We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary
Book In Advance
More Info
US$20.32*
and up
Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary Entrance Ticket
Ranked #28 of 91 things to do in Scarborough
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Walk with Penguins on Penguin Island and visit this years seal pup patients in Yorkshire's only Seal Hospital! There are over 1,000 creatures in over 50 amazing displays!
Useful Information: Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Although I understand the importance for places like this I don't think it's appropriate to advertise the penguins if the area is locked off. The pirate golf was not as expected and the layout of the whole place seems confusing. You almost ask yourself if you've seen everything, 1 turtle but 50 seals? It seems very basic but we did get some nice photos.

Thank ashley w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Ashley

Thank you for your feedback and review of Scarborough SEA LIFE.

I can confirm we have over 1000 animals, 11 turtles, 5 resident Seals, 4 rescue pups, 2 otters, 21 penguins, as well as an array of fish, crabs and other sea creatures.

The penguin walkway is closed off to guests, however the penguin enclosure is still open for public viewing and at no time have our guests been stopped from seeing the penguins. The reason we are unable to allow guests into the enclosure at the present time is due to the risk of Avian bird Flu to our penguins. As I am sure you will appreciate the health and safety of our animals is paramount!

When booking tickets online it clearly states our penguin walkway is currently closed off to guests, it also states the reasons why. When purchasing walk up tickets here at the centre on the day there is signage on the admission desk again explaining about the closure and the reasons as to why, we also tell our guests by word of mouth on arrival.

On arrival to the centre you will have been given a map and feeding talk leaflet, the route in and around the centre is clearly shown on the map, however not all of our guests chose to take this route and in fact prefer to make their own way in and around the centre.

I am pleased to read you did get some nice photos of your day here at Scarborough SEA LIFE.

Once again many thanks for your review

Scarborough SEA LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"octopus"
in 80 reviews
"penguin enclosure"
in 66 reviews
"seal hospital"
in 53 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 133 reviews
"booked online"
in 79 reviews
"penguin walk"
in 37 reviews
"pirate golf"
in 35 reviews
"otters and seals"
in 35 reviews
"sealife centres"
in 31 reviews
"feeding times"
in 54 reviews
"rainy day"
in 79 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 79 reviews
"staff were very friendly"
in 34 reviews
"north bay"
in 42 reviews
"talks"
in 288 reviews
"voucher"
in 378 reviews
"conservation"
in 54 reviews
Filter

125 - 129 of 2,722 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

I visited with my nine year old daughter. We spent about 4-5 hours here and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly.

Thank JaneC357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Jane,

Many thanks for your 5* review of Scarborough SEA LIFE.

I am pleased to read both you and your daughter thoroughly enjoyed your visit and hope to welcome you both back again in the future.

Best Fishes
Scarborough SEA LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

The sea life centre are doing a fine job saving the world but don’t bother hanging around to eat as the cafe was very disorganised and the food disappointing after the wait.

Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2018

Dear Nick

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Scarborough SEA LIFE

I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the food and beverage team.

Best Fishes
Scarborough SEA LIFE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

I've been to a lot of the SeaLife aquaiums, and this is probably one of the better ones - not just for the sea life it has, but for the site itself.There is ample car parking, toilets near the entrance (through the gift shop), indoors and outdoors attractions for variety and protection from the cold/wet weather. A cafe on the upper level - accessible for those with mobility issues via a lift (also located in the gift shop). Toilets were clean, as was cafe, the food hot and tasty. Would definitely go again - especially as whilst we were there one of the exhibits was closed, so they've offered a free return visit.

1  Thank MoonRiverTravelsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear MoonRiver,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us here at Scarborough SEA LIFE.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Fishes
The SEA LIFE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

it is a lovely place but small and not any animals. we got half price ticket on line that was good. I do not think I would pay full price. It took us only 1 hr to look at everything.

Thank Joanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough S, Guest Relations Manager at Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2018

Dear Joanna,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us here at Scarborough SEA LIFE.

We are pleased to read you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Fishes
The SEA LIFE Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary also viewed

Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 
Scarborough, Scarborough District
Scarborough, Scarborough District
 

Been to Scarborough SEA LIFE Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing