We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Keep

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Keep
Ranked #4 of 30 Yeovil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunblane
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just returned from a stay at The Keep, my daughter and I stayed in a twin room the room was excellent, the beds are the best I have ever experienced with top quality bedding. The room had everything you would want and the bathroom was luxurious, far better than any 5 star hotel. The owner greeted us and gave us some great tips on where to eat (The Mulberry) was fantastic as was the Italian (Trombolina) she recommended. The owner was extremly friendly but not in any way overbearing. We were staying at the hotel as we were visiting a venue for a wedding reception and I was interested in seeing the other rooms for our future wedding guests, we were shown most of the rooms the next day after checkout and every one was fantastic with the same quality of furnishings. I would highly recommend this boutique hotel you will not get better than this. We will be back.

Room Tip: Any room they are all brilliant but for the extra try the 2 storey penthouse suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMCDunblane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments, Best of luck with your wedding plans, I mentioned your interest to Garth at Mulberrys and he said he does do outside catering, private suppers etc incase your are interested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    49
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
91
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

This was perfect for us in all respects. Despite being at the front, it was quiet, the room was very spacious and stylish and we appreciated being able to park the car in the gated car park rather than in a public car park. The position is also superb, being steps away from shops and restaurants and only a few minutes walk from the cinema and Bowlplex. It's also next door to the library, banks and post office.

The staff were very friendly and it was useful to have access to the kitchenette with plates, cutlery, glasses etc.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ehzoyzdcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking time to review us, its much appreciated, and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

What a find. Beautiful decor, courteous staff, comfy bed and very tasty contintental breakfast. Highly recommend the Tower Suite (room 10).

Room Tip: The Tower suite is like a small apartment with all you need. Kitchen, sitting area,2 flat screen tv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Manager at The Keep, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for your kind review, I'm glad you liked the suite, its my favourite choice too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

A real gem of place. I have been travelling for 14 years to yeovil and tried this place for a change. Its brilliant, with amazing rooms. The standard of finish and the little touches make the place feel like home. We were well looked after, with a cracking slice of cake when we arrived.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Beyond our expectations. We stayed for two nights on March 03 and 04 of 2012. We were greeted by very friendly and helpful staff/owners. We encountered such attention to details and some unexpected amenities. Frist class. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay, it was lovely to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The nearby Tourist Information office gave us a list of local hotels and mentioned that this was nice but ' rather expensive'. It was only round the corner so we checked it out only to find it was actually very good value at £80 for the night with continental breakfast. We had driven a long way and it was great to have a luxurious place to stay that did not break the bank. The decor is modern with a high quality finish, plenty of space, a desk/dressing table plus a big sofa. Big enough bathroom and everything scrupulously clean. Nice breakfast served by the owner. We did not need to use the mini kitchens but they would really suit longer stays. Highly recommended. The owner also gave a great local restaurant tip - Mulberrys.

Room Tip: We faced the street but noise was not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

Second stay here, on business. Stayed in standard room first, but splashed out a very - no, exceptionally - reasonable £85 on the Tower Suite. Beautiful duplex rooms, with small kitchenette, two huge TVs and a bath in the upstairs bedroom. Everything in this small hotel is done right. Thick carpets, beautifully decorated, quiet, and friendly, genuinely personal service. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dermotcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thekeephotel, Owner at The Keep, responded to this review, 28 December 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to review the Keep, and for coming back! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yeovil hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Yeovil Town Centre Hotel
0.2 km away
The Manor
The Manor
#10 of 13 in Yeovil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
4.5 km away
Lanes Hotel
Lanes Hotel
#1 of 1 in West Coker
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 km away
Ash House Hotel
Ash House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Martock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
1.3 km away
The Preston Hotel
The Preston Hotel
#8 of 13 in Yeovil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.5 km away
Terrace Lodge Hotel Yeovil
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keep

Property: The Keep
Address: 8 South Street, Yeovil BA20 1QE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Yeovil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Yeovil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Keep 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keep offers luxurious, comfortable rooms right in the centre of town. Well designed and spaciously appointed, travellers will enjoy the boutique feel to the rooms, the warm welcome and the convenience of having the towns amenities only a stones throw away With a variety of accommodation on offer from self catering to luxury suites we meet the modern travellers needs with the option of room only, continental Breakfast included or a traditional Full English, your preferences are considered throughout your stay ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Keep reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing