We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what you'd expect from Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Warrington
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
UK
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Not what you'd expect from Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for the weekend 2nd-4th March and was close to where we wanted to be. Having booked the hotel through Hotwire, we got it for approx £66 for the weekend- not bad at all.

As other people have commented this is NOT what you'd usually expect from Holiday Inn. In areas the hotel is looking tired and run down. The room itself was a decent size, comfy bed & a large bathroom, all clean. The furniture in the room looked tired and could do with replacing but everything worked.

We had breakfast which we booked the night before (£9.95 each otherwise £13.95 on the day) VERY poor standard and not as good as other Holiday Inns. If you want breakfast, use the Premier Inn over the road £7.95 each and far better quality.

Breakfast is what let this hotel down and the general poor up keep.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank repb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, ihgcare at Holiday Inn Warrington, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Dear Repb9,

I would like to thank you for your review and apologize that your experience with our hotel did not meet your expectations. I have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Regards,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

610 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    219
    167
    66
    37
See reviews for
125
144
32
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed just one night on a business trip in the area.
This hotel provides a good value for money for business accomodation.
Rooms are quite large for local standard and clean. The restaurant is good with a good selection for a dinner (i can't imagine what could happen if you stay form more dinners ...) and imho the 20 pounds voucher for 2 courses is a really good option.
Only one downside you have to pay for the internet connection
The hotel has a good location for a business trip in the area with a convenient parking area, or if you do not have a car it takes a 30pounds ride from the Manchester airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glawen_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

I stopped in this hotel for 2 nights on business, after reading the reviews on here I was not expecting much, however I was pleastantly suprised, the room was quite large and had 2 double beds in, it also had a large flat screen TV. The bathroom was clean, but could do with some modernisation, but the room itself was excellent. I ate both nights in the restaurant and the food was very nice, although not michellin star food.

The staff were excellent and could not do enough to help, but be careful about exiting on the morning, as you need a code to exit the car park, which is not very well displayed in reception.

It's not an all singing all dancing hotel, but for the price is excellent value, it is good for short business trips or small family vacations

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigSnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

don't expect too much from this holiday inn - it is rather simple. Room size is OK, but the furniture needs some modernization - the wardrobe was old and below IKEA standard. The food in the restaurant was good, but the did not have all the wines which are listed on the menu. The breakfast was standard nothing special - the coffee was just awful.
The location of the hotel is quite good, very close to the motorway.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zum_fettigen_joe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

A simple one night business stopover and thats probably all this place is suitable for.

Checkin was simple and pleasant, room ok but bathroom in need of modernisation. Ate Dinner in the hotel and food was fine but service unattentive and unprofessional (few language issues with non native english speaking waitress). We ate a la carte as buffet looked way past its best (it was 9pm in their defence but why not clear it away - it looked terrible and made me unneccessarily nervous about eating there at all).

Again breakfast was the usual affair but service poor - staff just chatting and shouting/swearing loudly in the kitchen.

I come to Warrington on business a fair bit so would stay here again for the odd night due to the reward scheme HI have - but not my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

On our travels once again, was in Manchester for my daughter to attend Great Britain Juniors trials, and at the time of booking this hotel offered one of the best prices around within a reasonable distance. Stayed here on 18th December 2011.

Although reasonable helpful, the staff member on reception wasn't exactly cheerful. She kindly pointed out the nearest pub where we could get a less expensive meal (always find holiday inns expensive and need to save the pennies where we can) - it was only about 5 mins walk away and offers a good 2 for £10 menu, ideal as I had my 14 and 11 years daughters with me.

The room was clean and comfortable, with a choice of pillows on the bed - although I always tend to bring my own to try and make sure I have the best chance of a good nights sleep. The sofabed wasn't made up on checkin but within a few minutes someone came to the room to make it up for us :)

As far as the room was concerned I made the error of not requesting a change as soon as I realised it was on the main road side - buses and traffic pretty constant until late on. The biggest black mark was the wadge of hair in the bath plug hole obviously overlooked on whatever cleaning took place! Yuk!!!

Cost wise was not too happy to be charge £9.95 each for myself and my 14 year old for breakfast, though my 11 ate for free. For that price was hoping for a good brekky but it turned out only to be acceptable. I've had better FREE breakfasts this year and many, such as Premier Inn, where for £7.95 myself and TWO kids eat free and the food and choice was better. If I stayed here again I would SKIP the breakfast and find somewhere else to eat.

Overall, apart from the hair in the plughole, it was a reasonable and comfortable stay. If there was a next time I'd certainly want to opt for a room on the opposite site of the building away from the main road noise.

Room Tip: You need to ask for a room on the opposite side from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyajsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Room was lovely and clean and very comfortable. However we stayed here as somewhere to get our heads down to break up a journey, it was a Friday night and a party had been going on in the conference room, music was really loud and then noise continued until 4am with people banging on the doors. No staff would do anything about it! Which was a shame because the reception staff were lovely, just let down by the night time staff.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Warrington hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Warrington hotels
2.7 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#5 of 21 in Warrington
1,266 reviews
5.7 km away
Village Hotel Warrington
Village Hotel Warrington
#9 of 21 in Warrington
1,781 reviews
3.6 km away
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
Hallmark Hotel Warrington
#11 of 21 in Warrington
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,450 reviews
8.6 km away
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
Travelodge Warrington Gemini
#7 of 21 in Warrington
304 reviews
7.0 km away
The Gullivers Hotel
The Gullivers Hotel
#10 of 21 in Warrington
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Warrington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Warrington

Property: Holiday Inn Warrington
Address: Garden Court Woolston Grange Avenue | Woolston, Warrington WA1 4PX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warrington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Warrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Warrington 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1St July 2014 marks the launch of FREE Standard internet for All IHG Rewards Club Members. Membership is free and enrolling takes just 3 minutes. What's more the benefits are instant! Ideally located within the M6, M62 and M56 motorway interchange, Holiday Inn Warrington provides the ideal base for all areas of the North West region for both Corporate and Leisure travellers. *Kids stay & Eat Free. Holiday Inn Warrington is located at Junction 21 off the M6 and is adjacent to Birchwood Business Park, Warrington's premier business location. The hotel is set in the ideal position for exploring the North West and its cities such as Manchester and Liverpool. Attractions in the area include Haydock Park Race Course, Gulliver's World Theme Park and we are at the gateway to the Lake District. The famous shopping outlets of Cheshire Oaks, Trafford Centre and Gemini Retail Park (Ikea and Marks & Spencer) are close by. Within easy reach of the hotel are the many sporting venues and clubs: Manchester United, Manchester City, Liverpool, Everton, Wigan, Warrington Wolves, The Saints, Veladrome Arena. Our Conservatory Restaurant offers contemporary cuisine, buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner with a choice of menus. The Junction bar serves beverages and bar snacks in relaxed surroundings. *Terms & Conditions Apply ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Warrington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Warrington Hotel Warrington
Warrington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Warrington UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing