We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage gardens
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage gardens
Cosy living area
Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Cottage gardens
Cosy living area
Living room
Modern kitchen
Kitchen and dining
Dining area
Double Room
Double room
Double bedroom bathroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom bathroom
Passage way to double room
Spectacular views
Views from front garden
Outdoor area
Front garden with views
Holy Loch in Sandbank
Views over the loch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stuart P
1 review
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

A great place for relaxing ,or a active holiday ,a quiet location tucked behind the owners house ,yet only minutes from ferry terminal and a few minutes drive to the town centre .
The owners were very welcoming and friendly ,and they went the extra mile with a bottle of wine and a homemade bread and other essentials to get us started,
Which was very appreciated
The Cottage was clean and tidy and had everything that we needed,
We visited some great gardens which are not to far away , benmore,crarae and audraine up nearer Oban ,which is definitely worth a visit.
Also thank you for the parting gift of a money plant .

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie T
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This Cottage is situated in a beautiful area of Scotland, we were expecting a view of the Clyde and the loch but instead we got a perfect view of the back of the owners house, their double garage had a lovely view, we were met by the owner, Stuart, who gave us a guided tour of the property, as we entered the living room, or snug, we were greeted a strong damp smell, we then moved onto the kitchen, if you have small children be advised the the cooker is next to the entrance, the fridge is very big but no freezer, if you need a freezer you have to go to the owners house, the twin bedroom is up 2 steps just off to the right of the kitchen and the main bedroom is further away down 3 steps and a bit down at the end of a corridor where you pass the shower room with a toilet, with net curtains and clear glass, ideal for exhibitionists, next room along is the main bathroom with a lovely bath and toilet, then into the main bedroom, this is a good size room, we laughed about the slightly wonky wardrobe, the first evening we were there before going out I had a bath, lovely but we didn't realise that I used all the hot water so my partner had to have a cold shower, he he, then as i didn't bring my hair dryer because there was one supplied, what can you say about the hair dryer? it was gentle spring breeze, bring your own, if you like listening to music again bring your own, there is no equipment to listen to music, we used the laptop to play discs, I felt that the owners haven't put too much thought into the property it's a mish mash, there is no cleaning equipment for spills etc, this is not a disabled or child friendly property in my opinion, I must say Stuart bakes a belting loaf and Fiona the owner gave us a leaving present, a plant which is thriving in my garden, the thing that disappointed me the most was that this property is advertised as having wifi, something I look for when booking anywhere, but there is NO wifi in the property, Stuart did offer for us to sit in his study to use it but I managed to get connected briefly while sitting in the car which was parked nearer to the owners house, Stuart please get a modem in the property for guests to use. and a security light for guiding people up the path on dark nights.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
We pride ourselves with looking after clients when visiting and have tried to make our cottage a home from home. A great deal of thought has went into the property not a mish mash of ideas as suggested. This is our first bad review in over 5 years. Why didn't they talk to us about problems - we were here and they said everything was fine. Our replies to the points raised are as follows:
-We are not aware of smell of damp.
-They had use of the chest freezer in the garage not in the house.
-The net curtains are thick and window is not overlooked by anyone.
-There is an immersion heater for hot water, and we always tell clients if they are going to use much, they should turn that on and we show them where the switch is.
-We don't promise a hair dryer and we will dispose of this one.
-There is a DVD player which plays CDs and some DVDs and CDs are supplied.
-We know the cottage is not suitable for disabled and do not advertise it as such.
-The WiFi is intermittent and we are working on it. There is a booster already in the cottage. Part of the problem is BT are not prepared to replace the cabling on main road.
-There is a torch in the property and outside lighting which if left on when people go out lights up the path.

Overall very disappointed and disheartened by this review.
Stuart and Fiona
Dunstaffnage cottage
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belinda_c...
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed December 27, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Cottage is excellent, well equipped and very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and I was greeted with freshly baked bread, all the essentials were stocked in fridge for arrival. I would highly recommend this cottage , it is located close to the ferry terminal and town.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2017
""Thank you so much for the 5 star review. We have passed your comments to the owners. We hope you book again soon. Kind regards Iain, Argyll Self Catering Holidays."""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevienka...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from home with extra happy vibes.”
Reviewed July 16, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Such a great location only a couple of minutes from the ferry terminal. On arrival were we were made to feel very welcome by fiona and Stuart who we found to be such lovely people. The cottage was excellent with every thing there that you would possibly need to have a fantastic break.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Jul 2016
Thank you very much for your kind remarks. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at Dunstaffnage Cottage and the wonderful location. We look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind regards Argyll Self Catering Holidays on behalf of the owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belinda_c...
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed December 29, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

Stayed here over Christmas for 6nights. Cottage is extremely comfortable with everything needed. Was provided with all basics in kitchen and there was a lovely freshly baked loaf and bottle of wine on arrival. The owners are extremely friendly and I would highly recommend this property and will definitely use again

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew I
Barrhead, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chilling Out in Dunoon”
Reviewed August 26, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just back after a nice few days relaxing in Dunoon at Dunstaffnage Cottage. Cottage was really nice, clean and homely with everything you could need for a few days away. Met by Mr Wright who was very pleasant and helpful. The welcome package was a nice touch and appreciated.
Garden wasn't really dog friendly as not enclosed and a couple more lights on the driveway would have made it a bit lighter for coming in at night.
I would have no hesitation in going back or recommending this property to other people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Homely and left in peace.
Liked least: Lighting on driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2014
Thank you very much for your kind remarks and feedback. We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Kind regards
Iain ... Argyll Self Catering Holidays.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnstone
Reviewed January 27, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea view.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing