We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place for an outdoorsy family get-together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Trowley Farmhouse

Trowley Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Trowley Farmhouse
Trowley Farmhouse as seen from the garden below The spacious kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Trowley Farmhouse
Trowley Farmhouse as seen from the garden below
The spacious kitchen
The family room and en suite, view 1
The main sitting room, view 1
The main sitting room, view 2, with cosy woodburner
The second sitting room
The dining area
The main family bathroom
The family bedroom (view 2) and en-suite
One of the pretty twin rooms
The double bedroom with walnut wood suite
The en suite bunk room
The second twin room
Tups in the orchard
Large porch entrance
Wooden stairs and landing area
View up the private drive to Trowley Farmhouse
Our cattle feeding in the fields
Painscastle Common, a short walk from the farmhouse
Wild ponies on Painscastle common
Views from the farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Billb0ard
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place for an outdoorsy family get-together”
Reviewed August 30, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were an extended family group with ages ranging from 18months to 87 years. The house provided flexible accommodation for us: rather than risk my less-than-sprightly mother on the steep stairs we turned the second sitting room, which has a shower room off it, into a bedrrom suite for her, which worked well. There was enough living space for the rest of us in the dining kitchen (where the wifi signal was strongest! We had no mobile signal) or the main sitting room. The house was warm and practical. It is not smart, but smart was not what we wanted. The large enclosed porch was brilliant for dogs, boots, muddy kit etc. The kitchen was generally well equipped. A second large pan would have been useful, and while there was a positively lavish array of plates, mugs, glassware, cutlery etc the relative scarcity of cereal bowls was a bit mystifying! The second fridge in the small utility room (off the lounge) was very useful for storing the gin and tonic :) ; watch out for the slightly eccentric lurch as you open the door. Or maybe that was just me.. hic. We had a bottle fall out of the door and smash. Luckily it wasn't the gin.
Outside space includes a small seating area at the front (less agile party members need to beware of uneven ground), a raised seating area out back (with visiting sheep!) and a garden at the side with lovely views. Getting to this is a bit tricky when wet as there aren't any steps down from the rear patio (would be a useful addition), however there is easier access via a side gate from the driveway.
Access to the house is up a steepish farm track which can be rather rutted after heavy rain, though running repairs were carried out while we were there, so it is obviously maintained. We managed ok with our vehicles, ranging from a vast VW tansporter to a more dinky honda jazz; just don't bring your treasured vintage aston martin and you'll be fine. When I first arrived I found the directions slightly confusing - you need to follow the black arrows - but the other party members seemed to manage Ok so I was probably just being dim.
The house is quite secluded, the nearest supermarket is on the outskirts of Hay, about 6 miles away. So bring supplies with you. We loved the super views and peaceful location and were keen to do lots of walking locally. We were a bit frustrated at first by the almost complete lack of footpath signs, and paths which seemed to exist only on the map and not in reality, so it would be great to have a few accessible routes detailed in the house information pack to get people started while they orientate themselves (we'd happily come back and map them for you ;).). We did find some lovely routes in the end and the views from the moorland behind the house are superb.
The owner Kathryn was absolutely lovely and came to check everything was OK bearing the most enormous cake. She also kindly brought up kindling and logs for the woodburner (yes I know it's supposed to be summer) which we didn't in the end use.
If you're after an outdoorsy break in a beautiful part of the world this could well be the place for you. It is great value for money, considering the size of our party and the fact that it was peak summer season.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you for your comments, I am glad you survived the rain and had fun! It's always really nice to see such a wide range of ages in parties of visitors, and I am glad that your Mum was comfortable in the second sitting room. Thank you for pointing out the lack of cereal bowls- we will ammend that asap! You are very welcome to come back and help plot out some walking routes, that's a really good idea: maybe a couple of trails for families with sign posts along the way!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucy D
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful situation in a relaxed atmosphere.”
Reviewed April 12, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Trowley is warm and cosy set in beautiful countryside. The facilities are great. It was easy to feed the 15 guests with the equipment in the kitchen. Great wifi but no phone signal without a short walk from the house. There were complaints about the showers but not from me. We did have a drain blockage from the dishwasher but easily unblocked. Towels were just hand sized so do bring big ones. The dog loved it! It is relaxed place for a super relaxing break. I loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The situation.
Liked least: Blocked drain.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klaudiaga...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing stay”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The pictures are not doing justice to this cottage. In real life it is so much better - very old house smelling of old wood and fireplace, beautiful and quirky. You feel a bit like you are entering another era, once you are stepping into the house. It also has a hand written book with history of restoration of it from ruins to today's state - interesting read with old pictures. Kitchen is well equipped and I loved the fact that all of us (12 pple) could seat around one table. Indeed kitchen was the place where we spent most of our time - true heart of the house. We loved the fireplace in the living room and were using it daily. Views and gardens surrounding the house were just stunning, and overall location very quiet and remote - just what you need for relaxing stay in the country. Note that if you are planning to walk from there to Hay - unless it is a one off and a half a day event - it is just a bit too far. We know as one of our friends tried it - and lets just say - he was quite hungry by the time he reached Hay:)
Katherine is a great hostess - it was a pleasure to deal with her as she is very helpful, responsive and genuinly nice - thank you for making our stay so nice! See you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catredgym
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Take your own loo roll, towels, tea towels and bleach”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

This farmhouse is set up a farm track, so well off the beaten track. this is the best thing I can say, that and the view. We were greeted by not a single scrap of loo paper anywhere - 11 of us for the weekend and the nearest shop God knows how far away! Also it would have been nice to know there were no towels provided, we had to do a mercy run to be able to cope for the weekend The beds are comfy and upstairs clean enough but the kitchen is dreadful. Mismatched crockery and the most disgusting cupboards. I found it uncomfortable being in there. There wasnt enough seating in one room for us all to sit down so unfortunately had to spend a lot of time in the kitchen. We made the best of the weekend, but it is certainly not up to a standard that you would expect, remote or not. Sorry I will not be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Dirty kitchen cupboards
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your weekend. We visit the house the evening of guest's arrival to check that everything is up to standard, and of course we would have been happy to lend you towels had we been aware that you had forgotten them. I am sorry that you were disappointed not to be able to all sit in the same sitting room, but as the house can sleep up to 16 people there are instead 2 adjacent sitting rooms which have met with people's approval. I have not had any complaints before about there being several different sets of crockery, and it has been commented on many times how great it is to be able to all sit round the kitchen table and eat together. My cleaning staff have a very good track record, but of course I will personally check that this continues to be the case.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trupti J
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Trawley farmhouse to celebrate my birthday. The location is brilliant, very peaceful. Kathryn was so friendly and welcoming. We were a party of 14 adults, 2 children and a dog. The place comfortable, clean and plenty of space for everyone. The place was kept ready and warm with the log burner. We ordered dinner on saturday evening from Kathryn's menu, being vegetarian's she cooked us some very delicious Vege dishes and the portions were very very generous. She baked me a very big chocolate cake twice!!! All in all a very relaxing and pleasant break. Everyone in my family enjoyed the warmth of the farmhouse! Thank you Kathryn !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, the cottage and Kathryn's hospitality
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 9, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The farmhouse kitchen
Liked least: Mattresses a little lumpy
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amber M
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent accomadation, beautiful scenery, a perfect weekend away”
Reviewed May 2, 2012 for a stay in April 2012

I booked Trowley Farmhouse for my hen weekend. The house easily accommodated 11 of us and had everything we needed to make our stay fun and comfortable. The cake on arrival was very special as well as the wood burners being lit. It was the perfect cosy wet weekend retreat, and we still managed a stunning walk on the Saturday. Every window from Trowley has a wonderful view, it felt like we were sitting on top of Wales! Will definitely be going back for more holidays. Thank you to the owners for their friendly and helpful correspondence throughout.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the farmhouse and the views
Liked least: cant think of anything?!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing