We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Lytham St Anne's
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We returned yesterday from a weekend at the Dalmeny and as somebdy who was born and brought up in the area and knew previously of the Dalmeny as one of the best hotels if not the best hotel in St.Annes I am surprised in the decline in standard of the hotel to where it is now. Having arrived with another couple on Saturday lunch time we decided to have lunch in the hotel and ordered various snacks to be eaten in the bar. Without exception all the food was served cold, we were offered the excuse by the waiter that one of the chefs had phoned in sick and the kitchen porter was now doubling up as a chef, the hotel was probably full for the weekend and if this true I would without doubt therefore question the competence of the hotel management. I would pay full credit to the barman though who could not be apologetic enough having been placed in this situation by his less than professional colleagues. In our opinion the majority of the hotel is very tired, our room was OK but we were suprised to find we had full coffee making facilities and only one cup, the shower was appalling and the bath was only suitable for somebdy the size of your average 5 year old child. A further 25 minute queue from 09.30 to be seated at breakfast compounded our disappointment with the hotel. Retrospectively I should have highlighted most of the above on our departure from the hotel however having not noticed the presence of any senior staff over the weekend I chose not to as I did'nt think a rant at a receptionist would be fair. I sincerely hope the hotel notes the above comments, clearly if they have any desire to return to their former glory it will take investment in both staff and facilities.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2011
I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment in your recent visit to the hotel and apologise for the unsatisfactory service you received. We did have some staffing issues on the day in question, which I hope you will see as an isolated incident and take into consideration the positive comments we have received previously. Please feel free to contact me direct to discuss the issues in more detail and I do hope we will welcome you back to hotel again soon.
Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    377
    282
    135
    47
    36
See reviews for
437
192
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We last visited the Dalmeny 5 years ago for my husband's birthday and loved it. We decided to visit again as it was his birthday and the first one as a married couple, so wanted somewhere a bit special. W were unsure if we'd have a good a time as we had fab memories before but we had a better time! The bar had been done up 6 months ago and was very stylish. We had dinner in the Atrium and the staff were very nice and even brought us a jug of water, which is always a nice touch.
My husband's parent's used to bring his brother's and sister's about 20 years ago and we would all love to go back and visit again as a group.
The rooms were great, we had a sea view, fridge and a kettle. I suppose they are a little dated but were so clean that you wouldn't notice.
Thank you to all of the staff at the Dalmeny for being wonderful!

Room Tip: As a couple we stayed in a double room with a sea view - worth it as you get a fab balcony looking o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarDan18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We've just spent the weekend at the Dalmeny. We can't believe how standards have dropped! The rooms look tired and the Atruim food was of a low standard. However we must acknowledge the efforts of the staff on Saturday 12th November when there were overbookings. The staff remained polite and apologetic when the problems lay with the management and bookings. The on-line booking service is poor and staff admitted that they were 'only just getting used to it' themselves. Come on, this hotel used to be the pride of St Annes, get a grip!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
Thank you for your comments and agreeably we were overstretched and short staffed the weekend in question, which caused a lot of problems. All I can say is that this is not the norm, we did have a lot of changes with the usual running of the various departments and we have learnt from the experience; this sitation will not arise again. Work is being done on a new website which will be launched soon, (date to be confirmed). We do hope you will visit us again, please enquire about our newly refurbished bedrooms, these are popular and booking early is advisable, I am confident if you have the opportunity to see the improvements we are making and are continuing with, your good faith will be restored.
Kindest regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Having stayed at this hotel last year we decided to have a quick weekend. When we contacted the hotel we were told there were only two rooms left we later found out this was due to school holidays and a 'Ken Dodd' weekend so we did'nt know what to expect. We were pleasently surprised when we checked in the room was on the ground floor granted but at the front to say it was large was an understatement you could have held a dance in it. We had booked dinner bed and breakfast and have to say the meals were of a very high standard as a resident you have the use of the leisure facilities. To sum up we would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

My husband, myself and our then 4 month old son stayed at the Dalmeny in the middle of September this year. We were impressed with the website and felt it would be a perfect first holiday for us as a family.
We booked four nights half-board with a deluxe family room with seaview. We arrived after 6 pm in the evening, and were very unimpressed with our room. It looked nothing like the rooms shown on the website, and seemed to be stuck in a 70s/80s timewarp, with a worn carpet and dirty bath and shower area. The grout in places was dark black, and needed a good clean. The room was large and quiet, but we had to go out the following day and purchase cleaning materials to clean the room. We were so tired when we arrived that we waited until the morning before we did anything. In hindsight we should have requested another room, as we did not expect the sight that greeted us.
We also had to ring reception for more clean towels and shampoo and soap, as they were not automatically replaced every day. The staff would arrive promptly with these items, but we shouldn't have had to keep phoning reception.
On the only positive note the restaurant and evening meals were very good, and the restaurant staff very attentive, but this may have been due to the restaurant not being full due to mid rather than high season.
We found that the hotel was very like a labyrinth and there were lots of stairs and tiny lifts to deal with. With two adults and a pram in the lift there was no room for anyone else, and we seemed to spend a good deal of time lifting the pram up and down stairs within the hotel. In high season this would be a nightmare. Breakfast times resulted in us using a lift at the back of the breakfast area, which again was very small and cramped.
When we checked out and explained our issues to the hotel management we were told ' we can show you some of our refurbished rooms' but it was too little too late. The owner/ manager informed me that she would be writing to us offering a future discounted stay; I'm still waiting for the letter...! Having had many lovely childhood holidays in the Lytham and Blackpool area I am not in a rush to return to the Dalmeny. All I can say to families looking at the hotel website, is that the reality did not match up to the beautiful images on-line.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wibby71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2011
I am very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your room. Although not all rooms are refurbished there is certainly no excuse for the room not being clean and I would not expect our guests to have to purchase their own cleaning materials, however if you had contacted the Duty Manager immediately we would have rectified the problem straight away to enable you to enjoy your stay. Please note that towels are not replaced daily automatically due to environmental reasons, there should have been notification in your room to put towels in the bath if you required them replacing, I apologise if this was not clear, I am pleased to hear we responded promptly to your requests.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed our restaurant, we do maintain our standards throughout the year, even during the busy periods and the management are committed at providing tasty, wholesome food throughout the hotel; coming very soon is a new, fantastic menu with a Mediterranean twist, including home-made pizzas, catering for the discerning diner and families alike.
Like a lot of hotels in the area, we have expanded over the years, purchasing adjacent properties and the nature of the building is like a labyrinth I agree, however this is unavoidable without knocking it down and starting again.
We are very committed at offering the best facilities and service to all our guests, ensuring a comfortable and enjoyable stay. Having listened to our customer feedback, we will soon be investing in a brand new baby unit to cater for under 2's. We currently have a creche available for 2-7 year olds, kidszone for 8-15 year olds with a range of activities available every weekend and everyday during school holidays. We have a family utility room adjacent to the creche which includes a washing machine, ironing board and iron and microwave for heating baby food and milk. We also have a selection of baby toys in poolside lounge, with a warm splash pool for toddlers in the leisure department.
Regarding your comments about the website, I am presuming you have booked directly on our own website and I have had a look at the images and feel they DO offer an honest reflection of the rooms they are advertising, in fact they do NOT include the new images of the refurbished rooms. We do advertise on a few booking agent sites which you may have used which do include our newly refurbished bedroom images.
I apologise if you have not been contacted regarding your complaint, this was certainly not intentional and has been an oversight. I would encourage you to write or email directly if you see my response and I will be happy to discuss this matter further. We do acknowledge there are areas that need improving and we are steadily addressing these issues. Our aim is to be the best hotel in the area, but for now we still feel we have a lot to offer and hope you will try us again.
Kind regards
Zoe Robertson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

Spent 2 nights here last week and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was very surprised and delighted that they charged the same for a family room with 2 adults and an infant (16 months) as they did for a twin room - well done!! Some other hotels that I checked charged the equivalent of 3 adult prices for their family rooms regardless of the child's age! The hotel was very busy as it was the end of the Scottish schools mid term holiday and the start of the English half term holiday. We ate in the Atrium restaurant on our first evening and it was very good. We ate in the carvery on our second evening and although the food was good and plentiful there is no atmosphere and it is a bit tired. This restaurant is also the breakfast room and as other reviewers have already mentioned it is a bit chaotic. The food is good but it is let down by the TOASTER!!!!!!! This toaster is badly positioned as you block the cereal section whilst waiting for your toast or should I say burnt toast. When you put your bread through once it only toasts one side - put it through a second time and one side is burnt black!!! How can a hotel as good as this be let down by a toaster - come on Dalmeny buy a new one before we come back because we will definitely be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeR1, General Manager at Dalmeny Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 13 January 2012
Just to let you all know the new toaster has been in use for the last couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We took our two year old for a long weekend and for young families this is a great hotel. Lots to do, good pool and spa. Staff really friendly as well. The unrefurbished rooms are a bit tired but still clean and functional. One downside...breakfast is chaos! But tasty once sat down. Oh a don,t book if you're a couple looking for a relaxing break..this is kid central and totally geared up for families. Will return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 999Newts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lytham St Anne's hotels
0.6 km away
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lytham St Annes Glendower Hotel
Best Western Plus Blackpool Lyth...
#4 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
914 reviews
0.1 km away
Mode Hotel
Mode Hotel
#1 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
766 reviews
0.7 km away
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
Chadwick Hotel & Leisure Centre
#12 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Inn on the Prom Hotel
Inn on the Prom Hotel
#7 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
943 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Ives Hotel
St. Ives Hotel
#9 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
786 reviews
0.2 km away
Clifton Park Hotel
Clifton Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Lytham St Anne's
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalmeny Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalmeny Resort Hotel

Property: Dalmeny Resort Hotel
Address: 19-33 South Promenade, Lytham St Anne's FY8 1LX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lancashire > Lytham St Anne's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Family Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
#5 Business Hotel in Lytham St Anne's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dalmeny Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location on the main promenade overlooking the beach, promenade gardens and pier, and within a short walk of the town centre with its array of shops, bars and restaurants. The hotel offers a wide choice of rooms, including family units accommodating up to two adults and 6 children. The excellent facilities include a 20m indoor pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, children's pool, fully equipped Gym and Squash Court. Spa Dalmeny is open seven days per week offering a comprehensive range of beauty and holistic treatments. Dining options include the hotel's restaurant or Bar Indigo. Business travellers will appreciate the free Wi-Fi facility throughout the hotel,access to business services, free on site parking,extensive conference facilities, and our Snooker Room, which is available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotel.de, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Dalmeny Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalmeny Hotel Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Hotel St Annes
Dalmeny Lytham St Annes
Dalmeny Resort Hotel Lytham St Anne's, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing