We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travellers have booked this property
The view from the yoga deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The view from the yoga deck
The chalet viewed from above the private terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
The view from the yoga deck
The chalet viewed from above the private terrace
The comfortable interior showing the woodburning stove
The comfortable kingsize bed and sofa area.
The ensuite shower room with spacious power shower and tiled interior
The shower has an overhead and hand - held showerhead.
The kitchen area with breakfast bar
The private woodland terrace showing the dining table and pizza oven
The natural woodland behind the chalet
Guests are free to roam the land at Tree Tops
The River Wye winds its way through lush green countryside.
Steps behind the chalet lead off into the woods
Explore the woodland paths
Guests can sometimes obtain produce from our productive vegetable garden
Our chickens produce lovely fresh free range eggs.
The elevated deck and woodfired hot tub
View from the elevated deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ross-on-Wye, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
madabouth...
kenya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent 3 nights at the Nuthatch it was a such a nice,cosy retreat in beautiful surroundings perfect for a relaxing break with so many lovely walks. The owners were very friendly and welcoming. Will definitely be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2017
Thank you for your kind comments! It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to your next visit! Best wishes, Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
quetzalUk
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Peaceful getaway”
Reviewed March 25, 2017 for a stay in October 2016

Place was clean and well decorated. Patio area looked v nice, unfortunately too cold to use it! Spent a few days here so we could go to Cannop for mountain biking. Bike storage at property. Would come here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2017
Many thanks for your kind comments. Do please come again! It was a pleasure to have you as guests. Best wishes, Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beccabooh...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect weekend break”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Thank you very much for the perfect weekend break that we are still buzzing from. We felt really welcomed into the cosy cottage in such beautiful countryside.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2016
Thank you for your warm review! It was lovely to meet you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirati...
1 review
“The perfect forest getaway”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is the second time we (me and my husband) have stayed at Nuthatch for some R&R. It is in a stunning location, you are hidden away from it all in the cosy cabin in the wood but with plenty of options to get out and see the amazing Forest of Dean & Wye valley. The cabin is lovely and warm, and offers everything you need for a short stay. The newly built deck and hot tub (again tucked away in the woodland) adds a touch of 'je ne sais quoi' to the experience. Perfect for couples looking for a romantic getaway, or for the enthusiast naturist & walkers looking for a base to explore the Forest of Dean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your kind comments and we're so glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back for a third time! Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tylercand...
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent Rural Retreat!”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our second stay at Nuthatch Cottage. Beautiful peaceful romantic. At one with nature. The wood powered hot tub is a fantastic addition! A big thanks to Simon & Marion. We look forward to staying again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, hot tub, friendliness
Liked least: Nothing, everything was fantastic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
Thanks very much for your booking - lovely to see you both again. See you next time! Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed September 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We spent Monday to Friday at Treetops nuthatch as we wanted somewhere special to stay for our silver wedding anniversary and we weren't disappointed with our choice. We were greeted by the owners Marion and Simon and made most welcome. The location is peaceful and soothing. Marion showed us around and explained how everything worked. There were provisions already there for making a drink plus new laid eggs from Marions hens., tomatoes from the garden and some lovely lemon drizzle cake that she had made. The room was huge with a king size bed lovely kitchen facilities comfy sofa and tv. There was a little terrace to the side. Sitting in the sunshine of an evening listening the birds and the trees rustling with a glass of wine was the perfect end to a day spent exploring. Don't be put off by the track up to the property it's what helps keep it so private and peaceful. We often say we'll come again but in this case I know it's true. Thanks Marion and Simon for making our anniversary such a special occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home comforts and peace and quiet
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and many thanks for your kind comments! See you next time! Marion and Simon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niluyork
London
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A magical place”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

My wife and I highly recommend the Tree Tops chalet, Nuthatch, for a visit. Apart from being spotlessly clean and well equipped, it is set in woodlands, surrounded by tall trees and within easy distance from both the Wye Valley and the Forest of Dean. The owners, Marion and Simon, were extremely welcoming (fresh eggs, milk and home made flapjacks were waiting for us in the cottage!); they knew all about the area and were very willing to help with advice. Simon, saved us time and effort by giving us clear directions and helping us plan on what to see and where to go. We enjoyed a steam train event in the Forest of Dean; visiting Ross on Wye nearby; and even managed to take in a couple of concerts at the Cheltenham festival, visiting Gloucester cathedral on the way... all within the three days that we were there! So, it is very well located, while being an idyllic retreat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and surroundings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
We very much enjoyed having you to stay at Tree Tops! So glad you had a good time and many thanks for your lovely review. We look forward to welcoming you back some other time. Best wishes, Marion and Simon x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing