We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good hotel with fantastic views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burlington Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Burlington Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
North West England
Level Contributor
53 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good hotel with fantastic views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed for one night and decided to pay extra for an 'executive room'. We were allocated room 202 on the first floor. The room was huge and because it was on the corner, afforded dual aspect views - one out onto the sea, and the other along the promenade - fab! The windows in the room do open, but it's a shame that you cannot go out on to the balcony for 'health and safety' reasons.

Staff were very friendly and welcoming and check-in was efficient. The hotel made a small charge for daily parking permits, and we managed to find spaces directly outside the hotel. Although the hotel is situated on the prom, it is about a 10-15 minute walk from the centre of Worthing and other tourist attractions like the pier. The hotel has recently been refurbished with modern decor. I'm not certain it works as the hotel is a grand old Victorian building, and whilst I'm not against mixing old and new, the modern furnishings looked rather cheap (think neon plastic 'chandeliers' and leatherette sofas); and the room itself was not especially practical (no mirror above the desk - had to do my hair stood on my tiptoes - I'm 5'10"- in order to see into the very high mirror situated above the radiator). Nevertheless, the bed was comfy and the room was clean. The bathroom was a bit basic in comparison to the room - more like something you'd find in a budget hotel, but everything worked and there was a full-sized bath.

Breakfast was fine - a fairly good selection, and again the breakfast room (which is the bar at night) affords the great views of the sea front.

I'd stay here again for the views, but lay off the neon chandeliers!

Room Tip: Pay extra for an executive room - well worth the extra £40
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trainsandpiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    88
    42
    34
    33
See reviews for
67
87
18
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I had a lovely big room, and as I requested, a full view of the sea.The room and bathroom were simple but adequate. At the weekend there can be some noise from the entertainment on the ground floor, but my room was on the second floor and I was not disturbed. There was a nice, busy and lively bar and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the bright dining room, looking at the sea was very good, and there were newspapers to read.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wa1n_gar0_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at the Burlington as we attended a family wedding in Worthing. The hotel was of a good standard and I think we had the same room as Bev a previous contributer as the decor in our room was wonderful and the double aspect view of the sea was stunning! The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom with equally stunning views but I did feel it better for my modesty to close the blinds in this room! The staff were fantastic and friendly - nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel was very clean and tidy and although we had been warned about the noise level from the onsite music venue, we were not disturbed at all and did not need the complimentary ear plugs! Breakfast was fine though it would have been nice to have a pot of tea on the table and not have to go and make your own fom a machine! Hoever that was a minor inconvenience. I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise from the bar and the corner rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

If you have stayed in hotels in Britain before, this one is nothing out of the ordinary. The rooms have apparently recently been renovated but the standard is very basic. The wardrobe nearly came apart when I opened it and the coat hangers broke. Shower cabinet was very cramped, even for me being a skinny guy.
Staff on the other hand is very friendly and the restaurant, Gio's, on the ground floor serves up great dinner and breakfast. Location-wise the hotel is right on the seafront which is an upside when it comes to the views but a downside when it comes to noise. The hotel offers all guests a pair of earplugs which sure comes in handy. At the time of my travel, the neighboring property was undergoing major reconstruction which added to the noise.

Room Tip: Executive rooms are, from what I've been told, well worth the upgrade. Rooms facing seafront are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Starbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I read a lot of these reviews before I booked by night at the Burlington, some were very bad and I almost didn't book it. However, someone did put a great review recently so I thought I'd give it a go. I am so glad I did.

I booked an executive room for night and was given the Art Decco room right at the front of the hotel and it was gorgeous. The decor was wonderful, the bed very very comfy (if a little low but that's just me) and the view was brilliant. I sat and watched the sun droop lazily to the horizon with the windows open, listening to the sea lap the shore and the birds swoop and scream their distinctive seaside scream.

The staff were as helpful as any of the five star hotels I've stayed in, the room spotless, the bath divine and deep and the hot water abundant.

The only one criticism was that the cleaning staff left the shower head pointed out of the bath and when I turned the shower on in the morning, I was engulfed in hot spouty water.....much to my partners amusement....lol.

I can't recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: The executive rooms are all themed and excellently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bev L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zug, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Burlington for 2 nights 30-31st December 2011. My parents recommended the Hotel as they live locally - we weren't disappointed. The staff are extremely friendly, professional and efficient. The seafront bar is modern, relaxing and has great views. The Breakfast experience in the morning was also excellent. There has obviously been money invested in the decor and facilities in both the public areas and the bedrooms. We'll be back soon - in the summer next time.

Room Tip: We were in the suite at the front South West corner of the building on the first floor which was exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ham224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

I stayed at the Burlington for a family birthday party. The room was excellent - roomy and spotlessly clean. Nice bathroom - the bath filled up quickly and there was plenty of hot water. Our bathroom had a low ceiling and so there wasnt a hook at 'over-your-head' height for the shower attachment. This may have got annoying for more than a two night stay. Breakfast was fantastic, the staff were polite and helpful without being pushy. Definitely would stay again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Worthing hotels
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Worthing Seafront Hotel
1.1 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.4 km away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#5 of 11 in Worthing
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.2 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.2 km away
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington Hotel

Property: Burlington Hotel
Address: Marine Parade, Worthing BN11 3QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Burlington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and Booking.com so you can book your Burlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Worthing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing