We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
north harrow
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Had a one night golf & spa break as a taster for a further stay in June for our son's forthcoming wedding. All four of us had a fantastic time - everything about this hotel is lovely. The staff are so pleasant and go out of their way to be helpful. So much so that we were upgraded to executive rooms on arrival as our rooms wern't ready. The staff member responsible for this (can't remember her name - sorry! but she was wearing a "head" badge!!) couldn't do enough for us - a valued member of your team! Relaxing and comfortable and can't wait for our return visit.
Cannot recommend highly enough the spa/golf breaks - great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear lynne w,
I am so happy to hear that my team looked after you so well and certainly look forward to seeing you again for the next big day! Thank you for all your comments, these have been passed on to the team here at Donnington.
Best wishes
Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    489
    397
    191
    90
    33
See reviews for
151
486
32
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

The Hotel was every bit of its 4 star rating, good rooms and excellent on-suite. Spa adequate if a little soul less, maybe some background music. Food good on set menu, wine expenive.
Staff friendly and helpful.
Golf course in good condition, 2 holes are boardering on dangerous with driving cross-over, especially 16/17

Room Tip: Room near Spa saves walking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyPound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Came here for a small business conference. Nice rooms, decent service, but sadly let down by the food which was less than ordinary. Buffet lunches were bland, a la carte dinner medicore and desserts were left uneaten by all our group.
(A mix up over the invoicing didn't help lift ratings). On the plus side - gym was good (I am told by colleagues who are clearly fitter than me!)

Room Tip: Eat at the Donnington's sister hotel (the Vineyard) - fantastic food there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear rubikon,
I am so sorry to hear that our food let us down, we generally receive very good comments about our food and are proud of our two rosette restaurant so I apologise that we did not meet your expectations. I am however pleased that our sister hotel The Vineyard impressed so much and I completely agree that their food is fantastic, I have managed to sneek in for the odd meal there myself!
I hope you will give us another try in the future but thank you for taking the time to feedback.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed overnight for a birthday treat in this lovely, friendly hotel/ spa, all staff were warm and welcoming, room was very clean and considering we only had the standard rating room, it was nice and plush! Spa facilities were lovely, very clean and again staff were lovely, you can even have a cheeky glass if bubbly beside the pool, waiter service, bliss! We ate our evening meal in the hotel and food was very nice, the only negative was we felt a little rushed, however they were extremely busy with a wedding and it was also valentines weekend so I'm sure it is not always the way. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning again soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonerlady30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Goonerlady30,
Thank you for you lovely review and I am delighted that you found the best spot in the hotel; poolside with some bubbles! Glad to hear you will be returning and please do contact me when you have some dates in mind at sallyrussell@donningtonvalley.co.uk
Best wishes
Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Ok golf course, hotel in great condition, but stay marred by extraordinarily petty night receptionist. After a very pleasant dinner and a drink in the bar watching the US Masters, I realised I must have dropped a tennis ball in the hotel earlier in the evening. I asked at reception whether it had been handed in and the receptionist said "yes you can have it back in the morning". This, in my view, was a ridiculous way to treat a 40 year old, and I strongly disagreed especially as his colleague proceeded to bounce the ball behind reception after I made the enquiry. I initially assumed he was joking but it quickly transpired that he wasn't. He said it was his duty to protect other guests!! Unfortunately this led to a quite heated argument based on principle from my perspective and stubbornness from his. I shan't be staying at this hotel again. I would like to stress, however, that the co-worker on duty, was very reasonable and I could quite clearly see he wanted to hand the tennis ball back and put an end to a ridiculous situation. This was possibly the pettiest and most totally unnecessay argument I've ever been involved in.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ojdd100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Monty_mumbers
Thank you for your review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to hear about the incident with my night manager and about your ball being taken but having spoken with the staff in question I understand that they were acting in the best interests of our other guests who may have been disturbed by your game of ‘corridor cricket’ or by your suggestion of playing ‘catch’ in your room in the early hours. We do like to be able to offer all of our guests a good nights sleep here.
Best wishes,
Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Good points: gym and spa well equipped; rooms are clean

Bad points: service in the bar is awful; no matter what time of day the bar tenders are rude, ignorant and far too busy / important to actually serve customers in a timely or friendly manner. When they do actually find the time to attend to an order, they are abrupt and snotty. If I were the manager I would fire them all and start again!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear GRClarke,
Thank you for your review and I am very sorry to hear about your experiences with the bar team, rest assured this matter will be investigated and addressed. However I am pleased to read that the rest of your visit was enjoyable and I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to soon.
Kind regards,
Sally Russell
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We celebrated my daughters hen party at the hotel this weekend and everything was perfect, thanks to all the brilliant staff and Sally in particular. The hotel was very busy with a wedding, a stag party, and another hen party but even as a small party of 10 we were really looked after. There was a minor confusion over the restaurant booking on Saturday evening but Sally was very helpful and we were given a private room for our dinner within 20 minutes. The spa was great and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would definately recommend this venue for a group booking.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Dear Vaughan P, Thank you very much for your feedback and of course I was delighted to be able to assist in sorting out the confusion with the private room. Myself and the team are so pleased that you all had a lovely time with us and I hope we are able to welcome you back to Donnington soon, please do contact me directly at sallyrussell@donningtonvalley.co.uk so I may make any arrangements for you personally.
Very best wishes,
Sally Russell, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newbury hotels
2.9 km away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,791 reviews
1.2 km away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
7.0 km away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
635 reviews
4.2 km away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
779 reviews
3.2 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Property: Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing