We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kindling Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Huge bed
Just add bubbles!
The Plough Inn  150 yards away!
Our local  Cosy as could be
Great range of local beers
Stalisfield Church
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ashford, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stanleyal...
Tours, France
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed November 21, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We enquired about a few days at this cottage rather than the standard week. The owners were very flexible, accommodating us and giving us a good price.

This beautiful cottage is accessed by some very narrow, winding lanes, so by the time you arrive you feel as if you are in the middle of the country - which you are ! However, with The Plough only a few minutes walk away, the village of Charing with essential amenities about a 5 minute drive, and easy access to the M20, Canterbury and Maidstone, you have everything you need.

We were warmly welcomed by our hosts and found fresh flowers and a basket of food available - milk, butter, eggs, lovely blackcurrant jam, etc.

The downstairs room of this cottage is well equipped with a good kitchen (lovely range cooker), a dining area and a sitting area. Upstairs the bedroom is very comfortable and the bathroom is beautiful. Everything is clean and well maintained.

We would certainly come again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort and cleanliness of the cottage, together with all the great equipment.
Liked least: For us, in November, we weren't keen on the driving through the narrow lanes in the dark.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oyster10
Kent
1 review
“Welcoming, comfortable and relaxing”
Reviewed November 8, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

This was our second visit to Kindling Cottage. We were not disappointed, the accommodation remains immaculate, and well equipped. We were are able find new walks the in surrounding countryside and enjoyed the local pub. Christine and Frank ane welcoming and helpful. A perfect place to relax and re-charge in comfort and peace.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily F
1 review
“Beautiful, welcoming place”
Reviewed October 20, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

An absolutely lovely stay in this beautiful cottage on our long weekend away. Frank and Christine were incredibly welcoming and very lovely people who provided us with eggs, bread and milk for breakfast the next morning, thought that was a lovely touch to our welcome. It also had everything else provided for us to cook. And if we didn't fancy cooking a great place practically next door called the Plough Inn. We came for a long weekend away to watch the racing at Brands Hatch and was great to come back for some relaxing evenings in. Kindling Cottage was so lovely I couldn't possibly complain about anything on our stay and would definitely love to come back to stay here for a week next time!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faraway19...
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed September 27, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Thank you to Frank & Chrissie for a wonderful relaxing week spent in your holiday home. The accommodation has everything you could wish for. Immaculate, top quality and so convenient for smashing local pubs and the towns of Kent.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCJ2012
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Perfect Cottage in Perfect Location”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Absolutely perfect - hope to return.
Would give this cottage 12 out of 10!!
Everything you could possibly want.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RickyTim
Croxley Green, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect away from it all break.”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were looking for somewhere to get away from it all, and Kindling Cottage fits the bill to a tee. Situated on the edge of a small village, but only a very short stroll from the excellent Plough Inn. The cottage itself is fitted out with all your needs and is of an excellent standard.
The owners, Frank and Chrissie could not have been more helpful, and the welcoming flowers and groceries were a lovely touch.
All in all a great week, we will return!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie B
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful rural retreat for two”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This is a perfect cottage, away from it all and set in the owners' beautiful garden. Chrissie and Frank are so welcoming and provide a very generous collection of goodies including milk, bread and eggs. The blackcurrant jam was delicious!! The cottage itself is very well appointed, having everything one could possibly need.

We would recommend this cottage to anyone who wants a moment of peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing