We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wrea Head Hall
Nearby Hotels
Park Manor Hotel(Scarborough)
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Spa Hotel(Scarborough)
US$198
US$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Crescent Hotel(Scarborough)
US$180
US$162
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ambassador Hotel(Scarborough)
US$80
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mount Hotel(Scarborough)
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Palm Court Hotel(Scarborough)
US$173
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hackness Grange Country House Hotel(Hackness)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weston Hotel(Scarborough)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,989)
Filter reviews
1,989 results
Traveller rating
1,541
333
76
26
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,541
333
76
26
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscountry houseindulgence menuroll top bathnew ownersthe general managerfour poster bedthe hotel managerbeautiful hotelpublic roomslog firestandard roomdining roomnight breakevening mealnorth yorkshirekippersrelaxing stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,989 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I felt like the lady of the Manor . This place is lovely you are made to feel special . Rooms and house is beautifully decorated with impeccable taste . The food is delicious and the service is excellent

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Family celebration,Aunt's 80th tea party.The place is really quite stunning.The staff very pleasant.the food was really very nice.Well off the road and peaceful.Beautiful old building.Very nice view from the room.Lovely grounds.Parking is easy.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Irene E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic as ever! We keep coming back to Wrea Head Hall because it is just the best! Inventive and excellent food particularly for guests who require gluten free.No need to spend ages looking for another hotel in this area just go to Wrea Head Hall.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018

Tripadvisor shows Wrea Head Hall as a 3 star hotel – it isn’t its far higher standard than that everything about Wrea Head screamed 4 star plus to me!

This is a lovely period property is situated in a secluded and extremely attractive location with easy access to the coast specifically Whitby, Scarborough and Robins Hood Bay.

We were allocated room 14 and it was as we expected perfect.

I had done my homework and corresponded by email with very helpful staff and I got exactly the room that met my criteria...wide shower with rain and hand held facility – windows that open and most importantly a HUGE bed!

The bathroom, bedroom indeed the whole hotel, was spotless and well maintained and wifi was effective and of course free.

There is no elevator so I can imagine that the less able would find accessibility restricted.

Car parking is near to the building, it’s free and extremely safe.

Gowns (but no slippers) and abundant top quality freebie bathroom toiletries were supplied; the room had all the facilities we wanted.

The hotel was undergoing localised internal refurbishment but this did not distract from our experience, they simply closed off the rooms in question and the works caused no inconvenience to guests.

It was a cold wet March visit so we couldn’t enjoy the delights of the gardens etc but when I hope we return in the summer we will enjoy the superb well maintained and laid out rural location, we noticed croquet was available on the lawn for summer use – very English !

The fabric of the hotel was in very good order and it felt homely and cosy whilst retaining its Victorian country house feel, it was a very relaxed and not in any way regimented experience thanks to the staff, mostly young ‘uns, who were ALL polite, professional ,helpful and pleasant.

We wandered down for a pre-dinner drink in the bar- service was immediate and the young lady who served us with a smile mixed a great G&T – high quality gin and tonic water was used and the selection of gins was good ...a few nibbles with the drink would have been well received ...we were put under no pressure to go to our dinner table and we wandered into the restaurant at our leisure.

It was a Monday night in March and there were only about 16 covers so the atmosphere was relaxed and yes the average age was “senior” but that only added to the relaxed experience, and what other clientele do you expect on a Monday night in March in a country house hotel?

There weren’t silences and the buzz of conversation was a far far better option than the alternatives!

It certainly wasn’t like a nursing home as some have suggested, I think that suggestion is by those who confuse refinement with stagnation.

Food was excellent and the menu options were both interesting and exciting, product was locally sourced and well cooked.....the rabbit was a refreshing option.

It wasn’t Michelin fine dining as a lot of prep had already been carried out well before the final plating; but it was most certainly extremely good and excellent value for money!

We were a table of 4 and thoroughly ourselves as the wine flowed especially and unexpectedly some extremely good Turkish red!

The waiting staff were a happy young crew, helpful and professional and we enjoyed the table banter with them and negotiating extra walnut bread proved not to be too much of a challenge!

Post dinner coffee was taken in the vestibule area, very comfy, we all agreed it wasn’t the best coffee but acceptable, the cognacs were perfect temperature and served with covers to keep them so – nice classic touch that!


We slept extremely well; it’s quiet and felt very safe, copious amounts of hot water were available for showering.

Breakfast had numerous choices- the haddock was as you would expect from the location of the hotel was as fresh as could be and the full English was well cooked and plentiful.

All in all great location, really nice people, great value for money.

If you want or expect Butlins or Benidorm then don’t choose this hotel but if you want a country house experience with honest Yark-shi hospitality in the company of adults then do chose the Wrea Head .....simples!

Room Tip: Room 14 has a HUGE bed and superb bathroom
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank MarionMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Stayed here to celebrate my 50th Birthday this weekend (Sat 17th March 2018).

Booked the Ellis Suite which was fantastic!!

Staff brilliant from Kevin (General Manager) - who sorted out swapping dates after I got them wrong

Tony, restaurant manager, who was on hand at all times ensuring the service was First Class.

Dinner was amazing and breakfast this morning was excellent with choices to suit all - I had the full English and it was as good as I've ever had.

Sent dad and mum there 18 months since to celebrate his 70th - and following his recommendation booked it for my own milestone birthday - was not disappointed in any way and will definitely be returning again.

Many thanks to the team at Wreah Head Hall who have helped to make my Birthday Weekend Fantastic !!

5 STAR in every way.

Thanks

Room Tip: Ellis Suite will not disappoint!!!
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews