We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Relaxing Hotel and Spa - worth a try”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Comfortable Relaxing Hotel and Spa - worth a try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Booked a long weekend deal £139 per night with two treatments free with a friend and both he and I enjoyed our stay. Staff were generally friendly and helpful. Spa facilities were very relaxing to be in - especially the pool, sauna and treatments area. Agree with previous comments that there should be more loungers available and the jacuzzi (which was lovely) be bigger maybe instead of aromatherapy room. Gym was fine and sufficient though resistance machines handles were too chunky in grip. Excellent coffee. Free treatments - massage chair was fun, different and great, the sun aqua treatment was silly and didn't fancy reflexology so would've preferred alternatives. Facial (which I paid for separately) was lovely. Strongly recommend booking treatments in advance as was pretty much booked out all weekend. Hotel room was good enough - modern bathroom, bed was very cosy and warm, Wifi access was helpful to have but surprised that TV was analogue and with very limited channel options. Robes provided needs to be softer and more towel than the almost see through ones given. Breakfast was nice and generous but bar dinner was disappointing and poor. Not much to see in Newbury itself but nice walk to castle near to hotel (Taxis cost up to £12 from Newbury to Hotel). Hotel interiors isn't that memorable but overall a pleasant stay especially for the price we paid.

Room Tip: book treatments in advance better in rooms facing golf course than main road - the higher level th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    385
    312
    156
    77
    31
See reviews for
104
379
30
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Booked a last minute spa day - £99 for two including a complementary treatment & lunch. The facilities include a pool with adjoining jacuzzi, a sauna, a steamroom & an aroma room.
The pool is nice and big, but there weren't enough loungers around it for everyone there which caused a few people to get disgruntled. The jacuzzi seemed like a bit of an afterthought on the side of the pool. It was quite small and monopolized by a hen party. The sauna and steam room were well-sized. The aroma room was not particularly impressive and remained unused by most people.
The treatments (one facial and one massage) were good, and the staff in the treatment rooms were very friendly & professional. In fact all of the staff were very friendly, helpful, attentive & professional. With the exception of one employee who was loudly berating some staff members in reception as we left. It made for a very awkward atmosphere and was uncalled for.
The facilities were extremely clean and well-maintained. It was just a shame that there weren't more spa rooms to choose from. Would definitely recommend taking a book/ music with you otherwise you might run out of things to do...

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincs
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Spent a Friday night here for work .... and is wasn't too bad a hotel at all. Wifi is free in the rooms (for all you business travellers) and there is nice pool, jacuzzi, saune, staem room and aromatherapy room. I was there first thing on Saturday morning and it was quiet - so much so that there was no-one to show me around the equipment in the well equiped gym - so pack a cossie and make the most of it!

Rooms are very comfortable - nice toiletries. Had dinner in the bar in the evening - Risotto was excellent. They did make a bit of a mess of the garlic bread - it came out frozen - but the very attentive staff made it up to us with some drinks - and then some more cooked garlic bread.

Seemed to be quite a few families there on the Saturday morning - so I'd assume it's okay for kids too .....

I would be quite happy to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

My only criticism of an otherwise perfect stay at the Donington would be the towel rail not working. Cant understand why when you mention it to the staff that they seem lost for words or they dont have the maintenance man on speed dial. We are the paying customer/ their clients .........in Singapore had i made that remark and nothing had happened then the duty manager would be taken outside and shot.
As for the rest of the stay it was very very good. The food excellent , the Spa lovely and had the mental bridezilla types not been there it would have been heaven.
The Coronation Street type waitress was added value .....i kept thinking that she should have been serving in Subway or the local Hospital. Bless her

Room Tip: always ask in advance does the towel rail work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonspeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This hotel can't cater for Coeliacs, beware! Arrogant service in their restaurant and very poor choice for Coeliacs.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This was our second visit to this Hotel which we first visited about 18 months ago. This time we stayed for four nights with our son (on the sofa bed) in an executive double. The rooms are spacious, well furnished and comfortable with very good bathrooms. Staff are generally very friendly and helpful although it can sometimes be a little difficult to get service in the lounge bar. Breakfasts are excellent with a very good choice of cooked foods including really creamy scrambled eggs on the hot buffet (how do they do that?). Dinner is competent to good although I think they need to change their table d'hote menu (Market Menu as they call it) more frequently - we ate dinner on three nights as part of our rate and as it hardly changed I was beginning to run out of choices by the third night - admittedly I could have chosen from the a la carte at a supplement. The wine list is exceptional and we thoroughly enjoyed the recommended wine we drank with our meals. The real jewel in the crown of this hotel is the Spa with a very good size pool, large sauna, steam and aroma rooms, excellent gym and treatment rooms. In the summer there are also good size terraces with loungers where you can soak up the sun. There is also a great pool side service of drinks and snacks. If you want a round of golf there is an excellent golf course with pro shop and all the usual stuff. All in all this makes a great destination for a mini break or holiday. Newbury is close by for a bit of retail or the race course. I would also recommend The Crab at Chievley if you want to dine out one night - it is a short drive away and a first rate seafood restaurant.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are in the newer part of the hotel and, for a little extra, seemed to us to offer th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathyinsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear kathyinsurrey

Thank you for your very comprehensive review following your 4 night break with us over the half term period. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to Donnington once again. We are indeed fortunate to have such a wonderful Spa and we have just upgraded one of our rooms to a double treatment room and to celebrate we have introduced a new spa break for spring “Love Spa”

Your comments regarding menu change have been duly noted and this should have been anticipated during your stay with us so my sincere apologies that you felt options were limited at dinner towards the end of your stay. Unfortunately Mark our breakfast chef keeps his scrambled egg recipe a closely guarded secret but happy to send you the method!

Thanks again for your comments, hopefully see you soon.


Very best wishes,

Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
anthonycox@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

My Husband and I went on a last minute break to Donnington Valley Hotel.
The Deal was excerlent - Bed, breakfast and evening meal including a wine selection with your meal and a night cap for £150

Check in was easy - really friendly team, and the hotel itself is very clean and presentable.

If your looking for a hotel to stay at this is A VERY GOOD CHOICE.

The rooms are spacious and clean.

The Bar staff are extremely good at their job, effiecinet and friendly!

My first compaint would be the food. Now I have eaten here before and the food was superb, but for some reason last night my main meal was lacking in flavour.
Though funny enough (and we didnlt have the same meal) the table next to me had too much flavour in their risotto!

My second complaint would be our package was meant to include a selection of fine ones to compliment our meal - we did not receive these. Though I will say once I mentioned this to the waiter they soon removed our wine from the bill. Yhough it would have been nice to have tasted wines to compliment our food!

I woudl give this hotel a second chance thought - and thought I got value for money!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-GM, General Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Jane M

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your last minute break with us recently. First and foremost apologies that the elements of you package were not correctly communicated to the team.

Despite your disappointment with your main course at Dinner thank you for scoring us excellent in every other aspect of your stay and I will be in touch to arrange that future visit.

Very best wishes,

Anthony

Anthony Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
1.2 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.2 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.9 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing