We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“BRILLIANT PLACE” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambridge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cambridge Hotel
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Huddersfield
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“BRILLIANT PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

Receptionist was friendly on arrival. I had asked for an isolated room as we have a young baby and didn't want her crying to disturb any other guests but had forgotten my request and we were pleasantly surprised to be taken out of the hotel to a kind of small cottage adjoined with it's own little driveway. It was a perfect location (as she did cry during night) and the room(s) were fantastic. They had also placed a nice cot inside. The only thing I can fault is that it is a little cold in the bathroom but was otherwise amazing and we were gutted to only be staying the one night. Different reception staff at night when i popped to get a drink to take back to room to watch Match of the Day with who were also fine and a very friendly bloke on reception when we left too. Were also disappointed that we didn't get a chance to eat here as if it was anything like our accommodation we missed a treat.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank herefordian1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    135
    30
    9
    9
See reviews for
72
133
54
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my friends stayed here Saturday night, the staff were exceptionally rude to us for no reason and when we went to check out they tried to charge us for someone else's room as they had refused to pay saying that we had been knocking on their door which we hadn't. They said they had it on CCTV so we asked to see this and they could not find it! They kept us standing at the reception for at least an hour as we refused to pay saying that it was their fault as they shouldn't have let the other guests leave without paying. They had no evidence to prove that we had done what they had said so they had to just let it go and not charge us. They took a real disliking to us from the very start and felt as though they were just picking on us. I would never stay here again and wouldn't recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemgems8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed S, Manager at Cambridge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Gemma,

I am sad to read that your experience at our hotel was not as you or I would have hoped for. However, upon your arrival we informed you that the credit card you had provided was declined and we would require another card to secure your room against as it is in our hotel policy. It was at this point you seemed to get upset and you suggested that you will go to town and put money into your bank account. When you came back the card still declined and then one of your guests kindly offered her card which we were able to successfully preauthorize.

It was during the night, however, where we had problems You arrived back at the hotel at 2am from your night out and you were extremely intoxicated. As you attempted to go back to your room you were shouting and banging on doors trying to find your room. Once you were in your room with your other guests you came back out of your room to go to one of your other guests room but you seemed to get lost. Once again, you began shouting and banging on doors to rooms which were not yours. It was at this point our other guests began to call reception to complain about the noise outside their room. We called your room to politely ask you to settle down as other guests were now beginning to complain, however, you continued shouting and banging on doors. Our staff members had to visit your room twice thereafter to ask you to settle down as it was now getting out of hand. Fortunately, after 2 hours, you managed to calm down.

Upon checkout, guests who were on your corridor were very upset about their stay, specifically about what happened during the night and 2 refused to pay for their rooms. When you came to checkout, one of our managers asked about what happened during the night and informed you we had other guests who didn't pay as they were unhappy with the disturbances. At this point you were unhappy to hear this and suggested we were making up lies. Upon your request, we showed you cctv footage from a number of cameras which understandably can take sometime to go through. However, You were still denying making any such noise and claimed you were "only hanging in the corridor" You became very rude and abrupt with our reception staff and we had to ask you to leave.

I would like to apologize if you felt we were rude to you or if you felt disliked, however we have been running as a hotel for over 20 years and we are welcoming to all our guests regardless of their background. Time to time, incidents like this do occur and we try to settle this in the most professional manner we can and try and resolve any matters in a calm and patient manner.
Again I apologise and I hope you do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel being 10 minutes from the centre with free parking is in a very good location.

The rooms are well designed, modern, powerful showers, fridge, large TV and wi-fi. The breakfast simple - both cooked and continental but fine.

I didn't try the evening meal and the bar had TV with music or sport playing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrNotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Can't fault the hotel. Good, large, clean rooms, well fitted and comfortable, very well soundproofed and the blinds were incredibly efficient. We ate there in the evening as well, the food was good, well priced, and served quickly. Bar prices were reasonable as well. Breakfast in the morning was good as well - only criticism is that the tables are a bit cosy!

Easy to find, plenty of car parking and walking distance to the town centre. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rickmansworth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed one night and were very impressed. Very clean, very smart hotel. Well positioned for the town centre. The staff were all very smart and polite. The room was very clean (but no air-con, shame). The bar at night was well stocked. We missed breakfast so cannot comment on that but all in all a very nice hotel at a very reasonable rate. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

my wife and me stayed 4 nights could not beat the service and help from all the staff we stayed 25 oct for 4 nights rooms fantastic breakfast the best staff very pleasent and helpfull this hotel is very clean loveiy bar it is one of best hotels i have stayed in and would recomend it only 10 min to rail station and town centre

Room Tip: all thr rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulb1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rankins Springs, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great priced hotel. Stayed here for 5 nights. Should be way more than 3 stars. Good service, nice rooms, warm bed, good facilities, great food, great bathroom and cheap prices! The best stay since I've been in England. Well done staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HenryVIIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huddersfield hotels
0.6 km away
Huddersfield Central Lodge Hotel
0.8 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield Central Hotel
5.6 km away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Premier Inn Huddersfield North Hotel
2.9 km away
Briar Court Hotel
Briar Court Hotel
#9 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.4 km away
Travelodge Huddersfield
Travelodge Huddersfield
#6 of 17 in Huddersfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge Hotel

Property: Cambridge Hotel
Address: 4 Clare Hill, Huddersfield HD1 5BS, England (Formerly Cambridge Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Huddersfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Huddersfield
#3 Romantic Hotel in Huddersfield
#5 Family Hotel in Huddersfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambridge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just a short 5 minute walk from Huddersfield Town Centre and only half a mile from the Towns Bus and Railway Stations. We are a 0.6 mile walk to the University and a 0.8 mile walk to Huddersfield Town's Galpharm Stadium.At the Cambridge Hotel we offer 79 good quality spacious rooms at reasonable prices. Whether you are visiting Huddersfield on business, holiday or going to that all important family occasion, the Cambridge Hotel is an ideal place to stay.All our rooms are tastfully furnished and are all en-suite. Each room is equiped with a telephone, colour television, fridge and a fully stocked hospitality tray for your comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cambridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambridge Hotel Huddersfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing