We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An absolute gem”
'Its mountain air, Wye's winding stream, a paradise beyond a dream.' W. Wallace 1930
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Its mountain air, Wye's winding stream, a paradise beyond a dream.' W. Wallace 1930
Arrive through oak electric gates to a secret cobbled courtyard Courtyard with white dove bathing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
151 reviews
'Its mountain air, Wye's winding stream, a paradise beyond a dream.' W. Wallace 1930
Arrive through oak electric gates to a secret cobbled courtyard
Courtyard with white dove bathing
Lion Leaded Fountain
The Georgian Coach House and Medieval Stables
New York Style open plan sitting room, kitchen and dining area
Window Seat overlooking the cobbled courtyard
Sitting room detail
Sitting room Sofa & sofa-bed and oak writing desk
Wood burning stove for cozy winter evenings
Slate topped kitchen
Kitchen & oak table dining area
Belfast sink & Slate worktops
Staircase stained glass window
Luxurious double bedroom
Double Bedroom second window
Double bedroom entrance & first window
Hallway with cozy underfloor heated flagstones
Bathroom with make-up table and sensual lotions and potions
Luxury sunken bath with hand held and overhead shower
His & Her antique handbasins
Entrance Hall from cobbled courtyard
The cobbled courtyard at sunset
And night draws in
White Doves in our garden
Sharing a bath
Mrs. Blackbird with our hedgehog visitor
Purple Blue Clematis
Rolling Hills Round Hay on Wye
Farm Track
Panoramic view from the 'Beggins' to the 'Black' Mountains
Bluebell woods with Black Mountains behind
Bluebell woods nearby
Hay on Wye - A misty morning
Rainbow in Hay
Almshouses In Hay
Summertime in Hay
Hay street view
Books R Us
From the Centre of Hay
Hay Castle
Hay Festival
Gordon the Florist
Storms of the Heart - Poems at Richard Booths Bookshop
Jones Pharmacy
Lucretia Coles's Market Stall
Dai & Chris Newsagent
Alison and Debbie Londis
Stuart Pritchard greengrocer
Hay on Wye nestled beneath the Black Mountains
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 151 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Thomas S
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“An absolute gem”
Reviewed 7 December 2014 for a stay in October 2013

This is an exceptionally good place to stay with marvellous hosts. They really do make your stay perfect . Lots of wood for the wood burner . Off street secure parking absolutely in the heart of Hay. I am posting this review again because I remember it being much better than all the places I have stayed in since then. I must go back.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah G
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Missing It Already...”
Reviewed 14 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

The coach house is perfectly beautiful, Michael and Seza keep it stocked with everything you need too (the little things you forget to bring) and the need to run straight out and find a shop is eliminated, allowing you to relax the moment you walk through the door. We only checked out this morning and I already want to go back. It's perfectly located too, 15 seconds walk from a quirkily little cinema, 30 seconds walk from the town with it's huge range of bookshops, craft shops, gifts, clothes, butchers, a deli and a nice range of pubs. Plenty to do should you choose, or if, like us, you choose to do lots of nothing then perfect. It rained every day we were there, but it didn't matter, coming home to the huge bath and log fire more than made up for it…!! We will be back !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heide B
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic and relaxing”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here for a few days and found it extremely relaxing. Michael , the owner was extremely informative and friendly when we arrived. The cottage is situated behind electronic gates in the heart of the quaint historic town of Hay on Wye. We were able to sit outside in the courtyard with a glass of wine and nibbles from the local butcher and deli as the weather was gorgeous. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. I would recommend the Tapas bar at the end of the road, very good value for money and tasty.
The bedroom has plenty of room with a very comfortable super king size bed.
A good touch is there is no television in the bedroom do it is lovely and peaceful.
The bathroom has a great power shower and plenty of creams and lotions to try out. Would definitely stay again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kerry J
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage in a lovely town”
Reviewed 2 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Everything you need for a romantic stay. A creatively decorated cottage in the centre of Hay which is an eccentric town of many stories and book shops.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerbyArch...
Derby, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Book lovers delight!”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having previously stayed at the delightful Stables next door, the Coach House proved to be even better. The owners were as usual very welcoming on arrival! The open plan first floor living kitchen was the ideal place to relax and begin to work through all the books purchased in town (within easy walking distance), whilst rustling up some food and drink (using the home made crab apple jelly provided!) . The window seat is a delightful spot, especially with the early evening sun coming through the trees. The downstairs bedroom is comfortable and quiet. What more could a couple ask for on a relaxing long weekend break? Will certainly be returning again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Reviewed 17 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lancashire
Reviewed 12 December 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$112
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing