We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Welcome
Kitchen
Lounge
Bathroom
Shower
Bathroom
Bedroom
Acorn Cottage (left) and Rivington Barn (right)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah H
2 reviews
“Perfection”
Reviewed August 6, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

That's it, perfection. Spotless, wonderful cottage, over and above that expected and such attention to detail. Making a lovely home from home base to explore. Arrived as strangers left feeling made new friends,Amanda and Derek are amazing hosts. Welcome tray, milk, wine on arrival and warm bread on the first morning delivered to the front door! Beautiful home made cake on Wednesday. Never booked anything like it before. Brilliant, thank you for sharing your lovely cottage with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alecxm
Cookham Dean, Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best holiday cottage ever!”
Reviewed November 8, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Hard to know where to begin, really - but I'll try. First, the cottage itself; the thoughtful planning, tasteful design choices and the sheer quality of the materials used put Acorn Cottage right up there at the very top. We’ve stayed in all kinds of holiday accommodation over the years, from the excellent to the truly dreadful – but never in a place of this quality. It’s in a class by itself.

We loved the area – it’s a beautiful part of the country, and although we could have had better luck with the weather, it didn’t matter a bit – we clearly barely scratched the surface of the possibilities for exploration. One thing is for sure – we’ll return when an opportunity next presents itself.

The owners, Derek and Amanda are delightful hosts; nothing is too much trouble. We unreservedly recommend Acorn Cottage - or for that matter, either of the other rental properties at Little Howle Farm; an enjoyable stay is guaranteed.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Dec 2017
Thank you for taking time to write a great review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Little Howle Farm sometime soon.
Derek and Amanda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location with a relaxing atmosphere.”
Reviewed July 9, 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Acorn Cottage is set in a lovely location with a relaxing atmosphere. The cottage is finished to a high standard making it a special break away.
Amanda the owner was very accommodating throughout our stay. We'll visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eloise53
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“Peace perfect peace in a stunning cottage”
Reviewed May 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Well where to start ! From the moment we arrived we just knew this was going to be something extremely special and it was.
Amanda greeted us so warmly, as if she had known us for years, she showed us round this is an upside down property with the bedroom and en-suite downstairs, I would recommend you remove your shoes on first entry due to the very high standards inside, light coloured carpet on the stairs, it would be a shame to spoil this for the guests following you, the rest of the floors are wooden with rugs strategically placed for your comfort.
Every little comfort has been so well thought out, on the first morning there was a lovely warm crusty loaf to enjoy with breakfast, very welcome, it is just a beautiful location and the hard work Amanda and Derek have out in to it shines through, I just hope people don't abuse it and at least leave the place as they find it, not difficult really.
We enjoyed our stay and will most definitely be back, thank you both for a wonderful, much needed few days xx

P.S 2 of the 3 days of our stay we ate at The Mill Race, would most definitely recommend, I have a small appetite and they happily catered for this, the braised lamb was just mmmmmmmmmmmmm

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2017
Thank you for choosing Little Howle Farm we really did enjoy having you as our guests....we hope to see you again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim D
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best holiday cottage ever”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Thanks to Derek and Amanda for an amazing stay. This is the best holiday cottage that we have ever stayed in. Complete luxury more akin to a high end hotel but manages to be homely at the same time.
We will be back and will recommend this gem to all of our friends

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Was like being in my dream home
Liked least: I had to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing