We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Such a beautiful house .... thinking of an excuse...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Whitelady House

Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining! The drawing room overlooking the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Whitelady House the perfect country retreat
Massive of room for entertaining!
The drawing room overlooking the garden
The expanse of Dartmoor 500 yds from your front door
The front aspect of the house
Relax in the hot tub after a day out on the moors
plenty of space to play croquet or football!
The large well equiped kitchen with aga, steam oven, electric oven, two fridges and more!
The large inglenook fireplace with cosy woodburner in the drawing room
the elegant dining room
The TV room
The master bedroom with ensuite
One of the other large ensuite bedrooms with king size bed
The downstairs twin room with ensuite
One of the twin rooms
another of the twin rooms
Pretty in Pink - one of the large twin rooms
The downstairs ensuite
the ensuite to the master
Whitelady Waterfall at the bottom of the garden in National Trust's Lydford Gorge
Dartmoor a walkers or riders paradise
Brentor church perch on the tor
Dartmoor pony at sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
6 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Tavistock, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dee M
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such a beautiful house .... thinking of an excuse to return!!!!”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 for a stay in December 2013

I was looking for somewhere special to stay with some friends to celebrate my 40th and this beautiful house was spot on! I researched many places, but this was the one that I kept coming back to. We had fantastic communication with the owner (nothing was ever a bother and they were willing to help us make plans / arrange activities etc), a lovely warm welcome on our arrival (delicious homemade cakes, tea / coffee, champagne in the fridge) – what more could we want? Each and every room was beautifully decorated, the house was just stunning! We were a party of 10, 5 couples, diplomatically, we put the couples names in a hat to decide rooms, and I don’t think any of us were disappointed! All the rooms are spacious – having viewed pictures on-line I was surprised that the room were BIGGER than I thought! The entire house is very well equipped – from an entertainment point of view (wii, board games, tv, ipod docking station, books) right through to catering (large american fridge/freezer, hobs, aga, normal oven, steam oven, a large selection of cook books). There was an option to be catered for, which if we have the opportunity to return again, we may well consider! The location is fabulous, nicely tucked away – perfect for our weekend retreat! We did walk down to the Falls, however, with the time of year, quite rightly we could not venture all around the National Trust walk. I would love to return to this gorgeous house at some point in the future - perfect for any time of year, no matter what the weather – I could go on and on about how wonderful it is – but really I’d like to keep it a hidden gem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: The fact we had to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gee D
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After brilliant walks on Dartmoor, home to delicious nosh in a warm house”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 for a stay in January 2014

It was a reunion of friends and we had a superb weekend, great food, very comfortable house, with WIFI, and lovely beds. I particularly enjoyed the walks across the moor and down the gorge, and then coming home to a hot shower, warm house and delicious dinner. I would recommend this house to anyone.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Plymouth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best place I've ever stayed”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

I love this house! So much so that I’m desperately trying to think up an excuse to go there again. It ticks all the boxes. It is spacious, comfortable and beautifully decorated. The location is excellent: very quiet, and only a few minutes’ walk from Dartmoor, but also within easy reach of Tavistock and with ample other activities nearby. The house itself is well laid out, with plenty of space for wet & muddy boots & coats as well as two comfortable sitting rooms (well away from the muddy coats). The kitchen is impressive: generously equipped in terms of ovens etc. (two fridges, an Aga, an ordinary oven, a steam oven….); has a store cupboard with plenty of basics (very rare on a self-catering rental, I’ve found); and there is also a collection of good cookery books. The dining room has a beautiful polished wooden table and a candelabra.

I’ve stayed there twice now. The first time we were fully self-catering, yet on arrival we found three homemade cakes waiting to greet us in the dining room, and some local cheeses in the fridge. The second time we took the semi-catered option: the owner provided us with three dishes (each serving 12) to heat and serve. All three were delicious, reasonably priced and very generous in portion size. On learning that I was trying to choose gluten-free options to accommodate one of our party, a separate single portion gluten-free meal was offered and provided at no extra cost, allowing the rest of us to enjoy a traditional chicken pie. (We still got the cakes on arrival, too.)

The owner is generally extremely helpful and accommodating and will do what she can to make your stay enjoyable. Possibly best of all, there was none of that “how much cleaning do you think we should we do before we leave?” anxiety. Cleaners come in as soon as you go; you can just walk out as if it were a hotel. Fabulous!

It was worth every penny. The children found plenty to occupy them (including a table-tennis table), the adults found it very comfortable and the kitchen made cooking a joy. Very highly recommended. I’m seriously thinking of having a weekend fully-catered house-party there to celebrate my next significant birthday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Gorgeous rooms
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
So glad you love the house as much as we do!
Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back at anytime!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SomersetN...
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, brilliant location”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We were 3 families plus my mother staying here, and none of us could fault it. The house has been lovingly decorated and everything a guest could wish for has been thought of. We took the self catering option and the kitchen was so well stocked with every utensil you could need, that 3 people cooking in the kitchen didnt cause any difficulties at all - and the large proportions of the house and gardens meant that we weren't tripping over each other.
The hot tub was a wonderful addition, and everyone in our party took turns - from ages 6 to 76!!
The weather throughout our stay was wonderful and with Lydford gorge right next door, the children had a wonderful time paddling about in the water at the foot of the waterfall as well as fantastic walks up over Dartmoor, spuddling about in the streams. We also loved the huge, well-kept garden which was perfect for family games of french cricket and croquet.
This is a wonderful house with top-notch fixtures and fittings - ideal for family gatherings/holidays. And for those who like the finer things in life, definitely give this house a try as you wont be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the size of the property and the quality of the fixtures and fittings
Liked least: having to leave!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy W
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Family Break”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Eleven of us visited WhiteLady House to celebrate 2 birthdays - we were a party of three generations and both the house and location provided plenty for everyone to enjoy!
The house was spacious, with lots of space for us to spreadout into. Part of our stay included a wonderful catered birthday dinner for 14 which was arranged for us by Carol, the owner of the house - the dining room just perfect for such an occasion.

There was lots to do - from walking the Lydford Gorge which was on our doorstep, visiting the local towns and sights, or going walking on Dartmoor.... and then when we got back to the house we could laze in the garden or in the hot-tub - or if a little more energetic have a table tennis championship!!

A great place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A very relaxing location with everything you needed provided
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipSherri...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Magic”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

As a family of 11 we booked into Whitelady House to celebrate three milestone birthdays, and ended up celebrating a wedding too!

The house is beautifully decorated throughout, retaining a lovely cosy atmosphere where you can relax and unwind in front of a choice of two wood burning stoves, or out in the hot tub. It has everything three generations of guest could possibly ask for, including space if you needed peace and quiet!

Carol, the owner, could not have been more helpful, or thoughtful, throughout the processes of trying to arrange a memorable birthday meal and, subsequently, a small wedding reception at the House. She introduced us to chef Peter Gorton, whose outside catering arm came to the house and produced the most stunning four course meal for us. She provided us with contacts from taxis to marquee companies in an effort to assist us organising the reception from Kent. It felt like nothing was too much trouble.

Our young nephew summed it up in one sentence close to the end of the holiday “I feel like a millionaire!”. We all did!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Aug 2013
So glad you enjoyed your stay, and I know how difficult it is to arrange things from afar, so am always happy to supply local knowledge and book anything for guests, whether a special celebratory meal with a superb chef to fabulous horse riding adventures to explore Dartmoor and of course I do love a wedding!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Babcia198...
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Everything you could wish for...................”
Reviewed July 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

I stayed here with my husband, daughter, son in law, his mother and our four grandchildren in May for youngest grandson's eighteenth birthday. So ages ranged from 18 to 81! Whitelady House had everything to suit the needs of us all - from the tabletennis, croquet and hot tub to Dartmoor on the doorstep, plus Lydford Gorge. Wonderful walks for the dog too. Can't remember when we enjoyed a break this much.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The cosy lounge
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing