We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it”

The Lych Gate Tavern
Ranked #2 of 42 Nightlife in Wolverhampton
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

A gem of a place with great real ales and a wonderful friendly atmosphere. We always head for here before and after going for a meal in town. Very reasonable prices too!

Thank mikejthomas68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Great to hear....thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Very good hostelry with excellent landlord and bar team. Three Black Country Ales, the owners, beers are always on, plus a further six changing on cask. There's also a real cider on hand pump. All the beers our party tried were perfectly kept. Does cobs at lunchtime, but there's a friendly blackboard outside inviting stating customers are welcome to bring in their own hot or cold food. Beer garden to rear, so no need to go out on the street if a smoker.
All toilets are upstairs, but there is a lift, making the pub disabled friendly.
Well worth changing allegiance into Wolves fans for three hours to get in ;-). (City Council has ridiculously excessive licencing regulations banning away fans from most city centre pubs. Our party of six, with an average age pushing sixty, managed to restrain itself from committing any anti-social acts of hooliganism and concentrated on supping quality beers instead.)

Thank 11diner11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Thank you, what lovely comments. Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We looked for a pub with a historic background, recognised by CAMRA and close to the canal, We hit the jackpot!! What an amazing pub with a real old pub feel about it and the beer was second to none. Hayley and Dave made themselves known and the staff very friendly. We have been on a canal boat for four months and this place was one of a handful of pubs we would love to come back too.

Thanks again - Brian and Jenn

Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Glad you enjoyed yourselves.....and we hope your boat is moored alongside us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I use this pub every time I am in Wolverhampton has I love the atmosphere and there is always a good selection of the different Ales available.
I was there Saturday night 8th July and they had Megan Reece from the voice singing/performing outside in the beer garden which was a nice surprise.
I would recommend you pay a visit to this pub when you are in Town.

Thank Garry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Thank you for your very kind words. Come back very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

It's a beer shop, pure and simple. About 10 real ale pulls (plus gassy rubbish) of all calibres. Bar staff try to please (and succeed) but gaffers should be less restrained (i.e. they gravitate towards regulars). Canned music, albeit soto voce, tends to irritate: ambience is golden, a la George Orwell! All ales are really well kept (with perhaps the intrusion of nitrogen?) and averagely priced. All ​in all, a good place to meet friends. 4*

Thank greeelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BCAles, Owner at The Lych Gate Tavern, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Thank you for taking time to review us. You can rest assured that nitrogen is never used. We will alert the licensees to your comments which are much appreciated. We hope you will visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Lych Gate Tavern also viewed

Wolverhampton, West Midlands
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 
Bilston, Wolverhampton
Wolverhampton, West Midlands
 

Been to The Lych Gate Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing