We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really impressed”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #3 of 85 Restaurants in Weybridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$33
Cuisines: Gastropub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Queen's Head was built in the mid 18th century and has been both a coach house and courthouse (complete with its own gallows) before becoming a pub many years ago. Step inside and the character of the building is felt in the cosiness of the snugs, the welcoming bar, the warming open fireplaces and the lovely low ceilings. Our open kitchen shows we are as serious about our food as we are about our ales - the menu features French brasserie dishes with an English pub twist and everything is cooked fresh on the premises. We have a delightful, professional team here to greet you and make sure your visit is relaxing and memorable.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

My wife, daughter and I had dinner on sat evening. We were really impressed with the quality of food and service. Best beef stroganoff I’ve ever had. We ordered before 6:30pm so got 2 courses for £11.95 which given how good the food was, it was decent value. I like how the service charge is 10% too. Anything over that really annoys me. We’ll definitely be going back.

Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hello Michael R

Thanks for your review we are glad that you and your family enjoyed your meal here a few weeks ago. We all agree the beef stroganoff is delicious - we reckon it is the cornichons that give it the edge....the set menu changes today - so do pop by and try something else.

Pleased also that you did not find the service charge offensive, we ensure that 100% of service goes to our staff that look after you.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thanks again

Harriet Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 575 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2018

We visited the Queen’s Head on Sunday 14th. The service was good, the restaurant was quite noisy as we were sat quite close to the open fronted kitchen.
The 3 of us enjoyed lunch but my wife & I thought it was pricey especially as a 10% service charge is added automatically to the bill. A 125 ml glass of white wine cost more than £6!
Obviously a popular place to go for lunch on a Sunday as there quite few people, not full but not far off. Friendly staff
Sorry unable to rate service, food & value below as boxes will not work?
So here instead service very good - food good - value average we thought on the pricey side

Thank AidGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hi AidGriff

Thank you for writing a review on our pub, sorry that your guest questionnaire appeared not to work, making it impossible to rate us - we have had a few techy issues - I'll follow it up.

We are really pleased that your and your wife enjoyed your lunch here, sorry if you thought it was a little pricey, we aim to keep our prices down as much as possible yet without compromising on the quality of the ingredients..we offer a great value set lunch menu that runs Mon-Sat - two courses for £11.95 - the feedback that we get from that is fantastic. Similarly to the food, our wine list is carefully selected to ensure that we offer a wide range of wines in varying price brackets with our house wine starting at £3.60 per 125ml glass - it's very palatable too!

The service charge although added to the bill it IS discretionary, so should you return and not wish to pay it just let us know and it'll be whisked off your bill.

Thanks again for such a nice and constructive review.

I look forward to meeting you in the future.

Kind regards

Harriet Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 14, 2018

What great food, excellent service and priced really well. We will be back for sure. The restaurant is buzzing with life.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aidanlee1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2018

Hi aidanlee

How nice that we were able to provide a decent environment for a well deserved child free date 'night'.

Thanks for the review, it was really nice to receive it, I have passed on your comments to the team.

Next time you need some R&R just swing by, we'll look after you.

Thanks again

Harriet Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

I have been here a couple of times and frankly it is far too pricey for what you actually get. Cosy and homely but service leaves a little to be desired.

3  Thank marathonSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2018

Hi marathonSurrey

It was disappointing to read that you have been here a few times and have on each occasion felt like you have not received good value for money....

We try very hard to have a well balanced (and priced) menu and drinks list to ensure that we have something to offer everyone for any occasion - whether it is a quick snack in the pub or a special ' going all out' celebration in the brasserie.

I am sorry that you found the service not up to scratch - we generally get fantastic feedback about our service, we all work hard to ensure that we have a great team who are not only professional and well trained but also have great personalities....and care about what they do, so I was a little surprised with your comment.

I do hope that you will give us another opportunity to showcase what we do here at The Queen's, should you wish to let me know a little more about your visits, please do pop by for a coffee with me.

Hope to see you again

Best wishes
Harriet Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

A group of us went for dinner on Saturday evening and really enjoyed our meal. The service was friendly and efficient and the food was was very good. We had bread and tomato pesto, which was delicious, followed by mussels, which everyone enjoyed. Some of the group had steaks, which they said were perfectly cooked, and others had the fish curry, which was really nicely spiced. There was a great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant.

Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queens H, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Hi Catherine

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review, and such a lovely one!

I have passed your comments on to the team (well, actually they have a gander at Trip Advisor the minute they get into work) from Saturday evening and they were really pleased that they got such positive feedback.

Your group seemed to have chosen well, the Malabar fish curry - a newish addition to the menu but already a firm favourite, the steaks are always great!

Please pass our regards on to the group you came with, and we look forward to looking after you again in the not too distant future.

Best,

Harriet Walker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

 
Weybridge, Surrey
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing