We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay at Apple House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marienne...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect stay at Apple House”
Reviewed April 7, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our long weekend at Apple House was great, the accommodation is beautifully laid out with great attention to detail and immaculately kept. The house has a beautiful outlook over fields, the owners were friendly and helpful. The house formed a great base from which to explore Brecon Beacons and Hay-on-Wye, but equally was very comfortable and nice just to chill out in.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luke D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relax and explore...”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just returned home from a fantastic 5 night stay at Apple House. The whole stay was very enjoyable, the cottage is very homely and had absolutely everything that we needed. The surrounding views of the hills and fields are beautiful. The location is very peaceful, quiet and secluded and the enclosed garden was perfect for our little dog. The owners, Richard and Caroline, were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay - providing us with a constant supply of firewood and some great tips on places to visit and eat locally. We would definitely visit again!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letts76
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peaceful and beautiful - perfect for getting away from everything”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

My husband and I stayed here recently for three nights and we loved both the cottage and its location. The cottage felt really spacious and was beautifully decorated. The butter, bread, eggs and welsh cakes that the owners supplied, was a nice touch. Both of the owners were very friendly and helpful. Caroline kindly lit the fire in the living room before we arrived, as we weren't due until the evening, meaning that it was lovely and warm when we did eventually get to the Apple House, and Richard was very helpful in assisting us in planning our walk in the Brecons.

The cottage is approximately 15 minutes from the town of Hay on Wye and Brecon, so it was a good base from which to explore, and its setting is lovely as it's surrounded by open fields - we couldn't hear any traffic, planes, trains, so it felt really tranquil. We will definitely look to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and decoration
Liked least: Bathroom being downstairs (if I had to choose something)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JWRIGLEY
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed February 14, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed here for the 2nd time just as lovely as the first time. Richard and Caroline make you really welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Cottage is set in lovely surroundings and has everything you need for a lovely break. Log burner most welcome on a cold February night. Lots of lovely walks
nearby. We will definitely be back next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely lounge with log burner and a fabulous view of the garden and fields
Liked least: The hot water tank wasn't very big - we had to be clever about scheduling showers
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SteveMars...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Like home from home”
Reviewed December 30, 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Lovely place in lovely setting. Once we got the heating sorted to our liking was a great place and the owners are really nice and friendly

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
schandl3
Wythall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Luxury Cottage in a quiet idilic location”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We found the Apple House was well equipped and furnished to a high standard. It has a spacious garden at the rear which was a great space for the children to play in. The house sits in 6 acres of land sharing it with the owners own house so very quiet and private. The house sits in a quiet village which is an ideal location to explore the Brecon Beacons area and we used it as a base for mountain biking, walking and generally exploring the area.
The cottage is a recently converted barn so loads of character and a home from home with 2 spacious bedrooms, a modern kitchen with everything you need for self catering and a cosy lounge with a wood burning fire and large rear doors opening into the garden. We thoroughly enjoyed our short break here and will no doubt be back again in the future.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing