We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Me and my partner stayed here when we visited my family and the service was excellent. We reached Worthing before our check in time so the staff stored our luggage for us so that we could come back later. They explained everything to do with getting into the hotel late at night and times for breakfast etc.
The staff were really helpful and friendly. The room was a much greater size to other hotels I've stayed in. The bed was so comfortable we skipped breakfast because we didn't want to get out!
We didn't eat at the hotel for dinner either during our stay because we'd already made other arrangements but next time we will definatly consider this option.
The stay for us was really nice and made our trip very good. We'll definatly be booking again in the future!

Room Tip: Room 7 was good! Quiet & comfortable. The room is in the corner so it is spaceous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AuntEzzyLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    83
    58
    52
    65
See reviews for
94
115
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I would never go there again food is dry and tough roast pots don't taste like pots very very bad

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Babycani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Worthing hotels

Essex
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Dusty room. Cramped room. Large skylight with no covering so fine for an early riser! Mouldy shower. No fire safety information in room. No night porter or contact in case of emergencies at night. Badly managed. Struggle with my bags to annex - no assistance was offered. Hideous carvery. No waiter at breakfast. Poor food hygiene practises witnessed. Walls in bedrooms are paper thin. Got a full refund and no sleep :-(

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank daisy4223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Lovely building, very friendly staff, carvery not my thing but had v nice meal off the menu.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonluci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed for one night only, in this beautiful old building. I live local and have always looked up the hill and admired this wonderful building on top of our south downs and wanted to stay here. To be frankly honest, I was very dissapointed! The rooms do not reflect the advertised rooms on line, what you actually get are dirty rooms, with cheap furnishings. The wardrobe door hanging off it's hinges an will not stay shut, there were sticky patches from a split drink all over the bedside table and the bathroom was not clean, the toilet had not been flushed from the last user, there was hair in the dirty bath, the only thing that was clean, was the linen! The resaurtant was not much better, the cutlery was dirty, the menu also tired and dirty, we ordered food off the menu, which was good, the breakfast from the buffet was ok. The service from the staff was friendly enough when you could find them, there was a booking error, but had no contact from the hotel at all to inform us that we could not have the room we had booked. All in all, we made the most of our stay but will definately not recommend this hotel and will not visit again. How it earned 3 stars is beyond me

Room Tip: I cannot recommend this Hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

we spent one night here last week, room was great, service brilliant, food second to none. it is a beautiful old house that sits in lovely countryside, the only downside for us was that it is miles away from the main beaches and shopping area of worthing. we set off to walk and after about 1 hour we still had not come across shops and such like. we ended up getting a taxi back and cost us nearly 10 pounds so it shows just how faraway the hotel is, but everything considered it was a lovely place to stay and will be going back next year but will check the bus routes out first.

Room Tip: our room was good nothing to moan about at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crumble50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

That's the expression isn't it?
When writing a less than good review, it's always polite to start with the good points!
So there they are Location x 3!! Lovely views of the South (and the sea some 2 miles away) from the rolling hills that make up "The South downs".
The building itself is old and charming, many period features being retained and the adjoining (public) gardens beautiful!

Now the bad - well that would be everything else and I don't know where to start.
So room(s) are in a separate building behind the main building where restaurant and reception is located.
What you see in ALL the pictures - is NOT where you stay! To get to the rooms you will be walking across the driveway, through a cloud of cigarette smoke, (and rain if wet).

"The room" in question - no soap, no hot water in the morning (available later in the day apparently) bathroom fixtures loose. TV remote broken and not working correctly - held together with tape. Bed old and in need of replacement - springs at least. Furnishings poor and cheap quality. Not fully cleaned!

Reception - hard to attract attention, although the staff are friendly enough.

Food "carvery" sounds wonderful - overcooked food kept warm for hours is the reality, breakfast suffers the same - who wants a fried egg thats been left for who knows how long swimming in oil?

More details would reveal more of the same - seems that the sales pitch is aimed mainly at weddings on a (tight) budget - "£999 gets you all this" shouts the sign at the entrance!

I suppose for a budget wedding those attendees wouldn't notice the shortcomings - dare I suggest due to drinking and not knowing better?

AVOID - there are much better establishments in the area. But DO make a point of visiting the gardens - FREE (donations if you choose), also the walk to a rather unusual grave stone, along the top of the hill...

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank indigoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Worthing
5.0 km away
Travelodge Worthing Seafront
5.2 km away
Findon Manor Hotel
Findon Manor Hotel
#4 of 11 in Worthing
372 reviews
5.6 km away
Chatsworth Hotel
Chatsworth Hotel
#6 of 11 in Worthing
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
Grand Victorian Hotel
Grand Victorian Hotel
#10 of 11 in Worthing
228 reviews
4.7 km away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#8 of 11 in Worthing
297 reviews
2.7 km away
Angmering Manor
Angmering Manor
#1 of 1 in Angmering
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant

Property: The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Littlehampton Road, Worthing BN12 6PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Worthing
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Worthing
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Highdown Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highdown Hotel And Restaurant
Highdown Hotel Worthing

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing