We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent position, good rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Tewkesbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent position, good rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Rooms fine, shower excellent. Good position within easy walk of a number of restaurants. Service is always friendly and breakfast is fine. I don't like the rooms at the very top because they have Velux rooflights but no windows.

Room Tip: Don't go on the highest floor in the attic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    143
    33
    9
    9
See reviews for
74
142
57
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here on numerous occasions and keep coming back.

In short, the hotel represents excellent "Travel Inn" style, value for money, with friendly, helpful service. The bedrooms are spotless and the en-suite bathroom showers are powerful and easily controlled. Breakfast is freshly cooked and there are always plenty of staff on duty.

We have recommended the Cambridge to other family members, whose experiences have been similar.

Many other hotels could learn from the Cambridge.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends. 5 mins walk from station. Lovely, clean room and bathroom. We stayed in room 43. Only downside was it has a velux window which was very noisy when it rained.
Breakfast was superb, with all the usual cereals etc and cooked breakfast

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

Hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful, free parking and wifi. Shower was great! Breakfast was basic but fine. Dinning room a bit like a canteen but what do you expect for the price. Despite it being extremely hot both inside and out and hence noise from open window I still had a good nights sleep as bed very comfy. Very close to town, walking distance. Couldn't fault it for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsm888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
676 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 316 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed at the Cambridge overnight as we visited friends in the area. Having read the reviews I expected much more than what I got.

The bedroom was fine but basic.There was a huge desk type chair placed in the middle of the room, right at the side of the bed but to the bottom of the bed. Very strange and totally unnecessary. The room was clean and tidy. And the bathroom was very nice, modern and a very good size.

Breakfast was an experience! It is served in a very tight room with limited space between tables. It was busy when we ate. Food is buffet style, including drinks and toast. Although the Full English is served. Presentation is not the best and the food is cooked in an open kitchen. There is also a large TV on in the dining area, which merely adds to the noise levels. Lots of hustle and bustle!

The hotel is not in the best of areas and if it wasn't that I booked it in a rush, I would have researched the area better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MD-FatDonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in march 2013 and they snow was at least 4 inches deep and the ice on the road made it impossible for me to reach the hotel BUT there staff pushed my car up a 35° hill while it was slipping and sliding all over the place, once we reached the hotel we was greated with a friendly atmosphere and the rooms were fantastic for £50 a night, brilliant hotel, wifi was a little weak but it was a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamleebarryrating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

Clean, well maintained, spacious and well appointed rooms made it a real pleasure to come back each afternoon after spending the day out exploring. All the staff were lovely and very helpful, and the evening staff in the dining room were particularly friendly and accommodating. The food was delicious (we wished we had room to eat more!) The location was great for getting to the train or centre of town. If we were to need a hotel here again we'd definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Walshfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.6 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
5.4 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 3 in Brighouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
5.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
#11 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huddersfield
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing