We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect for our purposes”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Myrtlebank Villa

Victorian villa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Victorian villa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Victorian villa
Master Double bedroom
Double bedroom with devan
Private garden for guests
Your garden area
Lovely location with a garden walk for spectacular views
Nearby Holy Loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Patrick B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect for our purposes”
Reviewed August 24, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is perfect for our fishing purposes. It is clean, tidy, full equipped and spacious. Would certainly stay again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert P
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Scotish adventure”
Reviewed July 1, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Truly great time had in our Villa overlooking the beautiful Loch in Dunoon. ..we will definitely be back , many thanks to Argille holiday let's for a smooth and well organised holiday ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sophia A
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful, comfortable home.”
Reviewed April 12, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I stayed at Myrtlebank with my mum, husband and 3 year old son for a family gathering we were attending. The house is perfectly situated just outside of the town centre. The 2 large bedrooms were perfect for us. My mum had the larger front room and was very happy with it (this is usually a difficult thing to manage!)
My son has sensory problems and usually sleeps in with me and my husband so we pushed his single bed together with the double and it worked well.
The curtains in the front room are heavy and block out quite a lot of light but the back bedroom doesn't so if you have young children you might need to take your own blackout blind.
My son loved the house and we all had a fantastic holiday. A true home away from home.
We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loved the open layout and the welcoming atmosphere
Liked least: Loved it all
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Apr 2014
Thank you for your kind comments, we are very happy your family enjoyed your stay at Myrtlebank Villa. We look forward to welcoming you back to Argyll soon.
Kind regards
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amb475
Argyll and Bute, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“An excellent home from home which contains everything needed to ensure a great stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Myrtle Bank Lower Apartment is a great and well equipped place to stay. It is well positioned to allow the exploration of beautiful Argyllshire.

The apartment is very well equipped and spacious. We have stayed in many cottages and apartments previously, this is one of the best.

We also found the Agents to be very good, most helpful and responsive.

The only downside for us was the servicing of the apartment. We had no towels on arrival and had to telephone twice before they were delivered. We booked for 2 weeks whilst we were in the middle of a house move and were promised the apartment would be serviced at the end of the first week. Sadly this did not happen so we washed and dried the bedclothes ourselves. Not the end of the world but the service really should be better.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback on Myrtlebank Lower Apartment, we are happy to hear you found the apartment comfortable and well equipped for your stay. We were very disappointed to hear the let down of house-keeping service you received during your stay. We pride ourselves in offering the best possible service from all our self catering properties. Please be assured we have investigated and dealt with this matter with house-keeping to ensure this will not happen again. We apologise for any inconvenience this has caused you during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards
Iain Fleming
Argyll Self Catering Holidays
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew M
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Home from Home accommodation”
Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My family and I ( two young children ) stayed at the apartment for New Year 2013. The facilities are excellent, warm and cosy but with plenty of room. The kitchen was fully equipped, the bathroom was clean with a hot shower and the bedrooms were warm and spacious. The location is good for exploring the area, close to Dunoon and supermarkets with a short drive.
Will stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roomy Apartment
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoeka
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great spot for exploring the Highlands and Islands”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We stayed at the property in June and were really happy that we chose it for our holiday. We received really great And helpful instructions before we arrived which meant that the house was easy to find and the journey was stress free. The flat itself is well equipped and was very much a home from home. Everything was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The shower was great and the heating was efficient - perfect for those chilly Scottish evenings. The views from the flat overlooking the loch were lovely.

The staff in the tourist office in Dunoon were really helpful, and we used the house as a base for exploring the local area and beyond. It was ideally placed for everything that we wanted to do. There's plenty to do and see in the area, and we will definitely be back to continue with our explorations. Highly recommended!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LittleMis...
Edinburgh
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed August 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Booked through "Argyll Self-Catering Holidays" - couldn't have been simpler or more pain-free. You let them know when you're going to arrive - I 'phoned from the Gourock Ferry and they give you directions to the property. The property itself is beautiful. It has been refurbished to high specification and there was ample space for me, my husband and my friend. The front bedroom is lovely, the back one suffers from having a potting shed/conservatory attached, so it's quite dark. The view from the living room is great and the three-piece-suite in there is very conducive to afternoon napping. The kitchen is spacious and well-equipped (you have to set the boiler when you go in) and I would advise turning up the refrigerator. We ate in the kitchen and, if I had to give one "note" it would be to change the dining table in there - it's a bit awkward to sit at, at the sides (the table top is mounted on a cupboard and you can't really get your knees under) - but that's it, really. The bathroom has a decent shower (not as good as at home, but then, few places have) and the water gets hot very quickly. The thermostat is very responsive, so you can have the house as hot or cold as you like. Sandbank itself is a bit run down but there is a general store in walking distance. Dunoon is close by-ish (10-15 minutes' drive) and has a a Co-op and a Morrisons. Our stay cost £75 a night and was completely worth the money and I would definitely consider going back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view.
Liked least: The kitchen table.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing