We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A cosy little cottage set in idyllic surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Porthole Cottage

Porthole Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Porthole Cottage
Porthole Cottage located on North Hill
Open plan lounge
central staircase
The fully fitted kitchen
The double bedroom
The twin bedroom
View from bay window
Decking
View from french windows
Garden table & Chairs
Decking
The Waverley Steam boat from Porthole window
Rolling hills of Exmoor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Minehead, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Pizzalips
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A cosy little cottage set in idyllic surroundings”
Reviewed October 18, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Porthole Cottage - a cosy little cottage set in idyllic surroundings complete with everything a home needs - including stunning views over the Channel and Minehead. It served our purpose admirably by providing a few peaceful days away. An area we hadn't visited for many years, Minehead served as a base. The cottage was well furnished and the beds were very comfortable. The patio area was used every morning for breakfast and coffee and also for barbecuing in the evening. Karin and Jeremy were friendly and helpful on arrival and the cream tea left for us was very welcome.

Already looking at dates for 2016!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OBsfromEK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Private, pretty and peaceful cottage with stunning views.”
Reviewed July 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

My husband and I (with our 13yr old daughter & 8 yr old son) have just returned home from a week in this lovely cottage. It was perfect for a relaxing break away from the hectic lifes we lead. WiFi kept the kids happy whilst my husband and I relaxed on the decking taking in the stunning views. Then the short walk to the town suited when we felt like a little exercise and a visit to the beach, amusements and shops.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dichro
Billericay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely little cottage with the most beautiful view”
Reviewed June 13, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

There is a patio with a glass front where one can watch the sea. One of the best views that I have seen in this country. We were sad to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: I am tall so I hit my head a few times on the bedroom ceiling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul G
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great Position Lacking the Finish.”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This was our first time to Minehead and we loved it, and would like to come back again.
The property we stay at was in a great position on the north hill with good open view across the bay. Shower good . This property that needs a higher finish and a bit more care.
list of things which I found annoying:- A very poor TV which often didn't work or made a loud whirling noise. very noisy floor boards in the second bedroom, external entry step just before the front is a hazard. General decorating could be improved looked a bit tied & quite a lot of cob webs. heating just ok.
If the standard of the property was lifted to a very good finish then it would justify the fee as it stands now it was a bit too expensive.
The Owners are very nice & helpful and I would go again if the standards were lifted. It's a great position for walking into town & on to North Moor

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The position
Liked least: Lack of kitchen work surface to prepare meals on. Televison was very poor,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meerkat_M...
Watford
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place”
Reviewed February 27, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I've stayed in many different places in these kinds of holiday cottages and Porthole Cottage definitely rates as one of the best. The location is fantastic with excellent view. I'm sure that with good weather the outdoor seating area is a brilliant place to have meals and enjoy the view. Even though it was February I still went out in my dressing gown and a cup of coffee to enjoy the atmosphere.

Its a great place to start your walks - within minutes you are in Exmoor Park. Easy walk down into Minehead with plenty to do there and lots of cafes ad restaurants to enjoy. The steam train is definitely worth a trip on. You can also walk directly down the cliff to the harbour and the pleasures of the Old Ship Aground pub. Lovely place with really good coffee and a decent carvery two days a week.

Porthole Cottage is small, but it is very practical and really well provided for. Its great to have everything there, such as the small things like washing powder, toilet paper, etc. The owners are also very considerate, having left milk in the fridge and put tea and pancakes/waffles on the table for our arrival. We even had fresh flowers on the dining table giving a lovely smell.

Note that Minehead is hilly, so if you are thinking flat seaside area then think again. Make sure your car hand-brake works!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Low headroom in the bedrooms - I'm tall!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trovers
Mirfield, West Yorkhire
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Porthole Cottage - Enjoy the View!”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

After a long and stressful journey the anticipated view lived up to expectations. The cottage itself was clean and had all the required amenities. There was ample free parking on the road at the top of the drive and this is where our car stayed for almost a week as we explored on foot. It has a good-sized decking area which overlooks the bay, and if you are lucky with the weather, you can enjoy the early morning sunshine here. The accommodation is designed for around 4 people, but we found that the kitchen/bathroom area was probably just large enough for 2 adults and a teenager. There were many scenic walks that could commence from the cottage and the location would suit keen ramblers. Down in the town most of the bars and restaurants are on the main street (The Avenue) and they offer a wide range of food to suit most tastes, though the walk back up the steep hill may be a problem to anyone with mobility problems. The owners of the property live next door, and though we had no issues, it was nice to know that they were nearby if anything did occur.
A thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: The toilet/bathroom being downstairs
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
puzzlecre...
Omaha, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“More beautiful than its picture”
Reviewed March 1, 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Excellent vacation cottage that exceeded expectations. A wonderful welcoming note on the table with tea and cake awaited us on arrival. Our stay at this clean and picture perfect place was nothing but delightful. We only wish we would have had more time to enjoy the local surrounding town of Minehead and the story book villages in the vicinity. Every moment at the cottage was amazing with the awesome views of the bay and Dunster Castle just a short distance away. Jeremy and Karin are great hosts and do an outstanding job to ensure all comfort needs are met. We can hardly wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the cleanliness.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing