We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a good family break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
sheffield
1 review
“Overall a good family break away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed in a silver caravan. 4 adults, 2 6 years olds, a 9 year old and a 8 month old.....8 of us in a caravan sounds really cramped but the caravan has so much space. Luckily we dropped on with decking half way round the side. The living room was really spacious and plenty of room for us all to sit round the dining table. The kitchen was a good space with plenty of cupboards and enough work surface. Heating in all rooms, plus a gas fire in the living room.
Like the comment stated before that the crazy golf was extremely poor and for the 5 days we was there we never saw anyone playing, but the kids park at the side makes up for that!....The swimming pool was ok, a bit mucky on the bottom, the pool was cold but up top in the baby area was slightly warmer....The boys loved going down the slide which you can see them coming out from the baby pool. Bit poor with the changing rooms and lockers. Only 3 showers which is open and not private.....The evening entertainment was brill for the boys, we only went twice out of the 4 nights we stayed...I must say the price of drinks is rather expensive......We also found across the road was a pub called TOW BAR..... unfortunately we only went here on our last night for a meal, but we would have gone there every night as the prices for drinks and food is a lot less than in the club house, plus there is an outdoor area for the boys to play which you can watch from the conservatory...we also went there for breakfast on the day we left which i highly recommend........Defo recommend going to Scarbrough and Brid for the day, lovely days out....the beach across the road from cayton bay is a lovely clean beach but the hill to get to it is a killer! Not ideal for elderly people or people not so good on their legs. I pushed a pram down the hill and struggled as the hill was so steep, but going back up the hill was a nightmare pushing a pram......but worth it.......
Overall the holiday was such fun that we are booking to go again in the half term holidays. Excellent for children which is why we are going back.
The only fault was the caravan we stopped in had dog hairs on the carpet and settee and. I would not normally complain, but with having a baby who spends a lot of time crawling and sitting, having to keep pulling hairs from his hands and mouth was not too pleasant and my son who suffers with asthma, but when we had the courtesy call to see if everything was ok, my partner informed the lady, and the dog hairs were removed within the hour of complaining... We stopped in the Gosling caravan.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmakelly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    451
    292
    154
    185
See reviews for
1,079
199
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Myself, my partner and 2 children aged 5 and 3 arrived Easter Monday at Cayton Bay Caravan park for a 4 night stay booked through the Sun newspaper. We were expecting the worst after some of the reviews as we had booked the bronze caravan and due to it being fully booked were unable to upgrade.

However on booking in (slightly before 4pm) and arriving at the caravan we were very pleasanltly surprised. The caravan was very clean, and appeared quite new (Elm 41). It had 3 bedrooms, 1 double and 2 singles, flat screen tv/dvd, microwave, fully equipped kitchen. Nice clean bathroom with shower. Plenty of storage space. We brought our own bed linen but the duvets and pillows were provided and were perfectly adequate. The only downside was the heating which was just a gas fire in the living room, but apart from that I could not fault the caravan.

The park itself could do with an upgrade. The Showbar is good but the Boathouse bar, amusement area and pool area all need a revamp as it looks a bit tired. There is a very poor crazy golf area outside but we never saw anyone on it. The park is ok. It has the potential to be an excellent site. It is in a great location and the entertainment staff were first class.

Would go again if booking through the Sun but would no way pay the full brochure prices!! For example we saw a 4 night break in August in a Gold Caravan for £738!!! Definitely not worth that.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifi2718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

Stayed in a Bronze 3 bed caravan with our 2 kids and our dog. Wasn't expecting much after reading previous reviews but we were very pleasantly surprised. The caravan was very clean and well looked after (especially considering that this is the lowest graded caravan which also allows pets to stay). Only problem being the heating..... the bedrooms don't have any.... but we already knew this when we booked the holiday so took along a heater of our own to use. The gas fire and the cooker were plenty to heat up the rest of the caravan quickly. The Entertainment on site was fantastic for our 2 kids (aged 8 & 5).... who loved the characters, the Teamstars, the party dances and the Sparky Krew Club. The swimming pool... although not the best in the world is ok.... its good for very young children but not deep enough for older ones. But the slides are great for both. The onsite restaurant was very reasonable... with meals including 2 for £10 and a play area is provided to keep the kids entertained. Cayton Bay Beach which is about a 10min walk (but down a very steep hill).... is a gorgeous beach. All in all I was very pleased with the holiday and would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatleyFamily2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

Just back from a fab weekend away with the girlies. 19 pound each for three days!
Good food although mainly ham, staff lovely and helpful. Excellent entertainment, Adele tribute act was superb came all the way from Skipton to sing.
Would recommend it to others. Top tip though is bring a hot water bottle as chilly at this time of year or some JD to warm you up!

Room Tip: we drew lots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Check in was a nightmare! staff did not have a clue!
We stayed in a Gold caravan which was spacious and clean.
The swimming pool held 161 swimmers at a time, there were only around 8 changing rooms and 20 lockers and the water was cold.
we did not spend any time using the facilities very disapointed.
Cayton Bay beach a 5min drive or 15 min walk is a must!
We were lucky we didn't have to stay and use the facilities as it would have ruined our holiday, but a drive into scarborough and a stop off in Saltburn made it a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelgaP17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed in a private owned caravan so that was fine,most of the vans we saw looked well maintained.I had high hopes for this site,from the write up about it&what people had said,however i was dissapointed!.Its a huge site but there is little to do on it,the arcade is small&shabby,the pub is dark&dingy and desperatley needs a re-vamp,its also freezing in there.We only had one meal in there&that was ok but nothing special,drinks are ok but they are typically over priced.The evening entertainment is just ok,usual bingo,not really a deal for kids,half hour of silly songs then usually a cabaret act&the in house band,its also cold in there if its not full.The pool,as others have said is a massive let down,its filthy and far far too shallow,impossible for adults to swim or older kids,the kids enjoy the slides but for the size of the site the pool could be so much bigger&better.The grounds etc are well maintained and the site is clean &tidy,i just feel it could offer so much more with a little thought&tlc in certain areas.We had poor weather too so it gets expensive,went to sea life centre,cost a bomb and wasnt even a half day trip really.The site is ideally located for trip to near by places.For a short break its fine but i certainly couldnt hack a week there.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank helzbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Check-in was a nightmare, clueless/rude staff. Caravan was clean but certainly not up to the gold star we had upgraded to. Complaints to management ignored. Entertainment was dreadful, and the whole place was very shabby, the public toilets were filthy. The Boathouse pub is very run down and the staff there unfriendly. On site shop is not very well stocked. I really can't think of anything positive to say about this site, it needs a complete overhaul and some staff training.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carolyn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CustomerServicePR, Public Relations Manager at Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Park Resorts takes feedback like this very seriously and we are very sorry to read that you didn’t enjoy the experience that you should. At Park Resorts it’s our mission to create amazing memories and we are continually investing in accommodation, facilities developments, our team’s and customer service in order to deliver on this promise. We can only apologise that check-in was a little disorganised. Being the start of the season and a busy check-in day, our team weren’t as organised as they should have been. We assure you that this has now been addressed.
We have just built a new play park for children and are in the process of renovating our crazy golf course. Also, we have 11 brand new cubicles in the swimming pool changing rooms, along with special mats and new lockers.
Regarding the toilets, during busy times with lots of children on the park they can become a little messy, but they are always checked hourly at the least. Had you raised any of your other concerns during your stay our team would have happily talked to you about each issue individually.
We can assure you that the majority of our customers at Cayton Bay have a thoroughly enjoyable experience there. In fact, 87% of holidaymakers last year rated their overall experience at Excellent or Very Good, and similarly high for accommodation and facilities and entertainment.
All comments are taken very seriously and would urge anyone who is unhappy with any aspect of their holiday to raise it with the reception team or Manager while on holiday.
We sincerely hope that you give Park Resorts a second chance and decide to holiday at another of our Parks in the future. Remember that, as a loyal customer, you benefit from a second holiday discount if you book again this year. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
4.6 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#6 of 28 in Scarborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,641 reviews
5.1 km away
Premier Inn Scarborough Hotel
6.5 km away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#2 of 3 in Filey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Crows Nest Caravan Park
6.5 km away
The Sands - Sea Front Apartments
5.1 km away
Harbourside Apartments
Harbourside Apartments
#9 of 35 in Scarborough
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts

Property: Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Address: Mill Lane | Cayton Bay, Scarborough YO11 3NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 Speciality Lodging in Scarborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's all action stations at this fabulous Park near the seaside resort of Scarborough. With a great choice of entertainmnet you'll be toe tapping and hand clapping all night! Facilities include a fun pool with flume, all weather multi sports court, adventure playground, crazy golf and soft play area, volleyball and basketball. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayton Bay Holiday Park - Park Hotel Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing