We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
16
23
12
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
23
12
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 62 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2015

We went to the restored monastery as a special dinner event for a Viking cruise. Going in November, we arrived at night. So the area around and view from the monastery were not of any value. We were greeted by a "countess" impersonator who gave us a little background. After meandering many long hallways we made to the dining hall. Dinner consisted of a soup, roast pork or hake fish, and dessert was a creme brulee. The soup was decent. Both the fish and pork were over-cooked and not very tasty. The creme brulee was worthless, a watery custard mess. Clearly the worst meal of our whole trip.

Date of stay: November 2015
2  Thank hhrosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2015

We visited as part of a cruise tour organised by Amawaterways.
We wouldn't mind staying for a night or two in the hotel.
Grounds and the restored monastery all look in great condition.
Reception of the 100+ group was weel organised.
Dinner was, as can be expected for such a large group, not great but not bad at all.
Overall a pleasant dinner experience.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KvG01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2015

We also visited this venue on a Viking Cruise.

The building is spectacular and the views over the Duoro are to die for.

However, the catering for our 100+ people left a lot to be desired.

The soup was bland and the pork of the main course was dry (needed some apple sauce).

There was a long gap between soup and main when we could have had the Fado show, but instead we had to wait until after desert before we could see the show.

Nice to visit but don't bother with the dinner

Room tip: We had a look in one of the rooms and it looked very like you would expect a nun or monk to sleep in. Not for me
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2015

We had dinner as part of a Viking River Cruise. 97 people descending on a place at the same time could be a recipe for mediocrity or even disaster but this was wonderful. Twilight arrival at a magical location with a walk through long, long historic corridors to one of numerous, sumptuously furnished reception rooms where we had a short talk about the monastery. Then to vaulted dinning rooms where we had an excellent and generous dinner.
Our view and that of many others we spoke to was that we would love to return on a driving trip and stay for a few days as a touring base.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steven s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2014 via mobile

This place was awesome. The ambience is like no other and the food was delicious. The place is about a thousand years old and was once a monastery so don't expect anything wild and crazy. Food was cooked in a very large wood burning oven. Everything down to the bread and butter was great. Since I was part of a group tour I don't know the cost but it wouldn't matter. I'd go back no matter what.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank travelingbarbie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews