We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed”
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

my husband and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night, The downstairs looked very nice as it has had a refurbishment, our room was on the second floor as we went up the stairs I started to have a bad feeling about this hotel as the carpet on the stairs and landing was thread bear, paintwork dirty and neglected. Room was very spacious, bedding and towels clean but very dated,old brown furniture, carpet was dirty. We may have had a good deal but standards should be maintained. Come on owners of Chequres would you stay in one of your rooms ? I doubt it. Breakfast was in heated dishes to help yourself, which did not look very appetising and was cold, so no did not enjoy our stay at all.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back looking over garden was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    99
    92
    48
    40
See reviews for
32
96
26
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I have just returned from an overnight stay at Chequers in Newbury. I feel I must defend this hotel a little as some of its previous reviews seem unnecessarily negative e.g. 'worst hotel I have stayed in' and 'rather sleep in the car'. We had a comfortable stay with a well sized double room. The location of the hotel is ideal for visiting Newbury and the exterior of the hotel and the reception areas are well presented. Admittedly, the hotel could do with a coat of paint and an update to its furnishings but this wouldn't stop me staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

This was the worst hotel I've stayed in for several years - and I spend around 40 nights a year in hotels. It was a last minute booking and I only booked this as there was nowhere else with available rooms and it had such dreadful reviews. I stayed in a room at the front on the second floor - the musty stench hit me on the first floor and got worse till I got to my room. In my room they had tried to cover up the stench with air freshener with the result that the room had that horrible sickly smell you get in some taxis. The room itself looked like it had not been decorated since the king died, quite literally. The paint had peeled off and there were black soot rings on the paper around the lights - the one redeeming feature was a modern flat screen TV.

After paying almost £8 for a double gin and tonic I went to bed and spent an hour listening to my neighbours' conversation through walls thinner than a wafer-thin mint, finally getting to sleep around 1 only to be woken early by the heavy main road traffic. Frustrated, I tried to go out for a cigarette to find every door locked and had to find the night porter even to get out of the place.

It was last minute and I wasn't expecting much because of the other reviews but it was more dire than I could possibly have imagined considering the room was not far off £100. The only two things I can say something positive about are the freshly cooked breakfast which was a very pleasant change from the usual lukewarm tureen of cremated bacon and the staff who are pleasant in an embarrassed way.

Room Tip: Stay away from the two upper floors in the main hotel - the stench will make you want to heave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newbury hotels

California
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

stayed here briefly. A little bit shabby but I guess a little "charming". Somewhat noisy and we were driving and parking was not well marked. I had a mid-afternoon meeting with a colleague at the hotel and the staff seemed quite pained to get us a pot of tea. We ordered a second pot (for three of us) and the charge was about 20 pounds, which seemed exorbitant for such unwilling service. One bright spot- the main street is a quick walk, with charming shops.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBicrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

stayed here for 2 days from 13th to 15th December 2011, the room i stayed in was comfortable but somewhat dated, my room overlooked the main road and you could hear the traffic noise at all times of the day and night, there was little or no hot water running in the bathroom during the morning and the shower ran to a trickle, however i will say the room was comfortable the breakfast excellent and the location central to everything. As the stay was with friends i think this helped with some of the hotels shortcomings but overall a nice stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iantesstom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed here in November 2011 since it was close to a work event. The hotel rooms had a 1970 look and smell to it and the windows/walls had paint scraped off. The rooms were that bad I was suprised to find the TV remote was cordless (BONUS!).

We had to do an adventure trail to find the room, up a spiral stair case and Indiana Jones it across numerous walkways.

The parking is one of the highlights, since you turn intoi a private cark park and the staff are actually really nice. The night reception guy also pulls the pints and reminded me of the old guy who protected the wall in the movie 'Stardust'.

Room Tip: Inform them your from a government body checking the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeeJayCeeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We arrived on Saturday 3rd Dec 2011 for one night and this turned into Nightmare on Oxford Street
There was a function going on in the hotel into the early hours which kept us awake until the early hours.
I called reception and the answer they came up with was to offer us another room?
There was also a dripping tap in the bathroom which was so loud we could still here it with the door closed.
The shower in the bathroom was non existent as you need to try and balance the hot and cold taps but this does not work well as the plumbing is antiquated to say the least (as I am a plumber I do know what I am talking about).
The decoration is from another era long forgotten.
The food that was offered for breakfast would have been refused by even the most hungry dog, let alone humans.
I would rather be outside all night in the cold than stay in this hell hole again

Room Tip: stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.5 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
615 reviews
0.2 km away
Travelodge Newbury London Road
1.7 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
1.5 km away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#12 of 17 in Newbury
29 reviews
7.3 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: The Chequers 6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteenth- century Coaching Inn located on London-Bath Road, 1/2 mile from Newbury train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing