We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit, particularly if you have children”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Howarth House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howarth House
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit, particularly if you have children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed at this B&B with my Mum and daughter. We booked the family room and after a slight hiccup on arrival (they thought we had cancelled for some reason) we were settled into our light and clean rooms. The rooms were immaculate and the children's room in particular was excellent, with toys, games, books and a TV/DVD player with a range of DVDs. The beds were comfortable and the quilts warm and light.
There is a large lounge with a comfortable sofa and chairs and we spent our first night in there. The only downside was the radio was on in the nearby dining/office area so the TV was battling with the radio.
Breakfast was excellent - we had the traditional cooked fare, but the fresh fruit looked particularly good. The toast was properly toasted and not just warmed through, like you get in lots of hotels.
There is parking at the front of the hotel and I did struggle a bit with my large Honda Accord and next time may just park on the street. But parking is a definite bonus in this area as it is quite busy, especially at half term time.
I have stayed in a few places in the area but this is my favourite so far and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
thankyou so much for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    59
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
90
132
43
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Just returned from a two night stay at the Howarth House. We were welcomed by extremely friendly and helpful staff, one lady insisted on carrying the case upstairs. The room was clean and warm and appealing. The room was nicely decorated and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast is served between 7.30 and 10 with the usual options, and is served fresh and hot. Well worth a visit as it is situated a very short walk from all of St Annes amenities.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dsricho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
thankyou so much for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

booked a room at short notice (stayed 19th October for 1 night) and was pleasantly suprised as the price of a room (and breakfast) doesn't relate. I was welcomed by friendly staff, and shown to a beautifully decorated (and clean!) room, with an equally clean bathroom.

I enjoyed a substantial breakfast (with a number options) in the morning - with flexible timing to suit - something i've fallen foul of at other hotels (B&B's) in Blackpool - it was nice to not have to miss out on breakfast because of leaving early.

With a number of parking spaces at the front of the hotel, without an additional charge -
Shops, pubs and restaurants are all within easy walking distance - this will be my hotel of choice when staying in Blackpool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meloquin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
thankyou so much for your lovely review and we do hope you will stay with us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Booked two rooms at the Howarth House during a family visit to Blackpool and were not disappointed. The staff were very helpful and friendly and the rooms were both tastefully decorated and most importantly, immaculate. The breakfast menu had a great selection with something for everyone. The hotel is situated in a quiet location close to the beach and only a few minutes drive from the centre of Blackpool. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcc_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
thankyou so much for your lovely review and we do hope you will stay with us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

This is the third year we, as a family with small children (6mths & 6years), have chosen to stay at Howarth House and we can't fault it. Rooms are beautifully decorated, immaculately clean and comfortable. We stay in Room 1, around the back of the building, and we requested a 'put-up' bed & travel cot for the children. Nothing is too much trouble. The owners & staff are friendly and helpful. We find this hotel perfect to visit the bright lights of Blackpool, without having to stay within the hustle & bustle, and will definately return in years to come. Would thoroughly recommend and already have to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44DawnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
thankyou so much for your review and we do hope you will stay with us again x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

On my travels I have stayed at a number of "boutique" hotels, but none have matched Howarth House in Lytham. From the friendly welcome through to the beautifully decorated rooms, crisp white bedlinen and good quality towels, the spotless bathroom and a breakfast that is quick, efficient and of a very high standard (try the fruit platter - fresh and ripe every time!). I have probably stayed at this hotel on around 18 occassions and have never ever had a bad stay, a dirty room, anything but friendliness and immaculate bathroom and bedrooom. Think the writer of the poor review needs to check his spelling (and facts - the "Fernlea" - no longer called this! - has a much poorer standard of cleanliness and quality).

Room Tip: All the rooms are decorated differently (and with real quality and quirkiness!). Single rooms are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnAbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 18 October 2011
thankyou so much for your lovely review and we hope to see you again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We went to see the Illuminations this weekend and we had a wonderful welcome from everyone at Howarth House. Everything was certainly clean enough for me and I am particular. There were 3 of us in a family room and we had a good sleep, very quiet and a wonderful breakfast to send us on our way

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
howarthhouse, Manager at Howarth House, responded to this review, 22 October 2011
thankyou so much for your review and we do hope you will stay with us again soon x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
BEST WESTERN Glendower Hotel
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
0.7 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#14 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.2 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#2 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Lindum Hotel
The Lindum Hotel
#11 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.1 km away
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
#8 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
0.1 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howarth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howarth House

Property: Howarth House
Address: 315 Clifton Drive South, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Howarth House 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howarth House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howarth House Hotel Lytham St Anne`s
Howarth House Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing