We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional venue for our wedding lunch”

The Winterbourne Arms
Ranked #45 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional venue for our wedding lunch”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We decided to get married and organised the wedding and reception for 40 guests within 2 weeks of the ceremony. The entire team at The Winterbourne Arms were so helpful, accomodating and made you feel as if nothing was too much trouble. Andy the Chef created magic in his kitchen and the Managers David and Michelle could not have done any more. The other Michelle made service on the day seem like it was being done by smoke and mirrors, it was fast courteous and discreet. We were also looked after on the day by Frank the owner. We and our guests can not praise this venue highly enough. Our guests said it was the best weedding they had ever been to. It was relaxed and friendly almost like being at home.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    65
    24
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We went there for a big family lunch to celebrate an 18th birthday and it was great.”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We wanted a nice pub for a Sunday lunch where we could get a room to ourselves for 20+ family and friends to celebrate my daughter's 18th birthday, and we needed somewhere near the M4/A34 junction to fit with where everybody lives. The food was very good and the service was really friendly and helpful. The staff were very helpful beforehand with arranging it. We were really pleased with it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Horsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location - great food”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Following a wonderful lunch at the Winterbourne Arms to 'spy' out the place for a family reunion, we asked them to put together a menu for what eventually turned out to be 17 family members from far & wide. In the months prior to our visit, they were very patience & friendly with the changes we required. On the day, everything went off extremely well - we were served quickly with our delicious food, & the staff couldn't have been more helpful & friendly.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coupleofoldies299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
452 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Lovely country pub with lots of atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The Xmas decor was exceptional. Santa was climbing a tree beside the door and there were Xmas cards to the owners everywhere which tells you how popular the place is. Very charming and bigger than it looks from outside. Fires burning and lovely lighting make it feel very inviting. They have a pie special everyday and really good fish and chips. Plenty of home cooking on the menu and desserts are hard to pass up. Crumbles and STP ( sticky coffee pudding) with custard and ice cream if you want. Heartwarmingly great!

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank palmpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We arrived after 2.00 on a very wet lunchtime to a warm and friendly greeting. We only wanted a small meal and were invited to have only starters from as tempting menu as well as from the light bites menu - a very good idea! The black pudding, bacon and poached egg starter was good to look at but even better to eat and my wife's goat cheese and onion puff was praised; both were from the starter menu.
Looking at the other diners' meals, we wished we had been more hungry!
the price was reasonable and the service outstanding.
We shall return!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller7979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Winterbourne Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Winterbourne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing