend.....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank batladforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

This is the 3rd time we have been to the Cumberland on a coach trip for a 7 day holiday. The food is still very good, always served hot and well presented. However this time we were a little disappointed in the service of the meals. There did not seem to be as many waiting staff so we felt there was quite a delay between courses. The reception and room service were good and the hotel was clean and well presented. The only down side is noisy traffic during the night and some rooms have creaking floor boards.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor, then no one is above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harold55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Stayed in the Cumberland for 1 night, double room was spacious and clean (lovely shower!) Reception very friendly the only downside was the breakfast, not the best and I had to send my sausage back as it wasnt cooked properly. Excellent position close to the centre although the traffic was noisy as our room was at the back. Would re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Rlips007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Got from our trip yesterday, hotel was clean and tidy, food was excellent,staff were friendly, entertainment ok.Did not manage to get much sleep whilst there as the traffic noise, squeaky floor boards and door slamming at all hours kept us awake. The major downside to our trip was the 7hrs it took us to get there and the 9hrs coming back,whilst you can appreciate a few pick ups you dont expect to be travelling that long.It was our first time doing a coach trip and im afraid Alfa coaches has not given me a good first time experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HalifaxmissS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Cumberland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2011

In our literature we clearly advise that there are special travel arrangements for Scarborough tours. For these tours we allow clients to join the tour coach directly if they choose to join the tour from Leeds, Pudsey, Bradford or Huddersfield rather than these passengers travelling all the way west only to return the same way to get to Scarborough. I am sorry if you were disappointed by this arrangement however it is clearly explained in our brochure and on the itinerary issued with your travel documents.

On the ‘Joining your Alfa Holiday’ page in our brochure, we ask that clients consider the relative locations of their joining point, the interchange and the resort they wish to travel to prior to booking. We ask clients to do this because whilst it is possible to travel from all joining points to all resorts some combinations are not advisable and in all honesty we would not recommend clients to travel west from Halifax to the Interhcange only to return east to Scarborough. It would have been better for you to join en route in Huddersfield where you would have been picked up at lunch time, a coule of hours before arriving in Scarborough.

For future reference, we will not be operating en-route pick ups in Huddersfield, Pudsey, Bradford or Leeds in 2012. Instead we will be offering a £20 discount for clients joining at Hartshead Moor (on certain tours only). We believe this will prove a much better arrangement for clients from West Yorkshire wishing to go to Scarborough or the North East.

Finally, I am pleased that you found the food to be ‘excellent’ and were happy with the service afforded by the staff. The majority of our clients do travel with us time and time again and I hope that you may consider giving us another try in the future.

Assuring you of our best attention at all times.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

I went with Alfa coach tour, Its the best I have been on. They looked after you and couldn't do enough to make you comfortable. The Hotel was clean, the food was lovely and the staff were very helpful. I would go back again . Lana x

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lana3105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
4,962 reviews
0.5 km away
Weston Hotel
Weston Hotel
#2 of 26 in Scarborough
540 reviews
0 km away
Marine Residence
Marine Residence
#16 of 26 in Scarborough
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#17 of 26 in Scarborough
358 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 26 in Scarborough
409 reviews
0.6 km away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range: $78 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing