We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel with the best staff you could ever wish for :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cumberland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cumberland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great Hotel with the best staff you could ever wish for :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed at the Cumberland Hotel Scarborough Sat 2nd June 2012 for Two nights, we booked it at the last moment & on the advise of trip advisors good reviews. We were so glad we did because we had a really pleasant stay. Ten mins walk to the town centre was good. Most of the clientele are of pension age & are very friendly towards each other & are out for a good time. The whole place is clean tidy & well presented all the staff are amazing, no matter how hard you try you just can not catch them without a smile on their face, they can not do enough to help you enjoy your stay. The bedrooms although a little dated are spotlessly clean, the bathrooms are also very clean & ours had the most amazing powerful shower with loads of hot water. Breakfast is waiter served you choose from a menu, we chose the grapefruit segments followed by a full English, all was of good quality, our only small criticism would be that the tea & coffee served at breakfast had room for improvement but you do have tea & coffee in the rooms to make yourself that is instant & ok. All in all we loved our stay here we were treated like kings from arrival to departure.
We would not hesitate in recommending this Hotel & we will be looking forward to our next visit. We hope our opinion will be of help to someone choosing a Hotel in Scarborough.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank kermitandpigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    77
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
40
95
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
300 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

terry and the staff are very friendly and helpful the hotel is very good at customer care
the food was excellent and this should be a three star hotel
it is very easy to walk in to town and along the cliff top also to see were the royal was film also to go on the olderest cliff lift in the world tony mbe

Room Tip: room 316 was ok look on to green area and the street there are sea view room as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank tony726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

my husband and i stayed here over easter with alpha coach holidays, they gave it a two star? well its got to be worth more than that, the staff were lovelly nothing to much trouble, we definately will be returning. Food was of a good standard, the rooms were very clean and we had the view over the back of the hotel which was the main road into scarborough, Its also in a good position, you cant avoid the hills there but the lifts were near the hotel. Just a pity the weather was not as good, but you cant have everything.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank jueLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in Walkden
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

My sister and I spent a 5 days holiday at the Cumberland from 12th/16th March 2012.
We went last year and decided to try it again. Pleased we did.
Everything was as before no faults at all. From being picked up by Jim our driver to being dropped off we have no complaints. He was always very cheerful and very knowledgeable abnout the areas we visited.
Our room was spotless, clean towels everyday, nice bathroom with toiletries.
The dining room was very pleasant, as were the staff,who could not do enough for you. We asked for a glass of cold water the first morning and there was 1 on the table for the rest of ourholiday.
The entertainment room you could not fault., plenty of room between tables. John the bar manager was always polite and friendly as were all the staff, reception and dining room.
We would definately visit the Cumberland again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lest of hotel nowhere near entertainment room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank winnieinWalkden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
198 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel after we stayed there last year. This was a Turkey and Tinsel weekend (Sat/Sun) with Alfa. We enjoyed it last year and decided to make the return trip again this year with Alfa.

Location
The hotel is located near the top of the cliff, just up from Valley Road. Walking down is fine & about 10 mins steady walk down to sea front. Walking back up may be an issue with people with mobility problems, but we got a taxi from Futurist Theatre back to hotel and this cost £4.50 with Beeline Taxis.

Rooms
We stayed in room 108, which from reading some reviews before hand some people had a problem with this room. This is located near the lift, so everytime someone gets out the lift, you can here the noise it makes. The room we stayed in is directly over the front entrance, so you can hear people going in and out from the hotel. Plus we could hear the disco as we were almost above the entertainment room. Aside from that though, it was clean but basic. There wasn't any wifi access (as far as I know). There was a Tv with the basic analogue channels, tea and coffee facities and 2 single beds. The bathroom was fine with a decent shower (not like some hotels where you just get a sprinkle of water from the shower head). Apparently when we arrived, the hotel had just had a refurbishment and had installed showers in all rooms. The room could have done with being updated decor wise, but it was fine as a base for 1 night.

Staff
The staff were very friendly and helpful. I couldn't really complain about the staff.

Meals
We had the Xmas day lunch and that was fine. There was a choice of various different dishes and the dishes I chose were decent. I've stayed in supposedly better class establishments and the food at the Cumberland was better.

Entertainment
There was bingo (2 games). After the bingo, there was a DJ, playing everything from 70's / motown to present day. It was still going at 12:50am as we could hear every song and every word the Dj was saying over the mike from our room.

We would go again, but would probably ask for a different room as although I do like to enjoy myself I also like to have a half decent sleep without too much noise!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Smh2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

every year my friends and i go to a tinsel and turkey weekend, this is by far the best, the staff and management were on hand at all times, the meals were excerlent, and the entertainment was first class, we are planning to go again next year

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be easily accessable , not to far to malk for all aminities
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

What a fantastic time we had, nothing was too much trouble, single rooms were spacious, well decorated and very clean. Food was just as good and the serving staff were clean and efficient. We enjoyed this holiday so much we booked up for next year before we left. Excellent value for money only slight negative (if you can call it that is that) if you want lots of bingo be warned the only two games played were 2 flyers each night but the houses were about £150.00

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank monkeyhanger44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
0.1 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,488 reviews
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
1.7 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#19 of 28 in Scarborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.4 km away
Red Lea Hotel
Red Lea Hotel
#11 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.3 km away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#16 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cumberland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cumberland Hotel

Property: Cumberland Hotel
Address: Belmont Road, Scarborough YO11 2AA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cumberland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cumberland Hotel - Scarborough [3 Alpha Symbol & AA 3 Star]. Very well situated on the South Cliff a few minutes walk from the Spa complex, beach and town centre with excellent views of the town from the north facing rooms. This excellent hotel has recently been extensively refurbished. 86 bedrooms have central heating, private bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV. Entertainment is provided most evenings in the ballroom. There is an attractive restaurant and quiet lounge. Lift serves all floors (few stairs to some rooms). On street car parking using complimentary permit available at reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cumberland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing