We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very peaceful and enjoyable.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunoon, Cowal Peninsula, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tichteeva...
Leven, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very peaceful and enjoyable.”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Thanks very much to Stephen. We thoroughly enjoyed ithe week in Tony,s lodge we booked the holiday so we could relax and we managed that.

The lodge has everything you could ask for except an iron (or we did not find it) they have thought of everything the furnishings are just what's needed it was clean and comfortable.

The double bed was very comfortable and we slept well.

Because the TV reception is poor a complementary Now TV box was provided and because we wanted to do nothing we watched 11 movies. The WIFI signal was intermittent but if you go to somewhere in a location like this that's what happens.

The area the lodge is in is fantastic we walked our dogs in the local are and it was very clean with no rubbish and other dog owners were very considerate.

There is lots to do in Dunoon the locals are very friendly although we did find it strange that Dunoon was shut on a Sunday as the town seems to rely on tourism.

We would highly recommend Tony,s lodge and we will return in the future.

Thanks.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We were able to relax.
Liked least: The TV reception and intermittent WIFI signal
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weemac28
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Draughty and very little hot / warm water”
Reviewed April 2, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

On arrival all seemed better than the last time we visited at `Rainbow Lodge. We had our young 6 year old grandson with us again. Tried to have a shower, scalding hot, couldn't adjust cold water to cool it down. Tried to have a bath and was greeted with about 3 to 4 inches of hot / warm water. Went to relax in the lounge, curtain blowing, gap where sill meets window frame, wind also blowing in through door frame, in the end we had to get a newspaper and jam pieces in into the gaps. Cost of electric was out of order, we arrived Friday afternoon (3.30pm) ,spent Saturday,Sunday and Monday morning (9am) and it cost £29:10p. Wouldn't have cost us as much had the heat not been going straight through the frames in the windows and door. Properties should be wind and water tight, this one was not wind tight. As for water pressure for showers, baths etc., this could be easily achieved by the addition of a water storage tank and the hot water tank moved into the roof space, as there is enough space to construct a place for this.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Peace and quiet and nice walks
Liked least: The condition of the property i.e. as stated cold and draughty and water issues.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
We appreciate any feedback received but we wish we had been contacted during your stay. You have painted a very poor picture, but the lodge is not as draughty as you suggest. The window you mentioned, for example, had been closed into the ventilation position. If you had opened the handles this would have become quickly apparent. You had also turned the hot water thermostat first too hot, then too cold - 60 degrees Celsius is advised, however the thermostat is one attached to the system and should not have been tampered with. With a simple phone call would have resolved these minor issues immediately before they became major for you. We are less than a 5 minute drive away and are very happy to help. To others reading this review, we hope you will not be deterred from staying. We offer a very good standard and receive many wonderful comments from wonderful guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adamausti...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Country side log cabin”
Reviewed June 5, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Once we found the lodge it was brillant, easily sleep 4 poeple, decor was a bit out dated but that just gave it the country vibe, some damage from previous poeple all in all very Nice lodge but i would not return unless they reduce energy cost, at 18p per unit its a bit of a rip off as at home We spend on avarage 4.5p per unit so a bill at the end of our 3 night holiday was near £20 just for electric, although if you Don't mind spending that then i would recommend highly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2015
We would be delighted to get electricity at 4.5p per unit, but the standard seems to be around 12p per unit at the moment. We hope to move to a new tarrif end of this month. But rest assured, we only charge what it costs. This is a legal requirement. Decor is logs outside, logs inside, so difficult to 'update'. But lovely modern Jolomo pictures enhance. Thank you for your review...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alice t
Burntwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay, perfect getaway. couldn't fault it.”
Reviewed June 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Amazing big lodge, didn't want to leave. It was perfect. They even had spare blankets for us an had made the place really warm before coming up. Really spacious, comfy double bed. I will definitely be back again!! :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pandvwand...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well recommended”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The lodge is deceptively spacious, well laid out and has all you need for a true getaway. Peaceful yet only 10 minutes to town. Very easy to book and great service

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 19, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 30, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Pucks Glen walking trek
Liked least: The rip off prices at Quadamania - a private leisure resort in Dunoon!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing