We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly and welcoming”
other travellers have booked this property
Due to our success, we are delighted to be able to offer huge savings.
We'd love to welcome you!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Due to our success, we are delighted to be able to offer huge savings.
We'd love to welcome you!
A cosy comfortable lounge open plan to the kitchen.  Reclining 2 seat settee, dining table 4 chairs Well equipped kitchen with electric hob and oven, microwave, washer/dryer, kettle, toaster and iron
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Due to our success, we are delighted to be able to offer huge savings.
We'd love to welcome you!
A cosy comfortable lounge open plan to the kitchen.  Reclining 2 seat settee, dining table 4 chairs
Well equipped kitchen with electric hob and oven, microwave, washer/dryer, kettle, toaster and iron
Cosy open plan lounge with two seater, leather recliner
Dining table seats 4, invite 2 friends to dinner!
Fully tiled, spacious modern bathroom. Shower over the bath. Towels provided.
Super comfortable spacious double bedroom
View of Harpur Hill, our retreat is the White house in the center
Lots of walks and cycle tracks 5 minutes from you door
Historical Solomon's Temple is a 15 minute walk from our retreat
Harpur Hill Methodist Church is 5 minutes walk
Aerial view of our retreat
Interesting walks and sights in the immediate vicinity
No drink driving.  The Parks Inn is only 5 mins walk
Burlow Road playing field is a minute away, ours isthe white house in the trees above the goal posts
Interesting info for walkers and clyclists
Rear view of our retreat
The two top windows on the cream( right) side of the house is the retreat
Hill Head Quarry Show.  24th to 26th June 2014.  We're less than 10 minutes walk away
If you're visiting the Hill Head Quarry Earth Movers Show this year, 24th to 26th June, stay wi
Enjoy a little culture at Buxton Opera House and visit the Buxton Festival 11th to 22nd July
So many historic houses to choose from in the area.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene J
1 review
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed September 23, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Very clean and fresh. Everything you could want for a stay away from home. Very friendly and welcoming with a nice touch of providing bread,milk and butter also being able to make yourself a cup of tea on a arrival. Nice view across the peaks.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
A pleasure to have you to stay. You are always welcome back!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah S
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great holiday apartment in the Peak District.”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Geoff and Margaret’s retreat is a lovely apartment ideally situated to explore Derbyshire, Cheshire and Staffordshire. We received a warm welcome and were made to feel at home. The exceptionally clean and well equipped apartment has all the facilities needed to self cater for any length of time and there was even bread, milk, butter, tea, coffee and sauces to tide us over. The apartment was bigger than we expected with a lovely bathroom and a large double bedroom. Internet access is available in all rooms and there’s ample parking at the rear of the property. We had a great time and I would highly recommend Geoff and Margaret’s retreat as a base in the Peak District.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location convenient to visit Chatsworth House, Tatton Park and the Peak District
Liked least: Some traffic noise from the road but not during the night
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you for your wonderful detailed review. Our aim is to make our guests as comfortable as possible, offering them a little home away fro home.
Welcome back anytime!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janetteda...
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

i have to say we were very happy indeed with Geoff & Margarets retreat, it had everything you could possibly need and a few extra's, ie bread, milk ,butter and bottled water, and a very warm welcome, i will 100% be pass on the details to friends and family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you Janette! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and we welcome your friends and family anytime!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susanna I
1 review
“Really lovely apartment”
Reviewed May 25, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely little apartment, warm and cozy with everything you need to spend a few days away from the City.

Geoff and Margaret have been very welcoming and have been at our disposal. Highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you, Susanna.
We aim to please and our mission is to make our guests as comfortable as possible.
If you need another break from city life, you know where to find us!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
choccymum...
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little apartment”
Reviewed October 28, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Stayed at Geoff and Margaret's Retreat for 3 nights with my partner and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Everything we needed was there; including milk, bread and butter as a welcome pack. Cosy and warm and perfect for a couple. Metal stairs to get to the apartment were a little scary but that was just me (Karen) and could do with better signage to make it easier to find but apart from that it was all we could ask for and I would happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfy bed and fluffy duvet
Liked least: Metal staircase to get to the apartment.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Hello Karen. Thank you for your review and the constructive comment. We have acted upon this and the access has been upgraded and signage erected.
If and when you return, we are sure you will be happy. It is comments like this that assist us in offering the best retreat we can for our guests.
Hope to see you again one day!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mashipper...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and comfortable”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely apartment but access up a fire escape a bit tricky. Don't take large luggage! Would have appreciated being told that you can't see the house from the road [it's behind the other half of the semi] so we wasted time driving past and getting out to walk to find it. However, no complaints once we got into the apartment. Long walk into Buxton but there are buses during the day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thanks for your review. It's alway good to hear constructive comments.
We have now upgraded the access to the apartment and should anyone wish to bring large luggage, there is another entrance we can offer to make life easier when bringing in and taking out large items.
Also, we have erected a huge sign which can bee seen from the road. All of our clients spot this and drive straight to us. Thanks for the tip!
Hope to see you again sometime.
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean T
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very clean ane plesant acoo”
Reviewed September 14, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

very clean welcome pack on arrival, everything you would need supplied owners very friendly and helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
Thank you Jean! We take pride in our retreat and aim to upgrade every year to keep it fresh and appealing to new and return guests.
We'd love to see you again!
Geoff and Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing