We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent !!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trowley Farmhouse

Trowley Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trowley Farmhouse
Trowley Farmhouse as seen from the garden below The spacious kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Trowley Farmhouse
Trowley Farmhouse as seen from the garden below
The spacious kitchen
The family room and en suite, view 1
The main sitting room, view 1
The main sitting room, view 2, with cosy woodburner
The second sitting room
The dining area
The main family bathroom
The family bedroom (view 2) and en-suite
One of the pretty twin rooms
The double bedroom with walnut wood suite
The en suite bunk room
The second twin room
Tups in the orchard
Large porch entrance
Wooden stairs and landing area
View up the private drive to Trowley Farmhouse
Our cattle feeding in the fields
Painscastle Common, a short walk from the farmhouse
Wild ponies on Painscastle common
Views from the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
catredgym
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Take your own loo roll, towels, tea towels and bleach”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This farmhouse is set up a farm track, so well off the beaten track. this is the best thing I can say, that and the view. We were greeted by not a single scrap of loo paper anywhere - 11 of us for the weekend and the nearest shop God knows how far away! Also it would have been nice to know there were no towels provided, we had to do a mercy run to be able to cope for the weekend The beds are comfy and upstairs clean enough but the kitchen is dreadful. Mismatched crockery and the most disgusting cupboards. I found it uncomfortable being in there. There wasnt enough seating in one room for us all to sit down so unfortunately had to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. We made the best of the weekend, but it is certainly not up to a standard that you would expect, remote or not. Sorry I will not be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty kitchen cupboards
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your weekend. We visit the house the evening of guest's arrival to check that everything is up to standard, and of course we would have been happy to lend you towels had we been aware that you had forgotten them. I am sorry that you were disappointed not to be able to all sit in the same sitting room, but as the house can sleep up to 16 people there are instead 2 adjacent sitting rooms which have met with people's approval. I have not had any complaints before about there being several different sets of crockery, and it has been commented on many times how great it is to be able to all sit round the kitchen table and eat together. My cleaning staff have a very good track record, but of course I will personally check that this continues to be the case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trupti J
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Trawley farmhouse to celebrate my birthday. The location is brilliant, very peaceful. Kathryn was so friendly and welcoming. We were a party of 14 adults, 2 children and a dog. The place comfortable, clean and plenty of space for everyone. The place was kept ready and warm with the log burner. We ordered dinner on saturday evening from Kathryn's menu, being vegetarian's she cooked us some very delicious Vege dishes and the portions were very very generous. She baked me a very big chocolate cake twice!!! All in all a very relaxing and pleasant break. Everyone in my family enjoyed the warmth of the farmhouse! Thank you Kathryn !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the cottage and Kathryn's hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The farmhouse kitchen
Liked least: Mattresses a little lumpy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amber M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accomadation, beautiful scenery, a perfect weekend away”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I booked Trowley Farmhouse for my hen weekend. The house easily accommodated 11 of us and had everything we needed to make our stay fun and comfortable. The cake on arrival was very special as well as the wood burners being lit. It was the perfect cosy wet weekend retreat, and we still managed a stunning walk on the Saturday. Every window from Trowley has a wonderful view, it felt like we were sitting on top of Wales! Will definitely be going back for more holidays. Thank you to the owners for their friendly and helpful correspondence throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the farmhouse and the views
Liked least: cant think of anything?!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thelma70
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic property for a large family group”
Reviewed April 10, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Kathryn And Gwyn welcomed us warmly on our second visit to Trowley with a lovely cake and lots of chocolate easter bunnies decorating the rooms. Our family group of 14 consisted of two70yr old grandparents, five other adults and seven children ranging in age between 14 and 2. The house was very warm and comfortable and big enough for us all to spread out , it even enabled our teenager to have his own den with camp bed in the second lounge with en suite.Four of our girls loved their bunk bedded room, also with en suite. The rest of us were accomodated easily in the fresh, clean bedrooms. The large porch is fantastic, not only for all the boots,shoes and coats, but also for keeping the beer and wine at the correct temperature!! The children loved exploring and playing in the safe garden which can be viewed from the house. The kitchen/diner is well equipped for food preparation and with visitors one day, we managed to seat 17 round the table for a lovely roast dinner. Kathryn organised a farm experience morning for the children which enabled them to see lambs being born, bottle feed lambs, bucket feed sheep and cattle as well as searching for and collecting a dozen eggs. The morning concluded with a picnic of homemade biscuits and drinks. There are activities in the area for all ages, some of us played golf, the younger children loved Cantref farm and activity centre near Brecon and the older children enjoyed the Climbing Centre at Llangorse. There are many wonderful walks directly from the farmhouse especially to the pub! Nothing was too much trouble for Kathryn and Gwyn despite them being really busy with lambing and we can thoroughly recommend Trowley as an ideal holiday venue.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen R
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to get away from it all”
Reviewed March 28, 2012 for a stay in May 2011

Lovely old farmhouse with lots of space, particularly good for eating together as table seats 16. Really quiet setting literally up a hillside with only sheep for company, had log fires and plenty of fresh air. Hay is a lovely place to visit with walks along the river and plenty of books!
Would definitely recommend for a large party to chill and relax, friendly hosts too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet position
Liked least: Very bumpy road up the hill, but not a real problem
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo L
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful views, large warm farmhouse & welcoming hosts! Perfect!”
Reviewed February 28, 2012 for a stay in February 2012

Fantastic weekend, slept 15 people very comfortably! Very warm and friendly welcome, every need and more was catered too! Beautiful places to walk, eat, enjoy. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will definitely be returning and recommending!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing