We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Location. Violently Overpriced.”

Rocksalt Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Rocksalt Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 263 Restaurants in Folkestone
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

This is an upscale restaurant in an enviable harbour front location catering to affluent Kentish dinners.

The greeting upon arrival is excellent and all tables provide an excellent harbour view. However like so many smart establishments today, it is set on a wooden floor with no soft surfaces, carpets, seat covers, table cloths, curtains, etc, etc to absorb the noise generated by so many excited dinners, so that the atmosphere resembles a canteen. The nearby screaming baby as we took our seats at our lovely window table, was also a serious distraction.

The menu is sensibly limited to ensure maximum freshness, but there is a good choice of fish, meat, and vegetarian dishes.

The prices are extremely high.

Six oysters, cost just £12 in London's superb Savoy Grill, which is hardly known as a modestly priced restaurant.

Here at Rocksalt they charge £22.50.

The dressed crab starter would have greatly benefitted from the inclusion of some dark meat.

The bread for the table and accompliments was excellent, although charged for.

Our fish main courses were well cooked, although my Dover sole was the smallest I had ever encountered.

All vegetables are charged extra.

The wine list is excellent, and my Loire Les Nuages Sauvignon Blanc OK at £31.

The service throughout our meal was truly exceptional, and certainly addded greatly to the occasion

The service throughout was exceptional, and certainly made the meal special.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Corvette1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Many thanks for your review.

We will pass your comments on to the team as feedback is always appreciated.

We sincerely hope you will give us another try someday.

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,567)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 2,567 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Heard about Rock Salt and thought I’d take my other half as he’s a big foodie and loves fish. He really loved the food. As a vegetarian I wasn’t expecting great things as thought it would be all about the fish but I was so wrong. There was a very good choice and my meal was absolutely delicious. The Views are lovely. We went on Easter weekend- restaurant was packed but staff were very attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Becky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Delighted to get a window table in this delightfully positioned restaurant. It’s light and airy and just a good space all round. Staff is welcoming and good service with lots of bread for the table and a delicious homemade taramasalata as a complimentary nibble. The food is tasty and well seasoned and there is a good wine and beer selection. My reason for 4 not 5 is I think the Dover sole should have had some modicum of garnish, I dared to try the potted cockles (not to be repeated) and the buttery mash side tasted like it had been standing a while and was a bit overworked and stiff. Everything else was delicious. We will rerun again

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 701jacquieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Many thanks for your review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on our homeward journey as we’d had a great experience at a sister venture Duke William. What a stunning location. Over hanging the harbour with spectacular views you don’t normally associate with England, we could have been back in the Rocks, Sydney. We only had some croissants (freshly baked) and coffee but we’ll be back. Looked at the rooms, small but beautifully formed.

Worth a day trip from London.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank johngY2981XF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

Went here for a romantic meal over Easter weekend. Very fancy and certainly not cheap but well worth the money. The staff were so welcoming and very efficient during the meal, we had a lovely table by the window and the meal was nicely paced - not too slow or rushed. Naturally we had various fish dishes for starters and main with some paprika fries and purple sprouting broccoli on the side. Complimentary bread and dips and well topped up with both tap water and wine! Had some delicious desserts to and was pleasantly surprised that when it came to the bill, the waiter not only pointed out the service charge they add on but that it was very much optional. All in all a great evening.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOHTeam, Manager at Rocksalt Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Many thanks for your lovely review, we will pass your comments on to the team and we sincerely hope to see you again soon!

The Rocksalt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rocksalt Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rocksalt Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing