We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The King's Head Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We wanted to have just one night away from the routine of daily life and are so pleased that we picked this hotel. The welcome was friendly, the room was clean and the food - we picked the dinner, bed and breakfast package - was freshly cooked and piping hot. We also found the residents of Ross on Wye to be very friendly - on several occasions whilst poring over a map, we were asked whether we needed any help and one woman even reversed her car back to see if were were lost! All in all, an excellent choice for a short break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss-Haversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    140
    19
    7
    3
See reviews for
45
209
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We chose this hotel because you were able to stay for Saturday night only. Several of the other hotels in the area would only take bookings for two nights at the weekend. It proved an excellent choice. They have an excellent restaurant, much of the food being sourced locally. The local cider and perry are worth trying. The restaurant was obviously popular with the locals. Breakfast was cooked to an equally good standard, I enjoyed locally smoked salmon. We had a very comfortable stay, with the staff being welcoming. The hotel is in a central location, on the High Street. Do check the one way system before trying to find the hotel. This hotel is worth returning to.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire Wales
Level Contributor
162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here 29th December 2011 for 1 night en route to our new years vacation.

Having previously stayed in this town before at the Royal hotel we decided to do so again, however when we arrived at the Royal to check in (booked revious evening online via booking.com) we were told there was no booking for us 1 so we gave them the paperwork and the receptionist pointed out we were booked at the King hotel!! what a disappointment at the time as we did enjoy our previous stay here.

However, after making our way to the King Hotel we were greeted courteously and shown promptly to our room.......and boy it turned out to be far better than we had at the royal! so all was well again and we really enjoyed our evening there.

The atmosphere was excellent with a lot of locals in the hotel bar and the restaurant full to the brim that evening , lucky we had booked, and the food was excellent.

So to cap it all we would choose this hotel first if we decide to stay in Ross on Wye again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ew6460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lautrecs99, Owner at The King's Head Hotel, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I will pass on your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stopped at the Kings Head Hotel for lunch during a visit to Ross on Wye we were staying at nearby Forest of Dean Cabins - Wonderful food, really really tasty, service was excellent, if i lived neaer i would go back again and again!
Looked like a beautiful place to stay although we didnt as we were staying somewhere else.
Pop in for lunch or dinner, food really good, service really god too!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teenie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We recently stayed here and it was our first time in Ross on wye.The hotel was very pleasant and welcoming.Our room had a four poster bed and was very clean.We had dinner in the restaurant in the evening and it was delicious,in particular the banoffee pie was lovely.Throughout our stay the staff were attentive and very friendly.We thought the hotel was very well situated and it was nice to explore the shops and walk by the river.All in all very enjoyable will definetly be back as would like to see ross on wye in the summer and this hotel is a great base to do so.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wefhii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Best steak and ale pie at lunchtime you'll taste and a great breakfast. Nice room and modern bathroom. Walk around Ross in the morning, visit the information centre just down the road to get a feel for the history of Ross. Brilliant.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swanseadunvant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Stayed here for just 1 night passing through after a stay in the black mountains and overall was impressed. I stayed bed and breakfast and had room 8 and found the room very spacious, single and double bed with all the amenities which made it a pleasant stop. Comfy beds, nice range of drinks and biscuits, reasonable size bathroom with shower in the bath, a trouser press and a fan!
Although I didn't 'mingle' in the bar in the evening the whole atmosphere of the hotel seemed homely and warm. Staff also attentive and polite and a nice cooked breakfast in the morning.
Interesting too that this hotel was the cheapest for a nights stay and was probably the best on my mini tour of the area!
If I'm ever back in the area I will call in again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a nice sized room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyHEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ross-on-Wye hotels
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
1.0 km away
Wilton Court Hotel
Wilton Court Hotel
#1 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
4.0 km away
Glewstone Court
Glewstone Court
#2 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
Premier Inn Ross-On-Wye Hotel
#4 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
5.7 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.2 km away
Orles Barn Hotel
Orles Barn Hotel
#8 of 14 in Ross-on-Wye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King's Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King's Head Hotel

Property: The King's Head Hotel
Address: 8 High Street | Herefordshire, Ross-on-Wye HR9 5HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ross-on-Wye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Ross-on-Wye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The King's Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic hotel in the centre of the market town of Ross on Wye. Ideal location for Cardiff, Cheltenham or visiting the Wye Valley, Excellent restaurant using market fresh ingredients, local real ales, friendly popular bar. Free wi-fi, and free car park to residents. All rooms on first and second floor, a listed building with old oak beams and stone fireplaces. There is no elevator. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King's Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing