We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just this afternoon”

The Lych Gate Tavern
Ranked #1 of 46 Nightlife in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed March 15, 2017

The craft beers hold their own in the midst of the other pubs in the area, as well as bottles from Belgium (Kwak is a fav). This historic pub has a nice beer garden a nice atmosphere and is well worth the visit.

Thank Witchmedow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2017

Thank you....you are very kind....come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"cobs"
in 32 reviews
"black country"
in 19 reviews
"real ale"
in 12 reviews
"proper pub"
in 10 reviews
"city centre"
in 12 reviews
"wonderful pub"
in 4 reviews
"guest beers"
in 3 reviews
"plates and cutlery"
in 2 reviews
"filled rolls"
in 2 reviews
"ale pub"
in 2 reviews
"black pudding"
in 4 reviews
"quality ales"
in 2 reviews
"excellent beer"
in 2 reviews
"nicest pub"
in 2 reviews
"ham"
in 5 reviews
"down stairs"
in 4 reviews
"beer garden"
in 3 reviews
Filter

36 - 40 of 149 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2017

There are always a good range of guest beers available, where you can always ask for a taster if you are unsure. It does get busy on match days but don't let that put you off, as service is always brisk

Thank Bill_1962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you very much for your concise review which is a lovely summary of the LGT. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2017

Visiting on a Tuesday night for the monthly pub quiz; This was our first Lych Gate quiz night and we thought it was great. We were nowhere near winning, but good fun was had by all.

The bar staff were/are super friendly and the people that ran the quiz did a good job too.

I would have given this a 5/5 but there were a couple of drawbacks, in my opinion:

- One round was very niche (history), to the point where it was hard to enjoy it.
- I can't really (safely) drink ale due to being vegan and I wasn't a fan of any of the lager that they had.

Despite the caveats, like I said, I had a great time and the staff were lovely and that's why I'll go again next month.

Highly recommended.

Thank iTomCash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you very much....Hayley's quiz nights are great. We do often have vegan acceptable ales on offer in our pubs, as there is a small but significant number of people who appreciate them, and we will discuss your comments at our next board meeting to examine whether we can improve on this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 5, 2017 via mobile

Tucked away little gem of a place with a large selection of real ales and a true pub feel. Also the prices are very good considering the central location.

Thank mikejthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

Thank you....your comment about a "true pub feel" sum up exactly what we strive for. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 21, 2017

I bumped into the Lych Gate whilst out in Wolverhampton with a friend. The range of beers was extensive and the whole place oozed atmosphere. It was a Saturday and the lone bar waitress was somewhat overwhelmed with the numbers of punters in the place, but that wasn't her fault. It was raining and cold, so we didn't use the outside facilities, but we'll be back on a warmer, drier day.

Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2017

That's really good to hear.....the LGT is a delightful little city oasis in summer, and a very popular spot. Come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lych Gate Tavern also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Bilston, Wolverhampton
 

Been to The Lych Gate Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing