We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely oasis”
Review of Buttermilk Stud

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banbury
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Buttermilk Stud
Ranked #34 of 37 Banbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 November 2007

We've stayed at Buttermilk Stud three times now, which must say something in itself - twice on our own, and once with our youngest son and his partner. We've found it a charming, comfortable and relaxing oasis as we've traversed motorways across the country.

It is marvellously isolated and quiet, a limestone farmhouse down an avenue of trees in deep countryside but very convenient for main roads (Chipping Norton, Banbury, Oxford). George, Victoria and their young family are unfussily welcoming hosts. This is a real unpretentious family home and they are generous in allowing guests to feel that it is their home during the stay.

We've only been in summer - the gardens are a cottage-garden delight, with room to roam and obvious walks in most directions. The house is full of paintings - many by family members and friends - which gives a bright and stimulating ambience. The rooms are comfortable with everything necessary for an overnight stay, and en suite bathrooms. Breakfast is well-produced and ample, with lovely fresh fruit - and we had the Sunday paper. We haven't eaten there in the evening, but have been directed on various ocasions to two good local pubs (car necessary). The Falkland Arms at Great Tew is excellent - but you need to book.

We'll be back!

Peter & Maggie Lippiett

Stayed: August 2007
1  Thank PeterPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 2 November 2007

2 friends and I attended an art course in a nearby village and were recommended to stay here. What a lovely warm welcome! The tree lined drive up to the house is apparently underplanted with daffodils and must look beautiful in spring. It is surrounded by the most beautiful and peaceful countryside and the view from my bedroom window was to die for, not a house in sight. A very comfy bed and good quality bedlinen was much appreciated. Other people have commented on the cold but we all found the heating adequate and the roaring fires a great treat especially as there was one lit in the dining room each day when we came down to breakfast. Breakfast itself was delicious - stewed victoria plums from the garden, eggs from their hens and home made marmalade. We all found the children delightful. It was lovely to stay in a proper home.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susiew_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2007

Buttermilk Stud is accredited by the Wolsey Lodge B&B collection. These are advertised as being 'luxury' B&B's. Although Buttermilk Stud was perfectly pleasant, it was certainly not luxurious.

George and Victoria are very welcoming and this is a real family home. Although this gives it a lovely atmosphere, be aware that they have three children under five so anyone who wants to escape for some peace and quiet and a lie in should look elsewhere.

The property is the perfect base walkers, with a number of footpaths leading off from the grounds. When we returned from our walk on Saturday afternoon George brought us tea and cake in the drawing room. There was a lovely open fire and the Saturday papers so we were very happy!

Victoria told us about the local eateries and we were fortunate enough to secure the last table at The Falkland Arms in Great Tew. This is a fantastic little place, great atmosphere and delicious food.

Back to Buttermilk... Our double bedroom was pretty small and the furniture quite basic. The bathroom is bath only and guests are supplied only with soap. There was no hairdryer but George did find me one when I enquired. Our main gripe with the room was the temperature. The whole house is very cold and the radiators only seemed to be turned on for an hour or so morning and evening, never exceeding tepid. To make matters worse it was under the window so it was a choice between closing the (very thick) curtains or allowing some heat actually into the room. I slept in my pyjamas, socks and a couple of jumpers.

Breakfast was fine. There were no Sunday papers (which I have come to expect at Wolsey Lodges) but both my porridge and my husband's full English were very tasty. Shame that the orange juice was concentrated though.

All in all Buttermilk is a perfectly pleasant place to stay, but you can probably find somewhere a lot nicer for £80.

Stayed: January 2007
Thank Anna O'D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2006

The good first..

We met Victoria who showed us around the farmhouse and served us tea and cake. Later we met her partner George who is an artist and teacher and is both friendly and easy to talk to.

The farmhouse is very old, rambling and made of the local Cotswold stone.

It is a very relaxed atmosphere and you feel that you can wander around at will.

George explained where he thought the best eating places were in the area.

We had an excellent breakfast the next morning - fresh orange juice, cooked breakfast, toast, everything home made and probably organic.

The not so good bits:

Our bedroom, a double was rather small. The sink didn't have a plug (we coped for one night). The furniture and fittings were old but in a tired rather than charming way. But next door was a twin which was a much nicer room - so why weren't we offered a choice as nobody else was staying that night.

When the next morning I came to pay I was given the invoice. It was for £80 but the website we had booked under showed it is £75. I was told that the price went up at the start of the month but they were unable to update the website cost. Only a fiver I know but surely not good for customer relations.

The decor in general seemed tired and in need of general maintenance - for exaample the step into the breakfast area which was cracked in half, I would have expected to have been repaired/replaced.

The previous week we had stayed at a thatched house which was immaculate, in a pretty village and £10 a night less. So not great value compared with the surrounding b&b's I think.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixStowe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banbury hotels
12.3 km away
The Brasenose Arms
The Brasenose Arms
#1 of 1 in Cropredy
155 reviews
4.3 km away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Adderbury
452 reviews
4.6 km away
Deddington Arms Hotel
Deddington Arms Hotel
#1 of 1 in Deddington
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 km away
Mercure Banbury Whately Hall Hotel
7.3 km away
Best Western Plus Banbury Wroxton House Hotel
5.7 km away
Best Western Banbury House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buttermilk Stud? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buttermilk Stud

Address: Buttermilk Farm Barford ST, Banbury OX15 0PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Banbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Banbury
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Buttermilk Stud Banbury, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing