We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend”
Review of Rockmount

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rockmount
Ranked #3 of 25 Tavistock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Small B& B but very organised. Compact room but well designed and thought out. Terrific shower pressure. Nice touches,with coffee machine and fresh milk for your tea. Breakfast in your room but at your convenience. Lovely breakfast menu, beautifully cooked.Liz the owner very, very obliging. Well worth a stay. Well located. Easy walking to the town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

272 - 278 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

This is a great b and b in a very convenient place with rooms well designed and furnished. Very comfortable indeed. Liz is very welcoming and helpful as well as providing a great service. I look forward to the opportunity of staying there again soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We would highly recommend this b&b after our 2 night stay here.

The decor is modern and gives a luxurious feel. The bed was really comfortable, with great quality bedding. The en-suite bathroom was small but perfectly adequate and again, beautifully decorated and a lovely rain shower. Breakfast is served in the room and was delicious and filling and served with a smile by Liz, who runs the place. She made us feel very welcome and gave very helpful tips as to good cafes and restaurants locally. The nespresso coffee machine in the room was a bonus!

The b&b is just a short stroll from the town centre of Tavistock so we haven't needed our car at all for going to the market, exploring the shops and going out to eat.

This place deserves top marks in all respects. We don't normally bother leaving trip advisor feedback but feel that this place really deserves it. Well done and thank you for an excellent 2 night break away from our 2 year old daughter!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surreyhobbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Really lovely bed and breakfast. Nice to have breakfast in our room at any time to suit and our special diet was not any problem. Liz was very kind and thoughtful which was very much appreciated because our visit was because of a dear friend's funeral - thank you

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Excellent b and b, better than the local hotels in terms of quality of room fittings, general feel. Lady in charge was lovely and provided breakfast in room at any time requested. Great service highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catmageddon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This was a perfect place to stay during our 4 days in Tavistock. From the friendly welcome by Tony on arrival and thereafter by Lizzie until departure we could not have asked for more. The room was beautifully and stylishly decorated, extremely comfortable and peaceful. Breakfast, served at a time of your choice, was served with a warm greeting and was delicious and perfectly presented. It was very relaxing having breakfast in your room looking out onto the garden and surrounding view. Attention to detail to cover all your needs was clearly apparent in the room and en-suite. Would not hesitate to book again when next in the area. Perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms were of a very high standard, the only difference being the size of the en-suite. All room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the Rockmount for a long weekend in December on the recommendation of my employer. I have to say, that even though I was expecting a lovely stay - everything about this lovely B&B exceeded my expectations!

The rooms were off such a high quality...gorgeous fixtures and fittings, lovely linens on the bed...far better than some 4/5 star hotels that I've stayed in! Tony, the gentleman who runs/owns the place was exceptionally charming (in a warm and genuine way). Nothing was too much trouble for him...It's far to say he gave his time and advice on the local area graciously. You can tell this is a man who takes great pleasure in what he does for a living...

I would highly recommend this small, yet exceptionally good B&B to anyone visiting the Tavistock area. I will certainly be staying again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LML72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tavistock hotels
0.5 km away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
351 reviews
0.5 km away
The Duke of Tavistock
The Duke of Tavistock
#2 of 5 in Tavistock
230 reviews
4.1 km away
Horn of Plenty
Horn of Plenty
#1 of 1 in Gulworthy
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Bedford Hotel
The Bedford Hotel
#5 of 5 in Tavistock
530 reviews
0.1 km away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#4 of 5 in Tavistock
176 reviews
0.6 km away
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
Apple Tree Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Tavistock
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockmount? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockmount

Address: Rockmount Drake Road, Dartmoor National Park, Tavistock PL19 0AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Tavistock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Tavistock
Price Range: $153 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rockmount 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish accommodation in the heart of Tavistock. Pocket sprung mattresses and high quality linens in tastefully decorated en-suite rooms overlooking the town. Great, locally sourced breakfast meats and an extensive breakfast menu. Very well located for country walks or business trips. Tavistock also has many great restaurants to choose from. Rockmount offers accommodation just yards from the historic town centre. All of our bedrooms have their own en-suite bathrooms fitted with great showers and some with the addition of a bath. We have king-size beds as a minimum, with AppleTv, iPads, digital TV, WiFi, Nespresso machines and a desk in each of our rooms, we're sure you'll find it a great place to stay for work or pleasure. We also have free off road parking and porter service. Please note that some of our rooms are small but perfectly formed and great for a short stay. Our Apartment and Super king are much more generous. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rockmount reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing