We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (146)
Filter reviews
146 results
Traveller rating
128
15
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
128
15
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelle and paul town centre jacuzzi bath walk in wardrobe off road parking cooked to order period features a lovely stay high street b b's within walking distance perfect hosts would definitely stay here again train station comfortable room homemade jams on arrival
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 146 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Michelle and Paul have run this B&B for 14 years, and their experience definitely shows. A warm "home from home" feel, with so many nice touches ( front court parking, homemade jam, breakfast menu on arrival etc). Very central for all the work/attractions in the surrounding areas. If you need an antidote to sterile corporate chains, this will really please you. I liked the morning chat over breakfast with an equally pleased guest.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank ayeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2017

Well thank you for taking the time to review us at Banbury Cross B&B, after your stay this week. Very kind words indeed. We very much like the fact that you have noted our 'little touches', like the free front of house parking, our homemade jams and marmalade. We also have free Wi-Fi and as you say very close to the local amenities. Thank you once again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile

My wife and I recently stayed at the Banbury Cross B&B for 1 night while visiting family at the nearby Wroxton College. We highly recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Banbury. Everything was perfect-from the cleanliness of the room to a wonderful home cooked English breakfast. Beautiful garden in the back.

Run by a husband and wife team Paul and Michelle, we were warmly welcomed and greeted by their adorable dog Alfie.

Quick tip:  Alfie loves belly rubs!

We booked the king room--the room is huge and beautifully decorated. In the morning we had a full English breakfast cooked to order by Michelle. I highly recommend the homemade jams and marmalade.

A short cab ride from the Banbury Train Station and an easy walk into central Banbury including the Banbury Cross.

Highly recommended! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 954ronp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2017

We very much appreciated your very high praise. "Everything was perfect-from the cleanliness of the room to a wonderful home cooked English breakfast. Beautiful garden in the back" - thank you so much, this is what we wanted to achieve when we first moved here nearly 16 years ago. And as you say, we are very close to the train station 15-20mins walk, and the town is about 5 mins on a level walk, going past the famous Banbury Cross monument and the Lady on a White Horse, with the nursery rhyme around the stone plinth. Our little Alfie just loves people and yes he does like his belly rubbed but he is also quite happy, if you are not a dog lover, to keep his distance. We certainly hope to see you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 27, 2017

A warm welcome, beautiful bedroom, very comfortable bed, clean and pretty bathroom, delicious breakfast in lovely surroundings and a pretty garden. We loved staying here and will be back again. Would highly recommend. Thank you.

Room tip: The room with the king-sized bed downstairs was just perfect.
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2017

What a lovely review, thank you. It was a particularly lovely weekend last weekend, the weather was sunny and warm, it was nice to see guests enjoying the garden. You stayed in our King room with spa bath and shower, which is a very large room, with a Victorian style canopy over the bed, lots of storage and an oak panelled bathroom with a spa bath and shower options. I very much enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2017 via mobile

I stayed here for one night for work and was pleasantly surprised. The property is beautifully appointed and there is off street parking. It's a short walk from Banbury and the little dog Alfie is adorable

Date of stay: April 2017
Thank aoifeg215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2017

Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time. You stayed in our small single en-suite room, which overlooks the back garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 16, 2017

Banburry Cross offered excellent service, clean rooms and a lovely breakfast (including homemade marmalade)! Michelle kindly stayed up late to accommodate my late arriving train. It is also only 15 minutes walk to the train station.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle S, Owner at Banbury Cross Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2017

We very much appreciate you taking the time to review Banbury Cross B&B. As you say we are 15 mins walk from the train station (fairly flat walk, no hills). Our breakfast are cooked fresh to order, to guests specifications. And yes I do make all the Seville Orange Marmalade as well as the jams. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews