We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic cottage in a great location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Apple House

Apple House cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apple House cottage
Garden Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
85 reviews
Apple House cottage
Garden
Living room
Kitchen
Main bedroom - king size bed
2nd bedroom - twin beds
Bathroom
View towards Black Mountains
View towards Hill Fort
View from cottage
Dining area - extendable table seats upto 6
From where we fish - 250 yards of single bank private fishing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Hay-on-Wye, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 85 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HarryOC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage in a great location”
Reviewed April 16, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stayed here with my kids aged 13 and 11 for 4 nights. The accommodation is excellent - clean,modern and very well thought out with everything needed. The setting is also superb with lovely views and great walks from the doorstep.
Made use of the fire pit and hammocks thanks to a mild,dry week. Owners Richard and Caroline were very welcoming and took time to ensure everything was OK. Llyswen is also a great base for exploring the Brecons as places like Llangorse,Talgarth and Hay-on-Wye are all close by. Doubt you'll find many places this good.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris-and...
Heanor, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful escape from real life!”
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

If you're wondering whether or not to book Apple House Cottage, stop wondering and get booking! The cottage is such a fantastic little escape - the website can't do it justice. The cottage is very well finished and appointed and you will feel at home within minutes of your arrival. Modern and airy, but cosy and warm at the same time. Caroline and Richard (and the girls) were extremely warm and friendly and welcomed us to visit the animals and the newly born lambs. It's a fantastic area for outdoor actvities - walking, riding, cycling, fishing, canoeing plus many more - or simply for hiding away from the real world if you wish. My son and I extended our stay for an additional day and now we're home we're planning our next visit later in the year. Huge thanks for Caroline and Richard for this lovely little retreat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful house and garden”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We had a fabulous time. The house is exceptionally clean, tastefully decorated, with all the modern conveniences. The garden is substantial, the kids loved it. The owners were very friendly and willing to provide local information, but not at all intrusive. The house is very well located to explore Hay, Talgarth and surrounds. The Wye river is withing walking distance. It's almost impossible to find a fault. It's perhaps worth considering that despite the rural location, the house is near a main road. However we were never aware of traffic noise and the views from the Apple House is over scenic countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
kate h
Towcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Our secret hideaway - we will be back”
Reviewed February 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We absolutley loved our stay at Apple House.
Richard and Caroline were so helpful and lovely people. We arrived to a lovely warm fire and basic essentials like bread, butter, homemade welsh cakes (we ate the lot) milk, tea, and coffee.
The house was perfect, we had lots of rain but that just made our stay more cosy.
Nearby were many different mountain walks. The views are stunning.
We will definitely be re turning.
Kate, Tammy, Carla, Jules and Hazel

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet, privacy.
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 9, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jaxxy_201...
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very peaceful setting - beautiful scenery”
Reviewed November 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Very clean cottage with everything you need and Richard very friendly and non invasive which is important - their dog Mollie is also lovely as are the horses. Richard had a log fire going for us when we arrived and the every day supplies were great. Cottage is of a high standard and very comfortable although sadly we were only down for a few days. Having a king size bed is also a huge bonus from most other places that have only a double and the linen is prisitne and plenty supply of towels. The shower is powerful and decent size and also the luxury of a bath. The garden is private to the cottage and has a hammock and seating areas although we didn't get the chance to use it. Every window has a different view and all have good views. We will def us it again should we be back shooting in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How peaceful it was
Liked least: Electric panel heaters
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing