We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Two Rivers Restaurant
Ranked #22 of 71 Restaurants in Chepstow
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed December 12, 2017

We stayed 2 nights in this pub/hotel and ate in the restaurant both nights. the steaks were good, as was the rotisserie chicken. The chicken comes with a choice of sauces and side dishes, it was very tasty, we had a whole chicken to share with all the fixings.....good value!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank westmanbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard b, Duty Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2017

Thanks for your review. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 580 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

We visited on a Sunday at 1230, 4 adults with one child. After being seated it took an hour for food to be delivered to our table and frankly it wasn't worth the wait. The chicken was okay, but the sauces and sides were pathetic and completely failed to live up to the descriptions. Peri peri sauce was almost tasteless, fiery fries were anything but and the jalapeno and butterqsuash sauce which was awarded a 4 chilli rating didn't even elicit a lip tingle. My corn on the cob (an extra £1.60) was actually about 1/3rd of a cob and was cooked to death, the kernels were mushy. The child with us ordered salad sticks, which comprised of cucumber and carrot. He was making odd faces whilst eating the cucumber so we tried some...it was still in the process of defrosting. How bad does a kitchen have to be to not provide fresh salad? And if they really need to use frozen salad at least make sure it still isn't frozen when delivered to the table! The staff were in the main quite surly and unwelcoming, with the exception of an older lady with blond hair who was very friendly. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant and won't be returning.

Thank Phil897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard b, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2017

Thank you for your opinion. I am sorry you were unhappy with your visit. On Sundays we are exceptionally busy as a large 180 seater restaurant we can go from 0-180 within 15 minutes and normally advise guests on kitchen timings on arrival. With regards the sauces they are produced by the biggest catering company in the UK and are in most Chain Restaurants in the UK and we follow the manufacturers description, people have different opinions on hot. The extra corn comprises of two chunks and with regards to this we have never received any dissatisfaction before. With regards your final point all salad is fresh and delivered 3 times a week and kept refrigerated and no point is anything frozen. Once again thank you for sharing your visit, all views are appreciated so we can move forward.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

Took my Mother and Father there with my wife to celebrate her 75th birthday. Great food, drink and service. We booked a table and were seated early on a Saturday night, we were not rushed and had a great evening - thank you to the staff. The steaks my mother and wife had were well cooked and presented, I had the roast chicken, a Two Rivers specialty, wide choice as to how you can have it and it was very well cooked. It was a great evening and very enjoyable for us all, reasonably priced for what we had. Thank you.

Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard b, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback, glad you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

Visit the restaurant with friends who live nearby. Room was very cosy and warm, the food was served quickly by a pleasant server. I opted for the fish and chips, the batter was crisp and light and in my opinion delicious. Will be back in May and will certainly be eating here and staying a few nights in their hotel. Further review to follow.

Very happy Dave Wright.

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard b, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2017

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your visit. And sharing your experience with others. Looking forward to welcoming you back. Craig Richard Beckett.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Welcoming modern pub with good food and beer. Staff very helpful and accommodating. Good for groups.

Thank derekr50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richard b, Public Relations Manager at Two Rivers Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017

Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Two Rivers Restaurant also viewed

Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
Chepstow, Monmouthshire
 

Been to Two Rivers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing