We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthole Cottage

Porthole Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Open plan lounge
central staircase
The fully fitted kitchen
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
View from bay window
Decking
View from french windows
Garden table & Chairs
Decking
The Waverley Steam boat from Porthole window
Rolling hills of Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Paul G
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Position Lacking the Finish.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first time to Minehead and we loved it, and would like to come back again.
The property we stay at was in a great position on the north hill with good open view across the bay. Shower good . This property that needs a higher finish and a bit more care.
list of things which I found annoying:- A very poor TV which often didn't work or made a loud whirling noise. very noisy floor boards in the second bedroom, external entry step just before the front is a hazard. General decorating could be improved looked a bit tied & quite a lot of cob webs. heating just ok.
If the standard of the property was lifted to a very good finish then it would justify the fee as it stands now it was a bit too expensive.
The Owners are very nice & helpful and I would go again if the standards were lifted. It's a great position for walking into town & on to North Moor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Lack of kitchen work surface to prepare meals on. Televison was very poor,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerkat_M...
Watford
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've stayed in many different places in these kinds of holiday cottages and Porthole Cottage definitely rates as one of the best. The location is fantastic with excellent view. I'm sure that with good weather the outdoor seating area is a brilliant place to have meals and enjoy the view. Even though it was February I still went out in my dressing gown and a cup of coffee to enjoy the atmosphere.

Its a great place to start your walks - within minutes you are in Exmoor Park. Easy walk down into Minehead with plenty to do there and lots of cafes ad restaurants to enjoy. The steam train is definitely worth a trip on. You can also walk directly down the cliff to the harbour and the pleasures of the Old Ship Aground pub. Lovely place with really good coffee and a decent carvery two days a week.

Porthole Cottage is small, but it is very practical and really well provided for. Its great to have everything there, such as the small things like washing powder, toilet paper, etc. The owners are also very considerate, having left milk in the fridge and put tea and pancakes/waffles on the table for our arrival. We even had fresh flowers on the dining table giving a lovely smell.

Note that Minehead is hilly, so if you are thinking flat seaside area then think again. Make sure your car hand-brake works!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Low headroom in the bedrooms - I'm tall!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trovers
Mirfield, West Yorkhire
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Porthole Cottage - Enjoy the View!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

After a long and stressful journey the anticipated view lived up to expectations. The cottage itself was clean and had all the required amenities. There was ample free parking on the road at the top of the drive and this is where our car stayed for almost a week as we explored on foot. It has a good-sized decking area which overlooks the bay, and if you are lucky with the weather, you can enjoy the early morning sunshine here. The accommodation is designed for around 4 people, but we found that the kitchen/bathroom area was probably just large enough for 2 adults and a teenager. There were many scenic walks that could commence from the cottage and the location would suit keen ramblers. Down in the town most of the bars and restaurants are on the main street (The Avenue) and they offer a wide range of food to suit most tastes, though the walk back up the steep hill may be a problem to anyone with mobility problems. The owners of the property live next door, and though we had no issues, it was nice to know that they were nearby if anything did occur.
A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The toilet/bathroom being downstairs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puzzlecre...
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More beautiful than its picture”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Excellent vacation cottage that exceeded expectations. A wonderful welcoming note on the table with tea and cake awaited us on arrival. Our stay at this clean and picture perfect place was nothing but delightful. We only wish we would have had more time to enjoy the local surrounding town of Minehead and the story book villages in the vicinity. Every moment at the cottage was amazing with the awesome views of the bay and Dunster Castle just a short distance away. Jeremy and Karin are great hosts and do an outstanding job to ensure all comfort needs are met. We can hardly wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superunkn...
Lichfield
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“A Little Piece of Heaven in a Stressful World”
Reviewed September 15, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We hadn't been able to book anywhere to go due to my hubby having had a number of operations with the last one being in April. Therefore, we had booked our time off work and decided we would look for something as and when we knew how things were going (after a check-up). In the end, it meant that we were looking for somewhere to go the week before we had our annual leave booked. We scoured the internet for days just hoping to find somewhere. We didn't mind where, just somewhere with a sea view. This cottage jumped off the web page and grabbed our attention and we are so glad because it is a total and utter gem.

I am not sure what the best thing is about this cottage because there are so many good points. The first thing that struck me was its chocolate box appearance. Then I saw the sea view. Then I saw the beautiful interior. The only potential issue was the "on-road" parking. I got on Google Streetview and had a good look. It looked fine. Within a couple of minutes of discovering the cottage I was shouting, "Book it", excitedly at my hubby.

I knew the cottage was going to be great but had no idea just how fantastic. When we arrived and walked down the drive, we could see how stunning the cottage is in real life, much more so than in a photograph. We got a little glimpse of the sea view over the side gate. I looked at the lovely window box full of flowers and the porthole in the cottage door and loved the cottage straight away. We collected our key from Karin, and received a lovely warm welcome, and got unloaded, into the cottage and unpacked.

The cottage is quite small, however, it is so exceptionally well designed that it doesn't feel it. Everything has a purpose. The sofa is lovely, large and comfy and would put to shame sofas in larger properties. The decor is has a lovely cottage feel with a modern twist. It is also very refreshing and seasidey with its relaxing colour scheme and stripy blinds and cushions. There are some lovely pieces of artwork around the property and you can tell that the owners genuinely care about their guests having a lovely holiday. There was a little pot of jam and some clotted cream and scones left out for a welcome cream tea after our drive.

Then, there's the view and what a view it is, very expansive seascape that is one of the largest tidal reaches in the country. Therefore, you can hear the sea all the time with the ebb and flow of the long tide. It's very relaxing. Then there's the lovely decked area outside. Through the French doors and up some steps to a fabulous elevated deck sheltered by numerous trees behind. Despite the weather not being the best, we felt warm enough to sit out two evenings during our stay and those evenings were the most chilled out we have had for some time.

The parking space is absolutely fine despite not being off-road. There is plenty of space to get in and out. It's not far down the drive to the cottage either. The cottage has everything you need and more including lovely bedding and fluffy towels. The cottage was lovely and warm and has central heating in the lounge with other radiators supplied for the other rooms (which we didn't need to use).

There are two supermarkets locally, a Morrisons and a TESCO and there is a good array of shops, pubs and restaurants in Minehead itself. The beach is a short but steep walk down from the cottage. The beach is very pebbly but has good access. I found lots of pieces of seaglass and saw some fossils. Some of the pebbles are really fascinating too. There are also patches of sand so something for everyone on this beach. The only surprise was that it was so deserted. If you walk down the path to the beach and the main road and cross the road, you will see the start of the South West Coast Path with its shiny map sculpture giving you a welcoming twinkle in the sun.

There are some great places to visit in the area including Dunster Castle (NT) and Lynton and Lynmouth and the cliff railway there. There is also the West Somerset Steam Railway in Minehead itself.

We had many local walks including a very strenuous walk to the top of North Hill. It was well worth it though because we had some spectacular views from up there. We drove up another day too to go to the furthest viewpoints as we only walked to the first one. You can see South Wales from up there and the views are fantastic. We also saw quite a few small groups of Exmoor ponies.

The overwhelming thing about staying here was just how peaceful it all was. This is something that I needed very badly after a really stressful time over the previous twelve months. I don’t think I have ever relaxed so much on holiday. We both enjoyed ourselves so much that we will definitely be booking another week at some point next year.

Thanks to Karin and Jeremy for their kind hospitality. We had an amazing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the cottage, the deck, the peace and quiet
Liked least: I didn't dislike anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paula K
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous stay in this wonderful little cottage. It had everything we needed and was immaculate throughout. The owners are lovely and were very helpful. The view was to die for :-)

Would definitely stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and patio area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wanderer3...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great cottage with panoramic view”
Reviewed May 8, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We spent a week staying in this lovely cottage. Jeremy and Karin have got the right balance between being friendly and helpful without being intrusive. The cottage had everything we needed.
The sun deck is perfect for breakfast as it's quite sheltered with views over the bay and the countryside. Or you can enjoy the same view from the inside, with a window seat to lounge on. It's a short distance from the cottage down into town or to the beach or up onto the edge of Exmoor. We enjoyed a very relaxing break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing