We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely country experience”
Review of Wrea Head Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wrea Head Hall
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Scarborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Easy check in and taken to the room by the lovely Daniel. Best room in the house room 4. Four poster with wonderful views of the garden and countryside.
Staff were excellent and very attentive throughout our stay.
Dined in the hotel which was very good and breakfast too!
Would recommend amd stay there again

Room Tip: Room 4 . Four poster very comfy bed with wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babycaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 1,957 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

The fact that we have recently returned from our 5th visit to Wrea Head demonstrates how highly we regard it. It has been very tastefully reburbished over the past few years in a manner totally in keeping with its structure and surroundings.
A very peaceful and pleasant hotel to stay in with attractive and characterful rooms , attentive and friendly staff and fantastic food.
It was a special occasion on our most recent visit this month and all the staff went that extra mile to help make it special. Would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelFaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

We visited Wrea Head Hall for a 2 night stay to see the 80s V 90s concert at the Scarborough Open Air Theatre. The building is amazing and we were really pleased with the room and how spacious and bright it was. My husband is into Architecture and whilst sat outside having a glass of wine he could not help but be impressed by the building and how beautiful it looked in the afternoon sun.
We ate in the restaurant on the first night and the food was very good. My only criticism of the whole weekend is that the restaurant is very uncomfortable to eat in. It does have background music playing but way too low and it is totally lacking in any atmosphere. It felt quite awkward and people had to whisper otherwise the whole room could hear their conversation. We couldn't wait to get out of the room which is a shame as the food was excellent.
The staff are courteous and helpful and we had breakfast in our room each morning which was a real bonus as didn't fancy the quietness of the restaurant again.
All in all a good stay and hope my comments are taken as constructive criticism and not that we had a bad stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We cannot praise the Wrea Head highly enough. The rooms are superb, the food excellent and nothing was too much trouble . We were blessed with sunny weather making our stay complete. We will certainly return

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jenny o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Hi Just spent 3 nights here. Our first visit, but hopefully not our last. All staff very attentive, polite and knowledgeable. Food excellent, and a varied menu, for evening meals. Breakfast first class. Nothing too much for the staff. Thanks to Ann and all the staff there.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We stayed at this lovely hotel on the 2/3 Sept. We have stayed here before and will be back ! The hotel is very relaxing with a traditional feel the rooms are lovely and bathrooms amazing in the traditional style with rain howers and gorgeous tiling all spotless ! Lovely traditional dining room with very good value menu and great choice of wines there are plenty of books to sit and relax and read with great views over countryside the staff are really helpful and polite cannot do enough for you in all just a lovely atmosphere all round would be perfect for a small intimate wedding or family get together thank you to the owners and staff for this gift to Scarborough it really is a hidden oasis x

Room Tip: Room 2 easily accessible nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

This hotel is elegant and classy. The staff are so attentive and trained to a very high standard, they make you feel very welcome and special. If you want a treat and to be looked after have no hesitation of booking here. The indulgence menu was so creative, my father had 'Scarborough Fair' for a dessert which was a slate board laden with surprises, mini toffee apples, candy floss ice cream, homemade honeycomb, just delightful. The staff are beautiful and it is good old fashioned english service with attention to detail. Myself, husband and parents had a beautiful meal from the indulgence menu and was true decadence, I cannot recommend highly enough. We were shown the beautiful rooms and now can't wait to treat ourselves to a stay. Thank you for a wonderful night, the hard work of the staff shows and you have a very talented creative chef. Amazing from start to finish.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armillariahoneydew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
5 km away
The Crown Spa Hotel
The Crown Spa Hotel
#5 of 26 in Scarborough
4,987 reviews
1.9 km away
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
Ox Pasture Hall Hotel
#3 of 26 in Scarborough
1,649 reviews
24.6 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Park Manor Hotel
Park Manor Hotel
#4 of 26 in Scarborough
963 reviews
4.7 km away
The Crescent Hotel
The Crescent Hotel
#6 of 26 in Scarborough
602 reviews
4.2 km away
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wrea Head Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wrea Head Hall

Address: Wrea Head, Scarborough YO13 0PB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Scarborough
#4 Business Hotel in Scarborough
Price Range: $148 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wrea Head Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering truly breathtaking, uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside that must seen to be believed, Wrea Head offers arguably on of the most beautiful setting of all Scarborough hotels. Surrounded by the endless scenery of England’s most beautiful county – from the heather filled Moors and scenic Dales to the spectacular Yorkshire heritage coastline – you can choose make your break as active, or relaxing, as you like. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wrea Head Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wrea Head Country Hotel
Wrea Head Country Scarborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing